Ask Wendy

Jewish World Review May 21, 2002/ 10 Sivan 5762


Danger and duty; host of issues;
desperately seeking surgery


By Wendy Belzberg

http://www.jewishworldreview.com | I am a foreign student living in Israel. My mother calls daily begging me to come home. I fully understand her concerns for my safety, but this is where I want to be. I have already compromised my true wishes by giving up my dream to enlist in the Israeli army. At what point is it appropriate for me to remind my mother that my life is my own?

A: Well, there is that little commandment in the top ten that says, "Thou shalt honor thy mother and they father." But then, the tablets came down long before the Bile was replaced on people's nightstands by books on self-actualization, separation and co-dependence.

By staying in Israel you place yourself daily in a life-threatening situation. No mother can be expected to stand quietly by while her child's life is in danger. Particularly not a Jewish mother. By seeing you off in the first place your mother expressed her confidence in your ability to take care of yourself in a foreign country. It is her feelings about the country that have changed, not her confidence in you. If you are determined to stay where you are-and your mother is not the type to get on a plane and drag you home-offer your her frequent assurances that you are staying away from public places and exercising extreme caution. You may also want to switch from phone calls to email: when you can't hear the sound of your mother's trembling voice, you may not be as vulnerable to her pleas.

Q: My husband is the "stay-at-home mom" and I work full time as a corporate executive. I believe it is fair to expect him to prepare and host business dinners in our home. He disagrees, and this has become an explosive issue. It is part of my job to entertain clients and investors and I feel that doing so in our home is more personal. All I'm asking is for him to do his fair share.

A: Marriage is a partnership and partners theoretically complement and support one another. That said, you have already abandoned stereotypical gender roles so why not go all the way? Who is to say that it is incumbent upon any "stay-at-home mom"-male or female-to entertain for their working spouse? That responsibility may have been part of the job description back when women were bound by their apron strings, but those days are gone. And so are those roles-as you yourself have proven.

If your husband is an excellent cook and enjoys entertaining, there is no reason why he should not want to show his support by throwing a dinner party for your clients. Asking him to do so, and expecting him to do so, however, are two very different things. Don't make the same mistakes men did for generations in taking these things for granted. With a little input from you, your husband would probably be very happy to arrange for a lovely catered dinner.

And for the record, your husband is a stay at home dad.

Q: I desperately would like to have expensive cosmetic surgery done, which I cannot afford. A good friend is a doctor and trained to do this procedure. Is it fair to ask him to treat me at a greatly reduced rate?

A: Do you also plan to have your doctor friend ask his nurses and anesthesiologist to waive their payments? If the procedure is typically done in a hospital, would you be willing to go under the knife in his office instead to save costs? Finally, are you prepared to live with what you paid for? If you have answered yes to all of the above then you clearly are desperate. In which case, even though what you are asking is wrong, go ahead and ask. By the way, I hope neither you nor you husband own a dealership or a fine jewelry store-since you probably have a lot of friends who would like new cars or diamond drops.



Ask Wendy a question -- any question --- by clicking here.


03/20/02: Multiples for mom; partners and martyrs; I'm a gentile --- should I explore Judaism's spiritual side?
03/07/02: Disabled child taught family love, patience and compassion
02/15/02: Sisterhood on the line; Time to cross Ts on ex?
02/04/02: Clueless convert-in-training; loyal to a wife who walked out?
01/25/02: The new 'Jewish question'; unfaithful oldsters; gambling on our family's future
01/18/02: Should son invite mom to bar mitzvah - against dad's wishes?; pay-off time?; 'my son is blackmailing me'
01/10/02: Hard to move on; separation anxiety
01/04/02: Salvaging a sister; mother knows best?
12/27/01: Paying for somebody else's charity; Down(s) and out?
12/21/01: 'Brownie points' for the Creator; I love my husband, but not his family; open-door policy needs to be closed sometimes
12/05/01: 'I celebrate Chanukah you insensitive anti-Semite!'; idealism v. responsibility; stolen gifts
11/27/01: Doubts or reservations one may have about reaching out to friends and strangers alike who are in need: From the mail bag
11/16/01: Tripping out; tactics for tactlessness; Am I a hypocrite?
11/01/01: My co-religionists are proselytizing me; tragedy intruder?; meddling mama?
10/19/01: Outside world hits home; money and mommies
10/12/01: Vacation separation; Risk present for past?
09/20/01: Secular servants; Time to tie purse strings?; dog breath --- literally!
09/07/01: Too much Torah?; Name-dropping rabbi turns off worshippers
08/30/01: Jewish 'godparents'?; summer homework
08/02/01: Have wife, won't travel; 'dis' --- as in 'distant'
07/26/01: Grandparents not invited to bar mitzvah; what to do about older sister's foul mouth; nuptial narcissism
07/19/01: Bad mannered, uncouth ethnics; lookin' for love
07/05/01: Faithless Rabbi; my wife won't let me retire; I'm in relationship limbo
06/21/01: New customs for assimilated Jews?; the business of friendship; aunty is a bad role model
06/13/01: Our friends have become political traitors; Is it love?
06/06/01: Teaching kids about the Creator, when parents aren't observant; 'wonderful woman' 'fesses up about her broken engagement; How do I find a matchmaker for my 'beautiful daughter?'
05/31/01: Couple he fixed-up is in a nasty breakup; overwrought over ring
05/16/01: The gift was counterfeit; settling for the daughter; the lush and the ostrich
05/02/01: 'Jew questions' and falsifying faith; magic marker mayhem; I want kids
04/25/01: Anti-Semites everywhere?; shilling for gifts; my kid is the 'weakest link'
04/05/01: Celebrating when Passover is inconvenient; What's wrong with the name 'Melvyn,'?; Difference dilemma: Husbands and wives and Passover observance levels
03/19/01: 7-4=insensitivity?; baby showers and tempting fate; Splitsville before or after marriage?
03/12/01: Passover party-pooper; slapped by a moral dilemma
02/14/01: Human 'mutts,' getting over it, same-sex kesubas
02/08/01: Bar/bat mitzvah blues, homework he-l, from potty to potty-mouth
01/24/01: Naughty neighbor, unprofessional colleague is dead, I'm a Jew, now what?
01/15/01: Rabbis who won't; when the rules of the 'game' change; ungracious grannies
01/08/01: My kid hates Hebrew school; Stay single or abandon heritage?
01/02/01: A Jewish Grinch? Baby bigots and when grandparents call it quits
12/18/00: Babes in Chanukah Land; my husband the kvetch; bad hair marriage?
12/04/00: My niece is a no-goodnik, when lifecycle events become dangerous, Orthodox v. Reform education
11/28/00: My ex is ruining my kids' souls; the mouth that won't stop
11/21/00: Battling brothers; how to keep a nanny
11/08/00: OY VEY! my son wants to become Orthodox; kiddies should avoid family therapy
11/08/00: Rabbi v. therapist, grandparents bearing gifts, I want my son's teacher for a sister-in-law
10/24/00: Let him enlist?, 'My son the actor'? Eating with the 'help'
10/10/00:Tipsy teens, protective spouses, kosher common-sense
10/03/00: I'm not Jewish --- not that there's anything wrong with it; mezuza machlokes; when granddad has cancer
09/25/00: I can't take Rosh Hashanah! Something for nothing? My husband needs a dinner mate
09/18/00: 'My kids' Jewish education stinks', boyfriend bandit, and single mother not by choice
09/11/00: Bris brouhaha breaks my heart, LET ME SLEEP! --- and Why can't I hold a job?
09/05/00: Righteous anger, 'dissed' daughter --- and how not to make a match
08/21/00: When one spouse becomes more religious than the other; "But the cleaning lady is part of the family!"; Why He invented 9-month gestation periods
08/21/00: 'Fessing up to granny about abandoning one's people, non-kosher sis-in-law, and 'my niece is marrying a loser'
08/14/00: Marrying 'in' for questionable motivations; Should a do-gooder be reimbursed?
08/07/00: Communing with the clouds, betrothal, and banishing bosses
07/28/00: Small-city guys, self-centered siblings
07/21/00: When a child takes religion seriously, marriage obsession, and guests who just don't get it
07/14/00: Divorcing brother-in-law, uncampy kids, and a dot.comer who makes it big time
07/07/00: Hypocrites, reality checks, and the 'real estate challenged'

Up

© 2002, Wendy Belzberg