Ask Wendy

Jewish World Review March 7, 2002/ 23 Adar 5762


Disabled child taught family love,
patience and compassion


By Wendy Belzberg

http://www.jewishworldreview.com | In my December 27 column, I printed a letter from the mother of a newborn son with Down syndrome. Her parents and her in-laws were pressuring her to place the baby in a facility for children with special needs. I asked her if her in-laws would make a similar recommendation if one of her other children developed multiple sclerosis or started going blind, and I wrote that I would choose her son any day - with all the love he had to offer - over parents or in-laws who appeared to prefer form to substance.

My response came from my head and an intuitive sense of right and wrong. I like to think that I would have the strength of my convictions. The following letter comes straight from the heart, from a family that demonstrated the strength of theirs.

Hats off to you for your advice to the mother with a brand-new Down syndrome baby.

I have a brother who, until he was 3 years old, appeared to be developing normally; at that point it became clear that there was something unusual about his speech. He was able to say words, even long impressive ones, but he did not use them to convey meaning. During his childhood, my parents were shuffled from one psychiatrist or psychologist to another. They were told at various times to "put him away and try again."

My parents persisted until, when my brother was about 12, they found the Institutes for the Achievement of Human Potential in Philadelphia. This group realized that my brother had suffered a brain injury and recommended "patterning." Patterning involved moving my brother's limbs and head on a table as if he were crawling for five minutes, four times a day. Five people were required for each session. Everyone helped: neighbors, relatives, girlfriends, women from the synagogue, a family who heard about us through their church and even a Girl Scout troop. After a few weeks my brother's speech improved dramatically, and he began to read.

My brother is now 47. He is still developmentally disabled, although much less so. He lives with my mother and performs work that appears to challenge and satisfy him. He is kind and loving.... My parents provided my brother with a rich childhood. He was loved for who he was and never expected to do anything more than his best.

But this has only been his story. I have said nothing yet about the way he profoundly affected the rest of us.

My father once commented that a brain-injured child would affect a marriage in one of two ways: The stress would break the marriage apart or make it rock-solid. My parents gained a strengthened commitment to each other. They were blessed with a very happy marriage for 34 years, until my father passed away.

As a direct result of my brother, my father, who was an attorney, became politically and legally active in causes related to developmentally disabled children; he was instrumental in getting legislation passed requiring special education.

Whether my mother always had the strength she has or developed it as a result of my brother, I cannot say.

Certainly, G-d was very wise in selecting her to care for my brother, but the rewards have not been his alone. I believe my brother helps keep my mother young. Now in her 70s, my mother works in the computer field, traveling 55 miles each way to work every day. She still delights in every one of my brother's incremental accomplishments. She is always telling me of the many little things he does every day to help her.

I could not have asked for a better brother. As a very young child, I learned patience, empathy and compassion.

These are gifts that have carried through my personal and professional life. I learned that love does not depend on what you can do, but how you do what you can.

My daughter, who is 4, has a special relationship with her uncle. I wondered when she would notice that there was something different about him. Just a few days ago, she told me that he would be unable to say something because he speaks a "quiet language." It appears it is never too early to develop understanding and compassion....

To the woman who wrote to you and to her husband, G-d has not chosen you for misfortune. He has chosen two people He knows have the strength and love to care for His very special child. Accept His trust and this child, this gift, will enrich you and everyone around you in ways you cannot imagine.

  —   Lucky sister in NYC



Ask Wendy a question -- any question --- by clicking here.


02/15/02: Sisterhood on the line; Time to cross Ts on ex?
02/04/02: Clueless convert-in-training; loyal to a wife who walked out?
01/25/02: The new 'Jewish question'; unfaithful oldsters; gambling on our family's future
01/18/02: Should son invite mom to bar mitzvah - against dad's wishes?; pay-off time?; 'my son is blackmailing me'
01/10/02: Hard to move on; separation anxiety
01/04/02: Salvaging a sister; mother knows best?
12/27/01: Paying for somebody else's charity; Down(s) and out?
12/21/01: 'Brownie points' for the Creator; I love my husband, but not his family; open-door policy needs to be closed sometimes
12/05/01: 'I celebrate Chanukah you insensitive anti-Semite!'; idealism v. responsibility; stolen gifts
11/27/01: Doubts or reservations one may have about reaching out to friends and strangers alike who are in need: From the mail bag
11/16/01: Tripping out; tactics for tactlessness; Am I a hypocrite?
11/01/01: My co-religionists are proselytizing me; tragedy intruder?; meddling mama?
10/19/01: Outside world hits home; money and mommies
10/12/01: Vacation separation; Risk present for past?
09/20/01: Secular servants; Time to tie purse strings?; dog breath --- literally!
09/07/01: Too much Torah?; Name-dropping rabbi turns off worshippers
08/30/01: Jewish 'godparents'?; summer homework
08/02/01: Have wife, won't travel; 'dis' --- as in 'distant'
07/26/01: Grandparents not invited to bar mitzvah; what to do about older sister's foul mouth; nuptial narcissism
07/19/01: Bad mannered, uncouth ethnics; lookin' for love
07/05/01: Faithless Rabbi; my wife won't let me retire; I'm in relationship limbo
06/21/01: New customs for assimilated Jews?; the business of friendship; aunty is a bad role model
06/13/01: Our friends have become political traitors; Is it love?
06/06/01: Teaching kids about the Creator, when parents aren't observant; 'wonderful woman' 'fesses up about her broken engagement; How do I find a matchmaker for my 'beautiful daughter?'
05/31/01: Couple he fixed-up is in a nasty breakup; overwrought over ring
05/16/01: The gift was counterfeit; settling for the daughter; the lush and the ostrich
05/02/01: 'Jew questions' and falsifying faith; magic marker mayhem; I want kids
04/25/01: Anti-Semites everywhere?; shilling for gifts; my kid is the 'weakest link'
04/05/01: Celebrating when Passover is inconvenient; What's wrong with the name 'Melvyn,'?; Difference dilemma: Husbands and wives and Passover observance levels
03/19/01: 7-4=insensitivity?; baby showers and tempting fate; Splitsville before or after marriage?
03/12/01: Passover party-pooper; slapped by a moral dilemma
02/14/01: Human 'mutts,' getting over it, same-sex kesubas
02/08/01: Bar/bat mitzvah blues, homework he-l, from potty to potty-mouth
01/24/01: Naughty neighbor, unprofessional colleague is dead, I'm a Jew, now what?
01/15/01: Rabbis who won't; when the rules of the 'game' change; ungracious grannies
01/08/01: My kid hates Hebrew school; Stay single or abandon heritage?
01/02/01: A Jewish Grinch? Baby bigots and when grandparents call it quits
12/18/00: Babes in Chanukah Land; my husband the kvetch; bad hair marriage?
12/04/00: My niece is a no-goodnik, when lifecycle events become dangerous, Orthodox v. Reform education
11/28/00: My ex is ruining my kids' souls; the mouth that won't stop
11/21/00: Battling brothers; how to keep a nanny
11/08/00: OY VEY! my son wants to become Orthodox; kiddies should avoid family therapy
11/08/00: Rabbi v. therapist, grandparents bearing gifts, I want my son's teacher for a sister-in-law
10/24/00: Let him enlist?, 'My son the actor'? Eating with the 'help'
10/10/00:Tipsy teens, protective spouses, kosher common-sense
10/03/00: I'm not Jewish --- not that there's anything wrong with it; mezuza machlokes; when granddad has cancer
09/25/00: I can't take Rosh Hashanah! Something for nothing? My husband needs a dinner mate
09/18/00: 'My kids' Jewish education stinks', boyfriend bandit, and single mother not by choice
09/11/00: Bris brouhaha breaks my heart, LET ME SLEEP! --- and Why can't I hold a job?
09/05/00: Righteous anger, 'dissed' daughter --- and how not to make a match
08/21/00: When one spouse becomes more religious than the other; "But the cleaning lady is part of the family!"; Why He invented 9-month gestation periods
08/21/00: 'Fessing up to granny about abandoning one's people, non-kosher sis-in-law, and 'my niece is marrying a loser'
08/14/00: Marrying 'in' for questionable motivations; Should a do-gooder be reimbursed?
08/07/00: Communing with the clouds, betrothal, and banishing bosses
07/28/00: Small-city guys, self-centered siblings
07/21/00: When a child takes religion seriously, marriage obsession, and guests who just don't get it
07/14/00: Divorcing brother-in-law, uncampy kids, and a dot.comer who makes it big time
07/07/00: Hypocrites, reality checks, and the 'real estate challenged'

Up

© 2002, Wendy Belzberg