Ask Wendy

Jewish World Review July 19, 2001/ 28 Tamuz 5761


Bad mannered, uncouth ethnics; lookin' for love


By Wendy Belzberg

http://www.jewishworldreview.com -- I am of Lebanese descent and I wear an Islam charm around my neck. Recently a shop owner told me I was not welcome in his store with my charm. The man went on to say that he isn't prejudiced or racist, but " if there's no peace in Israel between us and the Arabs then I'll never respect an Arab." I was taught as a child to treat all people with respect and equality, no matter what their race, religion, or color of their skin. I ask you, do this man's views reflect the attitudes of all Jewish people?

A: After the recent suicide bombing outside a Tel Aviv nightclub that killed 21 teenagers, the father of the bomber was quoted as saying he wished he had five more sons like the one who just died - in other words five more sons willing to carry out G-d's will, which to his mind means killing Jews.

I don't believe this father is any more representative of the Arab community than the shop owner you encountered is of the Jewish population. Every group, which forms around religion, race, or gender is simply a cluster--some large some small--of individuals. Some people are good, some people are bad, some mean well and some are evil to the core. Some are open-minded and others are not. You did not meet a chosen envoy of the Jewish people. You met a man with a point of view.

I am a divorced 59-year-old Jewish woman, with a good job and many friends. I would like to meet a Jewish man and eventually marry again, but I am having trouble finding someone. Jewish singles events are dreadful - most of the men are younger, and the older ones are busy looking at the younger women. I have tried JDate, the online Jewish dating service, and have had a couple of first dates from it, but nothing beyond that. I've asked married friends to set me up, but so far they have not done so. Any suggestions?

A: Word of mouth is the best approach so allow me to help you spread the word.

Finding a date--let alone a mate--is a difficult proposition for many, not just "middle aged" men and women. I will do my part to help, but you can't rely entirely on others in a matter of such import. Long before there were on-line dating services, there were Jewish study groups, museum lectures, and university trips for singles. If you are out doing what you enjoy you stand a greater chance of meeting someone who shares your interests.

I wish I could guarantee that your efforts would result in a thoughtful, fit, non-snoring eligible result, but I'm afraid this one comes with no such promise...


Ask Wendy a question -- any question --- by clicking here.


07/05/01: Faithless Rabbi; my wife won't let me retire; I'm in relationship limbo
06/21/01: New customs for assimilated Jews?; the business of friendship; aunty is a bad role model
06/13/01: Our friends have become political traitors; Is it love?
06/06/01: Teaching kids about the Creator, when parents aren't observant; 'wonderful woman' 'fesses up about her broken engagement; How do I find a matchmaker for my 'beautiful daughter?'
05/31/01: Couple he fixed-up is in a nasty breakup; overwrought over ring
05/16/01: The gift was counterfeit; settling for the daughter; the lush and the ostrich
05/02/01: 'Jew questions' and falsifying faith; magic marker mayhem; I want kids
04/25/01: Anti-Semites everywhere?; shilling for gifts; my kid is the 'weakest link'
04/05/01: Celebrating when Passover is inconvenient; What's wrong with the name 'Melvyn,'?; Difference dilemma: Husbands and wives and Passover observance levels
03/19/01: 7-4=insensitivity?; baby showers and tempting fate; Splitsville before or after marriage?
03/12/01: Passover party-pooper; slapped by a moral dilemma
02/14/01: Human 'mutts,' getting over it, same-sex kesubas
02/08/01: Bar/bat mitzvah blues, homework he-l, from potty to potty-mouth
01/24/01: Naughty neighbor, unprofessional colleague is dead, I'm a Jew, now what?
01/15/01: Rabbis who won't; when the rules of the 'game' change; ungracious grannies
01/08/01: My kid hates Hebrew school; Stay single or abandon heritage?
01/02/01: A Jewish Grinch? Baby bigots and when grandparents call it quits
12/18/00: Babes in Chanukah Land; my husband the kvetch; bad hair marriage?
12/04/00: My niece is a no-goodnik, when lifecycle events become dangerous, Orthodox v. Reform education
11/28/00: My ex is ruining my kids' souls; the mouth that won't stop
11/21/00: Battling brothers; how to keep a nanny
11/08/00: OY VEY! my son wants to become Orthodox; kiddies should avoid family therapy
11/08/00: Rabbi v. therapist, grandparents bearing gifts, I want my son's teacher for a sister-in-law
10/24/00: Let him enlist?, 'My son the actor'? Eating with the 'help'
10/10/00:Tipsy teens, protective spouses, kosher common-sense
10/03/00: I'm not Jewish --- not that there's anything wrong with it; mezuza machlokes; when granddad has cancer
09/25/00: I can't take Rosh Hashanah! Something for nothing? My husband needs a dinner mate
09/18/00: 'My kids' Jewish education stinks', boyfriend bandit, and single mother not by choice
09/11/00: Bris brouhaha breaks my heart, LET ME SLEEP! --- and Why can't I hold a job?
09/05/00: Righteous anger, 'dissed' daughter --- and how not to make a match
08/21/00: When one spouse becomes more religious than the other; "But the cleaning lady is part of the family!"; Why He invented 9-month gestation periods
08/21/00: 'Fessing up to granny about abandoning one's people, non-kosher sis-in-law, and 'my niece is marrying a loser'
08/14/00: Marrying 'in' for questionable motivations; Should a do-gooder be reimbursed?
08/07/00: Communing with the clouds, betrothal, and banishing bosses
07/28/00: Small-city guys, self-centered siblings
07/21/00: When a child takes religion seriously, marriage obsession, and guests who just don't get it
07/14/00: Divorcing brother-in-law, uncampy kids, and a dot.comer who makes it big time
07/07/00: Hypocrites, reality checks, and the 'real estate challenged'

Up

© 2001, Wendy Belzberg