Jewish World Review May 3, 2004 / 12 Iyar, 5764

David Grimes

Grimes
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


A new generation of civility


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | Good evening graduates, parents and debt consolidators.


This is a very special day in your lives. You graduates will be clutching your college degrees and striding confidently out into the world to make your mark, assuming your definition of "making your mark" is landing a job as a pizza deliverer or parking attendant.


You parents will finally be able to convert your child's bedroom into a den or office, after burning all the furniture and spraying the floor and walls with Clorox, of course.


And, lastly, you money managers will finally be able to afford to re-varnish the shuffleboard courts on your yacht and hire a backup sushi chef for your cat.


But my talk today is not about greed. You'll learn about that quickly enough. My talk is about civility, or rather the lack of it in today's society. It is my opinion that America is a coarser place than it was 30 years ago. Drivers yell obscenities and give each other the finger. Store clerks chat with their friends on the phone while customers wait in line. People sneeze in your face and don't even offer to wipe off your glasses.


It is up to you, graduates, to turn this around. As you go through life, you will have numberless opportunities to choose between civility and incivility. It is quite possible that your continued employment and/or health will hinge on your decision. Let's take a brief quiz to see how you'd do.


Let's say you are a waiter in a fancy restaurant and a customer requests that his bouillabaisse be returned to the kitchen because the flavor nuances of the saffron suggest that it was harvested in a month not ending in "R" in a country other than Spain.

Donate to JWR


Your correct response to this request would be:


A) "I'm sorry that you are not completely satisfied with your dinner, sir. I'll be more than happy to subtract it from your bill and bring you something else that would be more to your liking." Or:


B) "You pompous phony. You wouldn't know good bouillabaisse from Campbell's clam chowder. Please allow me to correct this situation by dumping the Caesar salad onto your head and bringing you a different dish in which the busboy has concealed the butt of his Marlboro. In conclusion, allow me to point out that your date has the table manners of a hyena."


Or let's say that another driver has cut you off as both of you are pulling into the parking lot of a convenience store. You get out of your car, approach the other driver, and say:


A) "Please accept my profoundest apologies, sir. I was thinking about my poor cancer-ridden mother in the nursing home and my mind must have wandered for a second. Although it does not appear that either of our vehicles is damaged, would you please permit me to write you a check for $1,000 to cover your emotional suffering?" Or:


B) "You know, if you had been paying attention to your driving instead of simultaneously yapping on your cell phone, flossing your teeth and doing your online banking, you might have noticed that you were about to run into the side of my car, possibly causing me to drop my doughnut, razor and newspaper. Are you nuts, or what?"


Clearly, America would be a better place if young people like yourselves could restore civility to our nation.

Appreciate this column? Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor David Grimes is a columnist for The Sarasota Herald Tribune. Comment by clicking here.

Up

04/27/04: Repeat at your own risk
04/19/04: Brits learn grammar from Americans
04/05/04: Got those customer survey blues
03/31/04: Name that planetoid
03/24/04: Mind-melding is not for the squeamish
03/16/04: Write that novel — QUICK!
03/10/04: Turns out robots are as unhelpful as people
03/02/04: Dictators' softer side
02/23/04: Is there life after Ken?
02/18/04: California needs its chi adjusted
02/11/04: Pleeze by sum stuph frum me
02/03/04: A tale of two generations
01/28/04: Warning: Labels on products are getting wackier and wackier
01/21/04: It's a computer! No, it's a side dish! Skeptical? Look under the hood
01/07/04: Nursery rhymes to scare the kids by
12/30/03: Ear-scratcher fingered by police
12/24/03: Gifts for that not-so-special someone
12/18/03: Things we hate to do
12/09/03: Keep your name out of this book
12/03/03: When tots control the world
11/18/03: Danger: TVs falling from above
11/11/03: Songs that won't go away
11/04/03: Keep technology away from the monkeys
10/29/03: A career of sensational regrets
10/22/03: Ig Nobels reward weird science
10/16/03: TV golf needs a kick in the pants
10/08/03: That's geek to me
09/30/03: A man, a woman and a cat
09/22/03: A tale of two spams
09/16/03: Librarian action figure will be taking no guff
09/10/03: Slackers need to remain invisible
09/02/03: No fun in the summertime
08/26/03: The algebra of love
08/11/03: Journey to the center of the pavement cracks
08/06/03: Word dominance by U.S. appears a fait accompli
07/28/03: Ads that are hard to swallow
07/09/03: Keep cows out of the classroom
07/03/03: Little-appreciated facts about unshaven men
06/24/03: Brother, can you paradigm?
06/18/03: Cats, TV not a good mix
06/10/03: In defense of grumpiness
06/04/03: Do we really need keyboards in our Port-A-Johns?
05/29/03: Always a dull men's moment
05/21/03: Bad PC hygiene leads to bugs
05/12/03:Army mops up; Tony Blair doesn't
05/06/03: Grill a hamburger for PETA
05/01/03: Exams spice history
04/23/03: Too much money? Tax me more!
04/14/03: When good gourds go bad
04/11/03: One fish-tale that isn't --- and that's no lie!
04/02/03: Do you really want to know what your dog's thinking?
03/26/03: Pajamas make high school less stressful
03/21/03: It's time to be nice to the French
03/03/03: The ultimate clean and constructive sport
02/12/03: Get a bang out of cleaning with cruise vacuum
02/06/03: Voluntary kindness? Not likely
01/28/03: Signs our economy is on upswing
01/22/03: There may be cash in your old underwear
01/15/03: Banish these words, now more than ever
01/07/03: Coughing as an art form
12/24/02: Parents shell out for missed homework
12/17/02: French government says no to @ symbol
12/11/02: A latecomer joins fellowship of the DVD
12/02/02: Don't worry, be fat, unfit and really happy
11/18/02: Intrigued by a German invention that could get teens out of bed before the crack of noon
11/06/02: A noose by any other name ...
10/29/02: Iranian dogs on notice
10/22/02: Talk about a job that stinks --- literally!
10/15/02: The official world's funniest joke
10/02/02: Japanese turn eyes to computer haikus
09/27/02: Oh, no! Bosses want to know what's on your mind
09/24/02: An airbag, humanity's salvation?
09/17/02: DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME!
09/06/02: Come listen to a story about a man named ... Bill
09/03/02: You're not in preschool anymore!
08/30/02: A charming idea from a brutal, whacked-out, megalomaniacal dictator-for-life
08/26/02: Blubber water? How to put on the pounds by gulping H20
08/21/02: The latest evidence that Mother Nature is out to kill us
08/13/02: Computers, airplanes and Canada don't mix
08/06/02: The sky's not falling? Dang it!
08/02/02: Some fond memories of worst TV shows
07/30/02: Pay my credit-card bill, please?
07/25/02: Something to celebrate
07/22/02: Baseball needs to ban the fans
07/16/02: Hasbro should consider new inaction figure
07/11/02: Decline in trash-talking is harming our mental health? Well, #@%&!
07/08/02 Americans retain right to fork tongues
07/01/02 These laws were made to be broken
06/18/02 Watching enough commercials?
06/03/02 Throwing your vote to the dogs
05/08/02 Hey, Mom, could you spare a dime?: Parents' obligations unending

© 2002, Sarasota Herald Tribune