Ask Wendy

Jewish World Review Jan. 18, 2002/5 Shevat 5762


Should son invite mom to bar mitzvah - against dad's wishes?; pay-off time?; 'my son is blackmailing me'


By Wendy Belzberg

http://www.jewishworldreview.com -- I am probably younger than most of the people who send you questions, but I need help: My bar mitzvah will be celebrated in a few weeks at my dad's synagogue. I have been living with him since he and my mom got divorced. I want to have my mom and my grandparents attend, but my dad refuses to invite them. Can I ask them to come anyway?

A: Shame on your father for putting you in the position of having to write to me. This is your bar mitzvah, not his.

A bar mitzvah is about becoming a man and embracing responsibility. Your responsibility is to do the right thing, which in this case is to make an end-run around your father and invite your mother and grandparents. Now is the perfect time to take a stand; this is not a one-day issue. If your father has gotten away with this kind of juvenile behavior until now, this should be the end of the line.

Q: Since retiring three years ago as the long-time chief executive of a large public company, I have formed several joint ventures with my own capital and the investment of friends. I have good instincts, a great track record and deliver nice returns. I am a healthy 68-year-old man, but I have recently begun to wonder if, given my age, it is irresponsible for me to allow other people, especially friends, to invest in deals that take time to pay off.

A: You may well be worried about your own mortality, but there doesn't seem to be any reason to worry about your friends' money.

It sounds to me like any man or woman would be lucky to be in business with you and to have you investing his or her money. Clearly you have vision and know how to recruit excellent managers and delegate. Your responsibility is to tell your investors exactly what your involvement is and — unless you indicated that you would be working as a full-time CEO — rest assured that your friends invested with their eyes open. There's no guarantee that a young investor will outlive you — or, for that matter, that his investments will fare as well in the long term. Make the very best deals you can today, and stop looking over your shoulder.

Q: My son and I have always had our ups and downs. Over the past several months we have been having a more difficult time than usual. I live for my grandchildren, and I have never worried that my relationship with my son would adversely affect my relationship with them. Recently, however, after a particularly nasty disagreement, my son called and said I could not see the children as planned. I feel like my son is blackmailing me.

A: If I were to read this question without the benefit of nouns or pronouns, I would probably conclude that I was reading about yet another messy divorce. The use of children as pawns is unconscionable but all too common when bickering couples begin to stake their claims. The problem is, children are not property, and their feelings can never be leveraged.

Many mother-son relationships are complicated, and the responsibility for this falls on both sides. That said, if your son truly meant to use his children as pawns, then I would side with you in all future fights. If your grandchildren are old enough to sustain an independent relationship with you, I suggest that you find a tactful way around your son. If not, you will have to have it out with him. Make it clear that the two of you are not the issue, but that the children are. I find it difficult to believe that you will not be able to come to an agreement based on the children's well-being — and that sustained neutrality on that front won't help you to surmount your own historical issues.



Ask Wendy a question -- any question --- by clicking here.


01/10/02: Hard to move on; separation anxiety
01/04/02: Salvaging a sister; mother knows best?
12/27/01: Paying for somebody else's charity; Down(s) and out?
12/21/01: 'Brownie points' for the Creator; I love my husband, but not his family; open-door policy needs to be closed sometimes
12/05/01: 'I celebrate Chanukah you insensitive anti-Semite!'; idealism v. responsibility; stolen gifts
11/27/01: Doubts or reservations one may have about reaching out to friends and strangers alike who are in need: From the mail bag
11/16/01: Tripping out; tactics for tactlessness; Am I a hypocrite?
11/01/01: My co-religionists are proselytizing me; tragedy intruder?; meddling mama?
10/19/01: Outside world hits home; money and mommies
10/12/01: Vacation separation; Risk present for past?
09/20/01: Secular servants; Time to tie purse strings?; dog breath --- literally!
09/07/01: Too much Torah?; Name-dropping rabbi turns off worshippers
08/30/01: Jewish 'godparents'?; summer homework
08/02/01: Have wife, won't travel; 'dis' --- as in 'distant'
07/26/01: Grandparents not invited to bar mitzvah; what to do about older sister's foul mouth; nuptial narcissism
07/19/01: Bad mannered, uncouth ethnics; lookin' for love
07/05/01: Faithless Rabbi; my wife won't let me retire; I'm in relationship limbo
06/21/01: New customs for assimilated Jews?; the business of friendship; aunty is a bad role model
06/13/01: Our friends have become political traitors; Is it love?
06/06/01: Teaching kids about the Creator, when parents aren't observant; 'wonderful woman' 'fesses up about her broken engagement; How do I find a matchmaker for my 'beautiful daughter?'
05/31/01: Couple he fixed-up is in a nasty breakup; overwrought over ring
05/16/01: The gift was counterfeit; settling for the daughter; the lush and the ostrich
05/02/01: 'Jew questions' and falsifying faith; magic marker mayhem; I want kids
04/25/01: Anti-Semites everywhere?; shilling for gifts; my kid is the 'weakest link'
04/05/01: Celebrating when Passover is inconvenient; What's wrong with the name 'Melvyn,'?; Difference dilemma: Husbands and wives and Passover observance levels
03/19/01: 7-4=insensitivity?; baby showers and tempting fate; Splitsville before or after marriage?
03/12/01: Passover party-pooper; slapped by a moral dilemma
02/14/01: Human 'mutts,' getting over it, same-sex kesubas
02/08/01: Bar/bat mitzvah blues, homework he-l, from potty to potty-mouth
01/24/01: Naughty neighbor, unprofessional colleague is dead, I'm a Jew, now what?
01/15/01: Rabbis who won't; when the rules of the 'game' change; ungracious grannies
01/08/01: My kid hates Hebrew school; Stay single or abandon heritage?
01/02/01: A Jewish Grinch? Baby bigots and when grandparents call it quits
12/18/00: Babes in Chanukah Land; my husband the kvetch; bad hair marriage?
12/04/00: My niece is a no-goodnik, when lifecycle events become dangerous, Orthodox v. Reform education
11/28/00: My ex is ruining my kids' souls; the mouth that won't stop
11/21/00: Battling brothers; how to keep a nanny
11/08/00: OY VEY! my son wants to become Orthodox; kiddies should avoid family therapy
11/08/00: Rabbi v. therapist, grandparents bearing gifts, I want my son's teacher for a sister-in-law
10/24/00: Let him enlist?, 'My son the actor'? Eating with the 'help'
10/10/00:Tipsy teens, protective spouses, kosher common-sense
10/03/00: I'm not Jewish --- not that there's anything wrong with it; mezuza machlokes; when granddad has cancer
09/25/00: I can't take Rosh Hashanah! Something for nothing? My husband needs a dinner mate
09/18/00: 'My kids' Jewish education stinks', boyfriend bandit, and single mother not by choice
09/11/00: Bris brouhaha breaks my heart, LET ME SLEEP! --- and Why can't I hold a job?
09/05/00: Righteous anger, 'dissed' daughter --- and how not to make a match
08/21/00: When one spouse becomes more religious than the other; "But the cleaning lady is part of the family!"; Why He invented 9-month gestation periods
08/21/00: 'Fessing up to granny about abandoning one's people, non-kosher sis-in-law, and 'my niece is marrying a loser'
08/14/00: Marrying 'in' for questionable motivations; Should a do-gooder be reimbursed?
08/07/00: Communing with the clouds, betrothal, and banishing bosses
07/28/00: Small-city guys, self-centered siblings
07/21/00: When a child takes religion seriously, marriage obsession, and guests who just don't get it
07/14/00: Divorcing brother-in-law, uncampy kids, and a dot.comer who makes it big time
07/07/00: Hypocrites, reality checks, and the 'real estate challenged'

Up

© 2002, Wendy Belzberg