Jewish World Review April 21, 2004 / 30 Nissan, 5764

ScrappleFace

JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


Bush Admits Mistakes, Apologizes

http://www.jewishworldreview.com | In response to increasing pressure from White House reporters and Democrats, President George Bush today released a written statement admitting he has "made mistakes" and apologizing to the American people and the people of Iraq. Last week, during a nationally-televised presidential news conference, Mr. Bush said he was unprepared for questions about his mistakes in office. He steadfastly refused to apologize for the 9/11 terror attacks. Instead, he again advanced the now-discredited theory that terrorists, not U.S. government officials, were to blame for the terrorism. However, White House spokesman Scott McClellan said that "after much soul searching" last night, the president wrote the following confession and apology:


"I have made mistakes during my time in the White House. I frittered away months trying to convince the United Nations that it should free the Iraqi people from a brutal dictator who never fulfilled the terms of surrender from the Gulf War and who continued to fire upon Coalition aircraft patrolling the no-fly zone.


It was an error in judgment to think that the U.N. Security Council would ever do anything more than talk in moralistic platitudes. My desire to build an international coalition from nations like France and Germany only served to delay the inevitable liberation of Iraq. I apologize to the people of Iraq and others in the Arab world, yearning to breathe free, who have placed their hopes in the only superpower that has the will and the way to set them free.


This confession is good for the soul, so I would also like to admit that it was a mistake for me to keep Bill Clinton's counter-terrorism chief on my staff. I know now that Richard Clarke's presence in the White House was a knife hovering behind the shoulder blades of not only my staff, but of the American people who would later be betrayed by Mr. Clarke's desire for self-aggrandizement. I'm sorry for that.


I'd also like to admit that it was a mistake to think that I could make friends with the Democrats by pouring funding into their top political agency, the National Education Association, or by creating a huge new medicare prescription drug entitlement. I can see now that no matter how often and how much you feed an alligator, he's always looking past the food in your hand and hankering for your arm, your heart, your head. My mistake...and I'm truly sorry.


One last thing: In hindsight, it appears that I was premature in declaring an end to major combat operations in Iraq. I thought we had toppled the dictator. But as long as vermin like al-Sadr seek to glorify themselves, using false religion to oppress the people, the dictator lives on. He lives on in the hearts of the radical clerics who killed and then mutilated the bodies of Americans as surely as if their own hands were stained black from the charred flesh. I'm sorry that my statement caused some to believe that the war in Iraq had ended. It has continued for more than a decade and will not end until evil men like al-Sadr are purged and the cowl of fear is lifted from the face of the Iraqi people."

Donate to JWR

Enjoy this writer's work? Why not sign-up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




JWR contributor Scott Ott publishes the satirical website ScrappleFace.com, whose motto is "News fairly unbalanced. We report. You decipher." Comment by clicking here.

Up

03/17/04: Al Qaeda Opens First Embassy in Madrid
03/11/04: DNC demands Bush drop ‘President’ from TV ads
03/08/04: Howard Stern demands to be fired
03/05/04: Kerry Slams War Images in Kerry TV Ads
03/04/04: Kerry Rejects Hillary's Outsourced Endorsement
03/01/04: Bush Delaying Bin Laden Capture News Until His Approval Ratings ‘Really Tank’
02/26/04: Edwards Begs Bush: "Ridicule Me Too!"
02/25/04: Edwards explains patting heads of handicapped people
02/23/04: Edwards-Kerry Debate Still Needs Opponent
02/19/04: Dean to Supporters: 'You Got Punk'd'
02/11/04: Gore thunders: 'Howard Dean betrayed this country'
02/05/04: Mass. high court grants 'marriage' benefits to singles
02/03/04: CBS remains defiant
02/02/04: Satan Wins Hajj Battle Again, 244 Trampled to Death
01/29/04: Annan slams Bush for reliance on U.N. inspectors
01/22/04: Nugent, Osbourne File Class Action After Dean Scream
01/12/04: O'Neill: Bush Ruined Clinton Plan to Oust Saddam
01/09/04: Al Gore inspired lottery loser lady to come clean
01/02/04: Dean: New Year 'Ball Drop' Timed to Benefit Bush
12/23/03: Hillary Forms 2004 Presidential 'Ignoratory Committee'
12/16/03: 4th ID soldier credits Dems for Saddam find
12/12/03: Election Day Now 2 Days Thanks to 'Soft Money' Ruling
12/10/03: Time Warner Internet Phone Service to Feature Ads
12/09/03: Gore endorsement gives Dean 'Cheneyesque gravitas'
12/08/03: Kerry Reveals What Middle Initial Stands For
11/20/03: Al Qaeda Diplomat Petitions U.N. for Reform
11/19/03: Mass. court protects 'consensual commerce relations'
11/18/03: U.K. police gear up for peace protestor terror
11/13/03: Saudi Arabia Applies for al Qaeda Refund
11/10/03: Experts: Ordinary Muslims May Cause Terror Attacks
11/07/03: If Only Saddam Hussein Had Called 411
10/28/03: Michael Schiavo Slips into 'Carnivorative State'
09/30/03: Did Saddam know he wasn't an evil despot?
09/22/03: CA: 'Domestic Partners' Gain Right to Fund Attorneys
09/18/03: NEA Proposes 'Virtually No Child Left Behind' Plan
09/16/03: Reruns: bin Laden, al Jazeera ink syndication deal
09/15/03: Exiling Arafat Could Bring Violence to Mid-East
09/11/03: American history book revisions bring balance
08/29/03: CNN to Tally 'Great Society' Casualty Figures Daily
08/28/03: Congress Makes Law Establishing Religion
08/27/03: Hamas Merges with French Foreign Legion
08/26/03: U.S. to Send 22 Million Troops to Protect Iraq
07/17/03: Dem Candidates Demand Bush Share Campaign Funds
07/16/03: Gephardt, Lieberman Vie for Underdog Status
07/14/03: Bush To Personally Verify Future CIA Reports
07/11/03: PETA Defends Ball Player Who Hit Sausage
07/10/03: Islamic Jihad Chosen as 'World's Most Responsible' Group
07/02/03: CBS Pairs Rather with Donahue to Boost Ratings
07/01/03: Palestinian Terror Leaders Prepare to be 'Joint Chiefs'
06/30/03: Palestinian terror groups look forward to off-season
06/26/03: CNN Has Lots of News That It Still Can't Tell
06/25/03: More creative decisions expected from Supreme Court
06/24/03: Palestinian Bomb Explodes Early: No Virgins Await
06/23/03: Kerry to Block Court Nominees Who Had No Abortions
06/11/03: French tourism plunges after WoodyAllen ads
06/10/03: Muslim illegal immigrants demand American homeland
06/03/03: FCC: Readerless Papers May Buy Viewerless Stations
06/02/03: Sean Penn's NYTimes ad boosts Mescaline sales
05/22/03: Lieberman Proposes Govt. Agency to Cut Bureaucracy
05/21/03: Republicans Raise Money to Help Gephardt Miss Votes
05/19/03: Wal-Mart to offer more books that few people read
05/13/03: DNC Devises New Strategy to Attract Donors
05/09/03: Dems: New Filibuster Rule Unfairly Targets us
05/08/03: Drug Makers End Video Deal with News Anchors
05/06/03: Failure to Find Saddam Proves He Never Existed
05/01/03: Clinton still humbly serving his country
04/29/03: Hillary Clinton Memoir Tops Harry Potter
04/28/03: Coalition Hires British Paper to Dig for Evidence
04/22/03: NOW Defends Scott Peterson's Right to Choose
04/15/03: Shroud of CNN Missing from Baghdad Museum
04/14/03: Pelosi praises U.S. troops for defending immorality
04/11/03: Chirac Apologizes for Applauding Fall of Saddam
04/07/03: United Nations Holds 'Grand Re-Opening' Event
04/07/03:Chemical agent found at Iraqi Information Ministry
04/04/03: War Provides Terrorists Long-Awaited Motive
04/01/03: Lieberman won't promote gay marriage on Sabbath
03/31/03: Lennon joins dead celebs opposed to war
03/28/03: New War Show Lets Audience Call Shots
03/26/03: U.S. offers Iraq Russian-made equipment
03/24/03: Decapitation attack on 'peace movement' succeeds
03/20/03: Gulf War, a golf war? U.S. presses to end war before Masters Tourney
03/19/03: France proposes using metric hours for ultimatum
03/18/03: Airport screeners halt Hussein exodus
03/17/03: Encryption experts work to decipher Kaptur comment
03/14/03: U.S. to Return Statue of Liberty to France
03/13/03: CIA Leaks Again: Shhh! Don't tell bin Laden
03/12/03: "We're damaging these homes and vehicles as a form of political speech"
03/11/03: Bush caves in to Russian and French veto
03/07/03: Speechless: U.N. delegates await translation of Bush remarks
03/06/03: Moseley-Braun Drops Hyphen, Hopes for Sponsor Deal
03/05/03: Bush Admits to Belafonte's 'Possessed of Evil' Charge
03/04/03: Powell continues 'saber rattling' in Pakistan interview
03/03/03: Daschle demands release of top al Qaeda operative
02/28/03: Rather to interview prez on same terms as Saddam
02/27/03: U.S. accepts Saddam's latest proposal
02/26/03: 'Win Without War' releases new talking points
02/25/03: Blix orders Iraq to destroy 'human shields'
02/24/03: Secret U.S. Plan for Cyber-War to Feature Windows XP
02/21/03: Gephardt insists he's really running for President
02/20/03: French President changes name to 'Chiraq'
02/19/03: Chirac offers new EU members 'Freedom of Silence'
02/18/03: Meteorologist Fired for "Positive" Snow Report

© 2003, Scott Ott