Ask Wendy

Jewish World Review August 22, 2002/ 14 Elul 5762


Seeking help for hubby's High Holy Days hi-jinks; perplexed by parents' request; take 'em or leave 'em?


By Wendy Belzberg

http://www.jewishworldreview.com | Q: My husband and I have the same argument every year: I ask him to attend High Holy Day services with me, and he refuses. He claims he is not a believer and does not want to be hypocritical. I've tried every argument to change his mind. Perhaps you can come up with something I've missed.

A: Start slowly and build your case: Does he admit to being a Jew? Does he identify himself as a Jew? Does he ever get hot under the collar when he reads of antisemitism? Or privately cheer when a member of the tribe is appointed to the bench or gains prominence in the boardroom? If the answer is yes to any or all of the above, then your worries are over.

If your husband identifies himself as a Jew, there is nothing remotely hypocritical about behaving as one on Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur. You are not asking him to believe; you are not even asking him to pray or to receive an aliya. All you are asking is that he be seated in a congregation filled with his fellow Jews and be counted. Especially in a year with antisemitism as virulent as any we've seen in decades, this would seem a meaningful time to take a seat in your community.

If this fails, try the obvious. Ask him to go with you because he is your husband, because you are family and because it is important to you. If he can't say yes to that request, then he is a hypocrite indeed.

Q: In the wake of September 11 and a string of antisemitic incidents, my parents believe that synagogues are likely terrorist targets. They have asked us not to go to shul this year on the High Holy Days. (They live in a small town in northern Oregon and watched on television while the Twin Towers burned, knowing that our apartment was within a mile of the site.) My parents are asking us to do them a favor by respecting their wishes.

A: If you view your parents' request as a straight-ahead opportunity to score points - with your parents and with G-d - for observing the Fifth Commandment, then I suggest you call your synagogue and inquire about alternative options. Many shuls send rabbinical students to lead services for people unable to leave their homes due to illness or old age.

It is my opinion, however, that your parents have crossed the line and are as guilty of manipulation as they are of love and affection. I don't have the statistics at my fingertips, but I would guess that you are more likely to be hit by a drunk driver, lightning or a mosquito carrying the West Nile virus, than you are a terrorist.

Our world has changed since September 11. Our responsibility is to offer comfort and strength to one another, and to embrace a sense of community - not to lock ourselves in our homes and duck. I would go so far as to say that it is important to attend shul in September for the very reasons that your parents would prefer you stay home.

Q: At what age is it appropriate for children to attend High Holy Day services? Last year I took my 4- and 6-year-olds, and they had trouble sitting still. I received a lot of sidelong glances, and I found myself having uncharitable thoughts about the people bestowing them - not exactly in keeping with the spirit of the holiday. This year I am thinking about leaving the children at home, but my husband believes their place is in synagogue with us.

A: You're both right. As are your fellow shul-goers. It is not easy to pray, reflect and repent with children screeching in your ears or climbing up and down chairs. On the other hand, even at the age of 4, a child is old enough to understand the significance of the holiday and to be counted. If your children do not go to shul when they are young, they may resist going when they are old enough to have a say about it.

And now that I've objectively presented both sides, I say the kids should go. Here are some suggestions to help you incur the least amount of ill will: Remove your children from the sanctuary when the rabbi speaks. Make sure your synagogue has children's services - and that your children attend. Go early before the shul fills up. Fewer people, fewer dirty looks. Remember, children do not have to sit for the entire service; 45 minutes to an hour or an hour and a half seems about right. And finally, take along plenty of books, puzzles and games, but not the kind with batteries.



Ask Wendy a question -- almost any question --- by clicking here.


08/16/02: Trial makes friendship trying; experiencing one loss, facing another; wives and brides
08/09/02: Wedding woes are a commercial for elopement; miss the bris (circumcision)?
07/25/02: A love for the ages?; learning the steps; off the wall
07/17/02: I don't mean to sound anti-Semitic but ; Doesn't etiquette dictate that a good host make his guests feel comfortable?
06/21/02: Doing business with an Arab; driving down the road of life with my mother-in-law tailgating me; sentimental gulf clubs
06/12/02: Anti-Semites everywhere!; no need for marriage
06/06/02: Sacrifice my happiness or my family's?; bad call on 'friend'
05/30/02: Attending my ex-mother-in-law's funeral; in search of forgiveness
05/21/02: Danger and duty; host of issues; desperately seeking surgery
03/20/02: Multiples for mom; partners and martyrs; I'm a gentile --- should I explore Judaism's spiritual side?
03/07/02: Disabled child taught family love, patience and compassion
02/15/02: Sisterhood on the line; Time to cross Ts on ex?
02/04/02: Clueless convert-in-training; loyal to a wife who walked out?
01/25/02: The new 'Jewish question'; unfaithful oldsters; gambling on our family's future
01/18/02: Should son invite mom to bar mitzvah - against dad's wishes?; pay-off time?; 'my son is blackmailing me'
01/10/02: Hard to move on; separation anxiety
01/04/02: Salvaging a sister; mother knows best?
12/27/01: Paying for somebody else's charity; Down(s) and out?
12/21/01: 'Brownie points' for the Creator; I love my husband, but not his family; open-door policy needs to be closed sometimes
12/05/01: 'I celebrate Chanukah you insensitive anti-Semite!'; idealism v. responsibility; stolen gifts
11/27/01: Doubts or reservations one may have about reaching out to friends and strangers alike who are in need: From the mail bag
11/16/01: Tripping out; tactics for tactlessness; Am I a hypocrite?
11/01/01: My co-religionists are proselytizing me; tragedy intruder?; meddling mama?
10/19/01: Outside world hits home; money and mommies
10/12/01: Vacation separation; Risk present for past?
09/20/01: Secular servants; Time to tie purse strings?; dog breath --- literally!
09/07/01: Too much Torah?; Name-dropping rabbi turns off worshippers
08/30/01: Jewish 'godparents'?; summer homework
08/02/01: Have wife, won't travel; 'dis' --- as in 'distant'
07/26/01: Grandparents not invited to bar mitzvah; what to do about older sister's foul mouth; nuptial narcissism
07/19/01: Bad mannered, uncouth ethnics; lookin' for love
07/05/01: Faithless Rabbi; my wife won't let me retire; I'm in relationship limbo
06/21/01: New customs for assimilated Jews?; the business of friendship; aunty is a bad role model
06/13/01: Our friends have become political traitors; Is it love?
06/06/01: Teaching kids about the Creator, when parents aren't observant; 'wonderful woman' 'fesses up about her broken engagement; How do I find a matchmaker for my 'beautiful daughter?'
05/31/01: Couple he fixed-up is in a nasty breakup; overwrought over ring
05/16/01: The gift was counterfeit; settling for the daughter; the lush and the ostrich
05/02/01: 'Jew questions' and falsifying faith; magic marker mayhem; I want kids
04/25/01: Anti-Semites everywhere?; shilling for gifts; my kid is the 'weakest link'
04/05/01: Celebrating when Passover is inconvenient; What's wrong with the name 'Melvyn,'?; Difference dilemma: Husbands and wives and Passover observance levels
03/19/01: 7-4=insensitivity?; baby showers and tempting fate; Splitsville before or after marriage?
03/12/01: Passover party-pooper; slapped by a moral dilemma
02/14/01: Human 'mutts,' getting over it, same-sex kesubas
02/08/01: Bar/bat mitzvah blues, homework he-l, from potty to potty-mouth
01/24/01: Naughty neighbor, unprofessional colleague is dead, I'm a Jew, now what?
01/15/01: Rabbis who won't; when the rules of the 'game' change; ungracious grannies
01/08/01: My kid hates Hebrew school; Stay single or abandon heritage?
01/02/01: A Jewish Grinch? Baby bigots and when grandparents call it quits
12/18/00: Babes in Chanukah Land; my husband the kvetch; bad hair marriage?
12/04/00: My niece is a no-goodnik, when lifecycle events become dangerous, Orthodox v. Reform education
11/28/00: My ex is ruining my kids' souls; the mouth that won't stop
11/21/00: Battling brothers; how to keep a nanny
11/08/00: OY VEY! my son wants to become Orthodox; kiddies should avoid family therapy
11/08/00: Rabbi v. therapist, grandparents bearing gifts, I want my son's teacher for a sister-in-law
10/24/00: Let him enlist?, 'My son the actor'? Eating with the 'help'
10/10/00:Tipsy teens, protective spouses, kosher common-sense
10/03/00: I'm not Jewish --- not that there's anything wrong with it; mezuza machlokes; when granddad has cancer
09/25/00: I can't take Rosh Hashanah! Something for nothing? My husband needs a dinner mate
09/18/00: 'My kids' Jewish education stinks', boyfriend bandit, and single mother not by choice
09/11/00: Bris brouhaha breaks my heart, LET ME SLEEP! --- and Why can't I hold a job?
09/05/00: Righteous anger, 'dissed' daughter --- and how not to make a match
08/21/00: When one spouse becomes more religious than the other; "But the cleaning lady is part of the family!"; Why He invented 9-month gestation periods
08/21/00: 'Fessing up to granny about abandoning one's people, non-kosher sis-in-law, and 'my niece is marrying a loser'
08/14/00: Marrying 'in' for questionable motivations; Should a do-gooder be reimbursed?
08/07/00: Communing with the clouds, betrothal, and banishing bosses
07/28/00: Small-city guys, self-centered siblings
07/21/00: When a child takes religion seriously, marriage obsession, and guests who just don't get it
07/14/00: Divorcing brother-in-law, uncampy kids, and a dot.comer who makes it big time
07/07/00: Hypocrites, reality checks, and the 'real estate challenged'

Up

© 2002, Wendy Belzberg