Ask Wendy

Jewish World Review Jan. 25, 2002/12 Shevat 5762


The new 'Jewish question'; unfaithful oldsters; gambling on our family's future


By Wendy Belzberg

http://www.jewishworldreview.com -- I am a Conservative Jew with a background in the sciences. I fear the eventual collapse of our species due to the worldwide increase in population. What troubles me is how to deal with "Jewish large families." Each ethnic group in America might argue that they need to increase their numbers to offset past losses. Israeli Jews and Palestinian Arabs could make the same argument even though they live in a desert area with declining resources per capita. In contrast, Alan Dershowitz said in "The Vanishing American Jew" that combining Jews' high assimilation rates with low birthrates would cause us to quickly disappear from the American scene, except for the high birthrate in the orthodox segment.

How can I advise Jews to have small families for the benefit of all peoples when other groups have no such environmental concerns?

A: I hope I won't lose you as a reader by saying that I'm with Professor Dershowitz on this one. Or at least with the argument you ascribe to him. I will grant you that my vision is narrower than yours: you are speaking about the planet while I am responding to the much narrower, Jewish equation. But the data I have seen would indicate that the Jewish population is being assimilated right out of existence-and that doesn't sit well with me.

I urge every Jewish man and woman to consider his or her responsibility for the perpetuation of our religion and heritage. This is not solely an Orthodox responsibility. Not to mention that Orthodox Jews represent only a small cross-section of the Jewish people. My opinion is based more on emotion than intellect--you wouldn't want to discuss quantum physics with me either-and I claim no expertise in the area. I invite my readers to weigh in on the topic. Who knows, this may be one of those rare occasions where I am shown to be all wrong.

Q: I have fallen in love with someone who is not happily married. We are both senior citizens. Is this such a terrible sin?

A: You make a point of mentioning your age. You must feel that your senior citizen status entitles you to special dispensation. But is age an excuse for what I suspect most of us would define as immoral behavior?

Ask yourself, would you feel differently about your behavior if you and your amour were both in your twenties or thirties? Age is not a factor in the "rightness or wrongness" of your dilemma. If the couple in question has grown old together, it is difficult to imagine that they have just recently become unhappily married. Why has your "love" remained in this relationship? Has he/she attempted to ameliorate an unhappy situation? I freely admit that I have no idea what makes one marriage last while another falls apart, but I will say that I subscribe still to the belief that one should leave a marriage before diving into a fresh love affair. At any age.

Q: My husband and I pooled our money when we married. Early in our marriage my husband heard of a great business venture from a friend, invested, and lost a significant amount of our savings. He now has another deal he wants to invest in which does indeed have potentially huge upside but carries equal risk. How can I tell him without crushing his ego that times are tough and I think we should keep our money safe?

A: If your husband is intent on gambling, particularly under volatile economic conditions, why not suggest buying several tickets for the state lottery?

Perhaps early on in the marriage you were both still pretending that money didn't matter, or that you could have a marriage without making joint decisions.

The financial decision you now face is not about ability, or ego. This is about family and long-term planning, about risk versus security. Period. It is as much an emotional decision as it is a financial one. Letting your husband know that you are opposed to his investment should not deal a crushing blow to his ego. And if it does, you had best take a long look at your marriage and at the man you married.



Ask Wendy a question -- any question --- by clicking here.


01/18/02: Should son invite mom to bar mitzvah - against dad's wishes?; pay-off time?; 'my son is blackmailing me'
01/10/02: Hard to move on; separation anxiety
01/04/02: Salvaging a sister; mother knows best?
12/27/01: Paying for somebody else's charity; Down(s) and out?
12/21/01: 'Brownie points' for the Creator; I love my husband, but not his family; open-door policy needs to be closed sometimes
12/05/01: 'I celebrate Chanukah you insensitive anti-Semite!'; idealism v. responsibility; stolen gifts
11/27/01: Doubts or reservations one may have about reaching out to friends and strangers alike who are in need: From the mail bag
11/16/01: Tripping out; tactics for tactlessness; Am I a hypocrite?
11/01/01: My co-religionists are proselytizing me; tragedy intruder?; meddling mama?
10/19/01: Outside world hits home; money and mommies
10/12/01: Vacation separation; Risk present for past?
09/20/01: Secular servants; Time to tie purse strings?; dog breath --- literally!
09/07/01: Too much Torah?; Name-dropping rabbi turns off worshippers
08/30/01: Jewish 'godparents'?; summer homework
08/02/01: Have wife, won't travel; 'dis' --- as in 'distant'
07/26/01: Grandparents not invited to bar mitzvah; what to do about older sister's foul mouth; nuptial narcissism
07/19/01: Bad mannered, uncouth ethnics; lookin' for love
07/05/01: Faithless Rabbi; my wife won't let me retire; I'm in relationship limbo
06/21/01: New customs for assimilated Jews?; the business of friendship; aunty is a bad role model
06/13/01: Our friends have become political traitors; Is it love?
06/06/01: Teaching kids about the Creator, when parents aren't observant; 'wonderful woman' 'fesses up about her broken engagement; How do I find a matchmaker for my 'beautiful daughter?'
05/31/01: Couple he fixed-up is in a nasty breakup; overwrought over ring
05/16/01: The gift was counterfeit; settling for the daughter; the lush and the ostrich
05/02/01: 'Jew questions' and falsifying faith; magic marker mayhem; I want kids
04/25/01: Anti-Semites everywhere?; shilling for gifts; my kid is the 'weakest link'
04/05/01: Celebrating when Passover is inconvenient; What's wrong with the name 'Melvyn,'?; Difference dilemma: Husbands and wives and Passover observance levels
03/19/01: 7-4=insensitivity?; baby showers and tempting fate; Splitsville before or after marriage?
03/12/01: Passover party-pooper; slapped by a moral dilemma
02/14/01: Human 'mutts,' getting over it, same-sex kesubas
02/08/01: Bar/bat mitzvah blues, homework he-l, from potty to potty-mouth
01/24/01: Naughty neighbor, unprofessional colleague is dead, I'm a Jew, now what?
01/15/01: Rabbis who won't; when the rules of the 'game' change; ungracious grannies
01/08/01: My kid hates Hebrew school; Stay single or abandon heritage?
01/02/01: A Jewish Grinch? Baby bigots and when grandparents call it quits
12/18/00: Babes in Chanukah Land; my husband the kvetch; bad hair marriage?
12/04/00: My niece is a no-goodnik, when lifecycle events become dangerous, Orthodox v. Reform education
11/28/00: My ex is ruining my kids' souls; the mouth that won't stop
11/21/00: Battling brothers; how to keep a nanny
11/08/00: OY VEY! my son wants to become Orthodox; kiddies should avoid family therapy
11/08/00: Rabbi v. therapist, grandparents bearing gifts, I want my son's teacher for a sister-in-law
10/24/00: Let him enlist?, 'My son the actor'? Eating with the 'help'
10/10/00:Tipsy teens, protective spouses, kosher common-sense
10/03/00: I'm not Jewish --- not that there's anything wrong with it; mezuza machlokes; when granddad has cancer
09/25/00: I can't take Rosh Hashanah! Something for nothing? My husband needs a dinner mate
09/18/00: 'My kids' Jewish education stinks', boyfriend bandit, and single mother not by choice
09/11/00: Bris brouhaha breaks my heart, LET ME SLEEP! --- and Why can't I hold a job?
09/05/00: Righteous anger, 'dissed' daughter --- and how not to make a match
08/21/00: When one spouse becomes more religious than the other; "But the cleaning lady is part of the family!"; Why He invented 9-month gestation periods
08/21/00: 'Fessing up to granny about abandoning one's people, non-kosher sis-in-law, and 'my niece is marrying a loser'
08/14/00: Marrying 'in' for questionable motivations; Should a do-gooder be reimbursed?
08/07/00: Communing with the clouds, betrothal, and banishing bosses
07/28/00: Small-city guys, self-centered siblings
07/21/00: When a child takes religion seriously, marriage obsession, and guests who just don't get it
07/14/00: Divorcing brother-in-law, uncampy kids, and a dot.comer who makes it big time
07/07/00: Hypocrites, reality checks, and the 'real estate challenged'

Up

© 2002, Wendy Belzberg