Jewish World Review May 11, 2004 / 20 Iyar, 5764

David Grimes

Grimes
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


You rant, you pay


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | What is a fair price to charge someone who wishes to rant and rave in your ear for a solid minute?


$10? $100? Do you really think I can get my spouse to pay me money?


Philip Doyen of Maine runs something called "Vent-Line" and charges people what I believe to be the low, low price of $1.99 a minute to scream at him over the telephone.


Just to give you an idea of what a sad state our country is in these days, some mental health professionals are trying to get the state attorney's office to shut down Doyen's business because, they say, he's taking advantage of his customers.


"For some people, venting is going to upset them more," said Leslie Brancato of the Community Counseling Center in Portland. "That he's charging $1.99 a minute is, in my opinion, totally exploitative."


Doyen, who says he's subjected himself to the rants of dozens of people along the East Coast, is up front about the fact that Vent-Line is strictly a business.


"I'm in it for the money, like everybody else," he told the Portland Press Herald. "If it helps people, great."


I, personally, think this is a terrific idea, though I do worry about the (possibly pre-existing) psychological damage that comes from subjecting yourself to this kind of torment for only $2 a minute. Quite possibly, Doyen hits the mute button at the utterance of the first expletive and wanders off to fix himself a sandwich. When you're in a business of this sort, you learn to cope.

Donate to JWR


I don't want to tell Doyen how to run his business well, actually, I do. If I were running Vent-Line, I'd have a sliding scale of fees according to what the customer wanted to rant about. If, for example, the caller wanted to go off on me about the Boston Red Sox' inability to win a World Series, I would be willing to listen to that for a relatively modest per-minute fee. (Don't tell anyone, but I derive a certain sadistic pleasure from the team's haplessness.) If, however, the caller wanted to rail about what a coward John Kerry is because the bullets he took in Vietnam did not strike any vital organs, then the counters are going to be spinning like my electric meter when the pool heater's on.


Here's a table of my per-minute charges for listening to your rants and raves:


$5 — The person who delivers your newspaper never hits the driveway, Social Security is in the toilet, nobody uses their turn signals anymore.


$10 — People leaving the Van Wezel before the show is over, the media's liberal agenda, anything having to do with daylight-saving time.


$20 — All illegal immigrants should be arrested; if people can't afford a house in Sarasota, they should live somewhere else; if people don't want to say a Christian prayer before the start of a Manatee School Board meeting, they should move somewhere else.


No charge — High price of beer at ballparks; just what, exactly, President Bush meant when he said in February 2002, in Tokyo: "For a century and a half now, America and Japan have formed one of the great and enduring alliances of modern times"; why I deserve a big, fat raise

Appreciate this column? Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor David Grimes is a columnist for The Sarasota Herald Tribune. Comment by clicking here.

Up

05/03/04: A new generation of civility
04/27/04: Repeat at your own risk
04/19/04: Brits learn grammar from Americans
04/05/04: Got those customer survey blues
03/31/04: Name that planetoid
03/24/04: Mind-melding is not for the squeamish
03/16/04: Write that novel — QUICK!
03/10/04: Turns out robots are as unhelpful as people
03/02/04: Dictators' softer side
02/23/04: Is there life after Ken?
02/18/04: California needs its chi adjusted
02/11/04: Pleeze by sum stuph frum me
02/03/04: A tale of two generations
01/28/04: Warning: Labels on products are getting wackier and wackier
01/21/04: It's a computer! No, it's a side dish! Skeptical? Look under the hood
01/07/04: Nursery rhymes to scare the kids by
12/30/03: Ear-scratcher fingered by police
12/24/03: Gifts for that not-so-special someone
12/18/03: Things we hate to do
12/09/03: Keep your name out of this book
12/03/03: When tots control the world
11/18/03: Danger: TVs falling from above
11/11/03: Songs that won't go away
11/04/03: Keep technology away from the monkeys
10/29/03: A career of sensational regrets
10/22/03: Ig Nobels reward weird science
10/16/03: TV golf needs a kick in the pants
10/08/03: That's geek to me
09/30/03: A man, a woman and a cat
09/22/03: A tale of two spams
09/16/03: Librarian action figure will be taking no guff
09/10/03: Slackers need to remain invisible
09/02/03: No fun in the summertime
08/26/03: The algebra of love
08/11/03: Journey to the center of the pavement cracks
08/06/03: Word dominance by U.S. appears a fait accompli
07/28/03: Ads that are hard to swallow
07/09/03: Keep cows out of the classroom
07/03/03: Little-appreciated facts about unshaven men
06/24/03: Brother, can you paradigm?
06/18/03: Cats, TV not a good mix
06/10/03: In defense of grumpiness
06/04/03: Do we really need keyboards in our Port-A-Johns?
05/29/03: Always a dull men's moment
05/21/03: Bad PC hygiene leads to bugs
05/12/03:Army mops up; Tony Blair doesn't
05/06/03: Grill a hamburger for PETA
05/01/03: Exams spice history
04/23/03: Too much money? Tax me more!
04/14/03: When good gourds go bad
04/11/03: One fish-tale that isn't --- and that's no lie!
04/02/03: Do you really want to know what your dog's thinking?
03/26/03: Pajamas make high school less stressful
03/21/03: It's time to be nice to the French
03/03/03: The ultimate clean and constructive sport
02/12/03: Get a bang out of cleaning with cruise vacuum
02/06/03: Voluntary kindness? Not likely
01/28/03: Signs our economy is on upswing
01/22/03: There may be cash in your old underwear
01/15/03: Banish these words, now more than ever
01/07/03: Coughing as an art form
12/24/02: Parents shell out for missed homework
12/17/02: French government says no to @ symbol
12/11/02: A latecomer joins fellowship of the DVD
12/02/02: Don't worry, be fat, unfit and really happy
11/18/02: Intrigued by a German invention that could get teens out of bed before the crack of noon
11/06/02: A noose by any other name ...
10/29/02: Iranian dogs on notice
10/22/02: Talk about a job that stinks --- literally!
10/15/02: The official world's funniest joke
10/02/02: Japanese turn eyes to computer haikus
09/27/02: Oh, no! Bosses want to know what's on your mind
09/24/02: An airbag, humanity's salvation?
09/17/02: DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME!
09/06/02: Come listen to a story about a man named ... Bill
09/03/02: You're not in preschool anymore!
08/30/02: A charming idea from a brutal, whacked-out, megalomaniacal dictator-for-life
08/26/02: Blubber water? How to put on the pounds by gulping H20
08/21/02: The latest evidence that Mother Nature is out to kill us
08/13/02: Computers, airplanes and Canada don't mix
08/06/02: The sky's not falling? Dang it!
08/02/02: Some fond memories of worst TV shows
07/30/02: Pay my credit-card bill, please?
07/25/02: Something to celebrate
07/22/02: Baseball needs to ban the fans
07/16/02: Hasbro should consider new inaction figure
07/11/02: Decline in trash-talking is harming our mental health? Well, #@%&!
07/08/02 Americans retain right to fork tongues
07/01/02 These laws were made to be broken
06/18/02 Watching enough commercials?
06/03/02 Throwing your vote to the dogs
05/08/02 Hey, Mom, could you spare a dime?: Parents' obligations unending

© 2002, Sarasota Herald Tribune