Ask Wendy

Jewish World Review Sept. 7, 2001/ 18 Elul 5761


Too much Torah?; Name-dropping
rabbi turns off worshippers


By Wendy Belzberg

http://www.jewishworldreview.com -- My daughter recently became engaged to a young man whose ambition is to study Torah -- Bible and Talmud -- full-time. I raised my children to value their place as Jews in the world, setting a good example and making active contributions. Learning full-time rather than "living in the real world" is antithetical to everything my wife and I believe in. Is there any way for us to dissuade our daughter from marrying this man without her resenting us for meddling?

A: No way at all. Furthermore, I resent you for asking the question, and we've never even met.

Your future son-in-law is committed to the study of Torah. He has not joined a cult that forbids him to interact with the rest of the world. Is your future son-in-law kind, intelligent and nurturing? Will he make your daughter happy? After all, she is the one who will be living with him, not you. The path of a kollel yungermahn is as demanding -- and arguably more virtuous -- as that of a doctor or lawyer. Remember, the third term among those hallowed professions is Indian chief. I know many parents whose children have intermarried that would gladly switch places with you.

If you are not being asked to pay the bills, and you have no concerns for your daughter's happiness and well being, keep your concerns to yourself. I hope your daughter and future son-in-law are more generous than you, since, even if you haven't said a word, I suspect you have already communicated to them exactly how you feel.

My wife and I have attended the same synagogue for the past eight years. Our friends and family are also members and the High Holy Day services are moving. The problem is the rabbi. He is a nice man, but his sermons are usually a mix of name-dropping and personal anecdotes. I go to synagogue on Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur to be inspired, not to be entertained. My wife wants to stay with our friends and family, but I want to try a different service.

A: A man's got to do what a man's got to do. The problem, however, is not with the rabbi. The problem is with you.

If the rabbi still has his job, you are in the minority with regard to your opinion of him. Unless he has been appointed for life, that is. Moreover, your friends and family are there, and the rest of the service seems in keeping with your sensibilities. It is an added bonus when a rabbi's remarks are inspiring and spur introspection, but it is by no means his job to make you examine your soul.

The High Holy Days are not here yet. Rather than preparing to blame the rabbi for your lack of spiritual response, start now to assume responsibility for making your High Holy Day experience what you want it to be: examine your own behavior, think of the people you have wronged, make a High Holy Day reading list and start to think about doing teshuvah. You may want to start by talking to your rabbi. It sounds as if you will have an easy time tuning the rabbi out, which will provide you with time to think and reflect.


Ask Wendy a question -- any question --- by clicking here.


08/30/01: Jewish 'godparents'?; summer homework
08/02/01: Have wife, won't travel; 'dis' --- as in 'distant'
07/26/01: Grandparents not invited to bar mitzvah; what to do about older sister's foul mouth; nuptial narcissism
07/19/01: Bad mannered, uncouth ethnics; lookin' for love
07/05/01: Faithless Rabbi; my wife won't let me retire; I'm in relationship limbo
06/21/01: New customs for assimilated Jews?; the business of friendship; aunty is a bad role model
06/13/01: Our friends have become political traitors; Is it love?
06/06/01: Teaching kids about the Creator, when parents aren't observant; 'wonderful woman' 'fesses up about her broken engagement; How do I find a matchmaker for my 'beautiful daughter?'
05/31/01: Couple he fixed-up is in a nasty breakup; overwrought over ring
05/16/01: The gift was counterfeit; settling for the daughter; the lush and the ostrich
05/02/01: 'Jew questions' and falsifying faith; magic marker mayhem; I want kids
04/25/01: Anti-Semites everywhere?; shilling for gifts; my kid is the 'weakest link'
04/05/01: Celebrating when Passover is inconvenient; What's wrong with the name 'Melvyn,'?; Difference dilemma: Husbands and wives and Passover observance levels
03/19/01: 7-4=insensitivity?; baby showers and tempting fate; Splitsville before or after marriage?
03/12/01: Passover party-pooper; slapped by a moral dilemma
02/14/01: Human 'mutts,' getting over it, same-sex kesubas
02/08/01: Bar/bat mitzvah blues, homework he-l, from potty to potty-mouth
01/24/01: Naughty neighbor, unprofessional colleague is dead, I'm a Jew, now what?
01/15/01: Rabbis who won't; when the rules of the 'game' change; ungracious grannies
01/08/01: My kid hates Hebrew school; Stay single or abandon heritage?
01/02/01: A Jewish Grinch? Baby bigots and when grandparents call it quits
12/18/00: Babes in Chanukah Land; my husband the kvetch; bad hair marriage?
12/04/00: My niece is a no-goodnik, when lifecycle events become dangerous, Orthodox v. Reform education
11/28/00: My ex is ruining my kids' souls; the mouth that won't stop
11/21/00: Battling brothers; how to keep a nanny
11/08/00: OY VEY! my son wants to become Orthodox; kiddies should avoid family therapy
11/08/00: Rabbi v. therapist, grandparents bearing gifts, I want my son's teacher for a sister-in-law
10/24/00: Let him enlist?, 'My son the actor'? Eating with the 'help'
10/10/00:Tipsy teens, protective spouses, kosher common-sense
10/03/00: I'm not Jewish --- not that there's anything wrong with it; mezuza machlokes; when granddad has cancer
09/25/00: I can't take Rosh Hashanah! Something for nothing? My husband needs a dinner mate
09/18/00: 'My kids' Jewish education stinks', boyfriend bandit, and single mother not by choice
09/11/00: Bris brouhaha breaks my heart, LET ME SLEEP! --- and Why can't I hold a job?
09/05/00: Righteous anger, 'dissed' daughter --- and how not to make a match
08/21/00: When one spouse becomes more religious than the other; "But the cleaning lady is part of the family!"; Why He invented 9-month gestation periods
08/21/00: 'Fessing up to granny about abandoning one's people, non-kosher sis-in-law, and 'my niece is marrying a loser'
08/14/00: Marrying 'in' for questionable motivations; Should a do-gooder be reimbursed?
08/07/00: Communing with the clouds, betrothal, and banishing bosses
07/28/00: Small-city guys, self-centered siblings
07/21/00: When a child takes religion seriously, marriage obsession, and guests who just don't get it
07/14/00: Divorcing brother-in-law, uncampy kids, and a dot.comer who makes it big time
07/07/00: Hypocrites, reality checks, and the 'real estate challenged'

Up

© 2001, Wendy Belzberg