Ask Wendy

Jewish World Review Feb. 15, 2002/ 4 Adar 5762


Sisterhood on the line; Time to cross Ts on ex?


By Wendy Belzberg

http://www.jewishworldreview.com -- Two years ago I attended my grandmother's unveiling in Florida. My sister and brother-in-law arrived late, delaying the start of the memorial service. My brother-in-law was dressed in sandals, shorts, a torn tee shirt and no yarmulke. I took my sister aside and asked, "How could your husband come to grandma's unveiling dressed like this?" My sister's response was "Who are you to say anything about my husband?"

The following day my mother informed me that my sister would not speak to me again until I apologized for having criticized her husband. Since that time I have sent my sister and her husband cards on all of the Jewish holidays, a fax and two emails. My mothers say I must phone to apologize. I feel that I have done nothing wrong.

A: Too bad your mother is more invested in her role as a middleman than as a peace broker. (The Yiddish word coch-leffel comes to mind.) Stop conferring with her and decide for yourself what you want to do. To call or not to call, that is the question.

Two years is a long time for an isolated incident to fester. I suspect that your sister was harboring resentment or ill-will long before you remarked on your brother-in-law's poor choice in graveside attire.

Faxes and emails never have been-and never will be--an effective way to resolve emotional conflict. If it makes you feel better to hear it from me, I don't think you did anything wrong, either. But you wouldn't have written to me if you were happy with the status quo. The argument between you and your sister ceased to be about right and wrong two years ago. To make peace with her you will have to swallow your pride-and your principle. A rational response to your sister's irrational stand will get you nowhere. Start dialing now. You and your sister may never again be friends, but at least you'll be speaking.

Q: My brother's divorce will be final in a few months. Things are getting nasty between him and my soon to be ex-sister-in-law. My family is civil to her, but things have become awkward. My problem is this: over the past year my soon to be ex-sister-in-law and my husband's sister have become good friends. My husband's sister now invites the soon-to be ex to the family functions on his side. This is very uncomfortable for us. I've already spoken to both women about this but to no avail. Am I being overly sensitive?

A: This is a matter for you and your husband. Why lead the charge alone and be viewed as the bitter, controlling sister/daughter-in-law. Your husband should protect your feelings-even if he does not agree with them-and speak to his sister about limiting her invitations where both you and your ex-sister-in law will be present. At least for the time being. Surely your loyalty to your brother takes precedence over a yearlong friendship.

For the record, I consider your sister-in-law's overtures to your ex-sister-in-law hostile behavior at worst, and odd behavior at best. If banning your ex-sister-in-law turns out to be impossible, excuse yourself politely from situations that you think may prove uncomfortable. Maybe some other members of the family will learn from you example.



Ask Wendy a question -- any question --- by clicking here.


02/04/02: Clueless convert-in-training; loyal to a wife who walked out?
01/25/02: The new 'Jewish question'; unfaithful oldsters; gambling on our family's future
01/18/02: Should son invite mom to bar mitzvah - against dad's wishes?; pay-off time?; 'my son is blackmailing me'
01/10/02: Hard to move on; separation anxiety
01/04/02: Salvaging a sister; mother knows best?
12/27/01: Paying for somebody else's charity; Down(s) and out?
12/21/01: 'Brownie points' for the Creator; I love my husband, but not his family; open-door policy needs to be closed sometimes
12/05/01: 'I celebrate Chanukah you insensitive anti-Semite!'; idealism v. responsibility; stolen gifts
11/27/01: Doubts or reservations one may have about reaching out to friends and strangers alike who are in need: From the mail bag
11/16/01: Tripping out; tactics for tactlessness; Am I a hypocrite?
11/01/01: My co-religionists are proselytizing me; tragedy intruder?; meddling mama?
10/19/01: Outside world hits home; money and mommies
10/12/01: Vacation separation; Risk present for past?
09/20/01: Secular servants; Time to tie purse strings?; dog breath --- literally!
09/07/01: Too much Torah?; Name-dropping rabbi turns off worshippers
08/30/01: Jewish 'godparents'?; summer homework
08/02/01: Have wife, won't travel; 'dis' --- as in 'distant'
07/26/01: Grandparents not invited to bar mitzvah; what to do about older sister's foul mouth; nuptial narcissism
07/19/01: Bad mannered, uncouth ethnics; lookin' for love
07/05/01: Faithless Rabbi; my wife won't let me retire; I'm in relationship limbo
06/21/01: New customs for assimilated Jews?; the business of friendship; aunty is a bad role model
06/13/01: Our friends have become political traitors; Is it love?
06/06/01: Teaching kids about the Creator, when parents aren't observant; 'wonderful woman' 'fesses up about her broken engagement; How do I find a matchmaker for my 'beautiful daughter?'
05/31/01: Couple he fixed-up is in a nasty breakup; overwrought over ring
05/16/01: The gift was counterfeit; settling for the daughter; the lush and the ostrich
05/02/01: 'Jew questions' and falsifying faith; magic marker mayhem; I want kids
04/25/01: Anti-Semites everywhere?; shilling for gifts; my kid is the 'weakest link'
04/05/01: Celebrating when Passover is inconvenient; What's wrong with the name 'Melvyn,'?; Difference dilemma: Husbands and wives and Passover observance levels
03/19/01: 7-4=insensitivity?; baby showers and tempting fate; Splitsville before or after marriage?
03/12/01: Passover party-pooper; slapped by a moral dilemma
02/14/01: Human 'mutts,' getting over it, same-sex kesubas
02/08/01: Bar/bat mitzvah blues, homework he-l, from potty to potty-mouth
01/24/01: Naughty neighbor, unprofessional colleague is dead, I'm a Jew, now what?
01/15/01: Rabbis who won't; when the rules of the 'game' change; ungracious grannies
01/08/01: My kid hates Hebrew school; Stay single or abandon heritage?
01/02/01: A Jewish Grinch? Baby bigots and when grandparents call it quits
12/18/00: Babes in Chanukah Land; my husband the kvetch; bad hair marriage?
12/04/00: My niece is a no-goodnik, when lifecycle events become dangerous, Orthodox v. Reform education
11/28/00: My ex is ruining my kids' souls; the mouth that won't stop
11/21/00: Battling brothers; how to keep a nanny
11/08/00: OY VEY! my son wants to become Orthodox; kiddies should avoid family therapy
11/08/00: Rabbi v. therapist, grandparents bearing gifts, I want my son's teacher for a sister-in-law
10/24/00: Let him enlist?, 'My son the actor'? Eating with the 'help'
10/10/00:Tipsy teens, protective spouses, kosher common-sense
10/03/00: I'm not Jewish --- not that there's anything wrong with it; mezuza machlokes; when granddad has cancer
09/25/00: I can't take Rosh Hashanah! Something for nothing? My husband needs a dinner mate
09/18/00: 'My kids' Jewish education stinks', boyfriend bandit, and single mother not by choice
09/11/00: Bris brouhaha breaks my heart, LET ME SLEEP! --- and Why can't I hold a job?
09/05/00: Righteous anger, 'dissed' daughter --- and how not to make a match
08/21/00: When one spouse becomes more religious than the other; "But the cleaning lady is part of the family!"; Why He invented 9-month gestation periods
08/21/00: 'Fessing up to granny about abandoning one's people, non-kosher sis-in-law, and 'my niece is marrying a loser'
08/14/00: Marrying 'in' for questionable motivations; Should a do-gooder be reimbursed?
08/07/00: Communing with the clouds, betrothal, and banishing bosses
07/28/00: Small-city guys, self-centered siblings
07/21/00: When a child takes religion seriously, marriage obsession, and guests who just don't get it
07/14/00: Divorcing brother-in-law, uncampy kids, and a dot.comer who makes it big time
07/07/00: Hypocrites, reality checks, and the 'real estate challenged'

Up

© 2002, Wendy Belzberg