Clicking on banner ads keeps JWR alive
Jewish World Review July 12, 1999 /28 Tamuz 5759

Don Feder

Don
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Tony Snow
Michael Barone
Dave Barry
Kathleen Parker
Dr. Laura
Michael Kelly
Bob Greene
Michelle Malkin
Paul Greenberg
MUGGER
David Limbaugh
David Corn
Marianne Jennings
Sam Schulman
Philip Weiss
Mort Zuckerman
Richard Chesnoff
Larry Elder
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Don Feder
Linda Chavez
Mona Charen
Thomas Sowell
Walter Williams
Ben Wattenberg

Econophone

All war criminals not indicted yet

http://www.jewishworldreview.com --
BELGRADE -- On a van from Sofia, a little girl cringed when her mother told her I was an American. "Is he going to put a bomb in our car?" she asked. In light of what my country did to her country, the question was not unreasonable.

When Jamie Shea, NATO's minister of disinformation, said the alliance bombed with precision, I can believe it. In tens of thousands of sorties, we managed to hit civilian targets with reckless abandon.

We were, Clinton insisted, degrading Milosevic's military capacity by bombing a defenseless people from an altitude of 10,000 feet. In Belgrade and Novi Sad, I began to understand the enormity of the lie.

Strolling the streets of this lovely capital at the confluence of the Danube and Sava, the evidence isn't glaring. True, there are buildings with large chunks missing. My interpreter, Ivana Vulic, and I had coffee on a terrace across from the Belgrade TV station NATO "degraded" on April 26.

The entire facade was ripped away; the interior is a mass of rubble. In this strategic strike, 17 died. The justification was that Serbian television was spreading Milosevic's "propaganda" -- i.e., had the chutzpah to object to the unilateral war on its country. (On that basis, NATO presumably could have justified bombing papers that carry this column, too.)

But elsewhere, the rubble has been cleared away. The bodies were buried; the psychological scars remain. For three months, residents hunkered down like soldiers in the trenches.

We drove to Novi Sad, the nation's second-largest city. This cosmopolitan provincial capital, with an ethnically diverse population, took the brunt of NATO's wrath.

The allies bombed the 2 million acre Fruska Gora national park, possibly to keep the animals and birds from joining the Yugoslav army.

Novi Sad's refinery was hit 13 times. The resulting fires burned 50,000 tons of crude oil, sending billowing clouds of toxins and carcinogens into the air, contaminating ground water.

Environmental scientists say it could take decades to assess the impact of this deliberate poisoning of water, soil and air. Perhaps Al Gore will include a chapter on Novi Sad, ordered up by the man he hailed as "one of our greatest presidents," in a revised edition of "Earth in the Balance."

Once there were three bridges in Novi Sad spanning the Danube and linking two sides of the city -- bringing patients to the hospital on one, carrying food to the other, and transporting workers and school children. Now there are none.

Each day, 30,000 cross by barge. What happens when the Danube freezes over in the winter? It takes two to three years to build a bridge and seconds to sever these vital arteries.

The principal of the Svetozar Markovic Elementary School points out cracks in the foundation, collapsed ceilings and ruined equipment. Without water or electricity, the school will somehow try to hold classes for its 1,400 students in the fall.

A bomb made a crater 10 meters deep in the schoolyard. There is nothing that could conceivably be considered a strategic asset in this residential neighborhood -- unless NATO was trying to get the animals fleeing the national park.

Someone had scrawled on an outer wall of the school, "Do you think of your children while you bomb ours?"

"It is the decline of Western civilization," says Aleksandar Mosic (whose name means "little Moses" in Serb), a leader of Belgrade's Jewish community. "What the Western governments did and what Western opinion conceded -- it is barbaric."

Age 80 and a retired chemical engineer, at the outset of World War II Mosic left Belgrade for the Dalmatian coast. His parents told him not to come back. They died. He spent the war fighting alongside Tito's partisans.

"To speak of ethnic cleansing of the Albanians is such stupidity," Mosic maintains. "Why weren't the 100,000 Albanians in Belgrade ethnically cleansed?" Mosic asked if I knew that the Serbs saved Jews during what he calls the "War of Annihilation," and the Yugoslav army evacuated Sarajevo's Jews during the Bosnia war.

Today, Serbs are being cleansed from Kosovo under the eyes of NATO peacekeepers. Yesterday, NATO tried to rinse them from the rest of Serbia.

Even if the allegations against Milosevic were true, did that justify the terror bombing of civilians -- many of whom opposed his policies?

And what if they weren't true, or if Kosovar Albanians and Serbs were both at fault? Then the International War Crimes Tribunal should begin making arrests in Washington and London.

JWR contributing columnist Don Feder can be reached by clicking here.


Up

7/08/99: Greece could be key to Balkans stability
7/06/99: How the 'Net ruined a marriage
7/01/99: What made our revolution different?
6/28/99: Michigan lowers the boom on swearing
6/23/99: Politicians think we're fools -- they're right
6/21/99: Gambling commission issues report, rolls dice
6/17/99: Why Right went cuckoo over Kosovo
6/14/99: America will be ultimate victim of war on Yugoslavia
6/09/99:Call a moratorium on Clinton judges
6/07/99: Public schools will muck up character education
6/03/99: Don't think, just vote
5/28/99: An American credo
5/26/99 :Do we really want peace in Yugoslavia?
5/24/99: Gay 'marriage' -- don't pass go
5/19/99: Little Bill, you had a busy week
5/17/99: Gun control, campaign-finance reform -- two liberal illusions
5/12/99: Watch Quayle go from "incredible" to quite credible
5/10/99: Conservatives excluded from academic diversity
5/05/99: Expecting the impossible of parents
5/03/99: Gore race-baits with impunity
4/29/99: Why Kosovo? Oh, just because
4/27/99: The president's pro-parent claptrap
4/22/99: McCain plays to the media
4/19/99: NATO would have favored the confederacy
4/14/99: Before we march into Kosovo
4/12/99: Taiwan more worthy of U.S. support
4/09/99: Bauer and Forbes --- Main Street vs. Wall Street
4/05/99: Bubba and Maddy lit Kosovo's fire
3/29/99: At Passover, Egypt is a state of mind
3/29/99: Could the GOP stand Pat in 2000?
3/17/99: Hollywood's party line in 1999
3/15/99: All bow, the court is in session
3/11/99: In praise of negative campaigning
3/09/99: Day-care study defies common sense
3/04/99: Starship Clinton orbits Kosovo
3/01/99: Public will blot out Broaddrick's accusation
2/25/99: Slick Hillie for Senate would be fun
2/23/99: Fascism in the name of fighting fascism
2/16/99: Was anything learned from the impeachment trial?
2/12/99: Educating the democratic voters of tomorrow
2/10/99: First Amendment doesn't apply to pro-life cause
2/08/99: Dems' triumph over Constitution complete
2/03/99: Blood of victims will drown out breakfast prayers
2/01/99: Without a home the heart knows no rest
1/29/99: Poster boy for term-limits
1/27/99: The 'so-what' defense in the City of Saints
1/25/99: Whose choice?
1/21/99: Censure worse than nothing
1/18/99: Words can`t dignify a dishonored presidency
1/13/99: Conservatism "with a heart" is conservatism without a head
1/11/99: If he isn't removed, watch out for Bill!
1/07/99: We can learn a lot from Teddy
1/05/99: Monica and a call to modesty
12/30/98: Will Bubba get away with it again?
12/28/98: Zionist dream alive and well on West Bank
12/18/98: Impeach or abandon the Rule of Law
12/16/98: Clinton moves Middle East closer to war
12/14/98: Why we lost interest in the homeless
12/10/98: No place at table for conservatives
12/07/98: The day America lost its innocence
12/02/98: Pilgrims Pilloried in streets of Plymouth
11/30/98: Caribbean dogpatch not a good candidate for statehood
11/25/98: Will Vermont force gay marriage on the nation?
11/23/98: The ACLU wants your kids to get a love life
11/18/98: Why liberals hate tobacco and guns more than drugs and crime
11/16/98: "Pleasantville" a countercultural morality play
11/13/98: Ads are a tough sell for abortion
11/09/98: Why gutless Republicans lost
11/06/98: Historians against the Constitution
11/02/98: Loving response to a hateful conference
10/28/98: Professor Death will fit right in at Princeton
10/26/98: Plymouth caves to Pilgrim foes
10/21/98: On '98 election, keep a critical eye on polls
10/19/98: Clinton could yet be 'prosperity president'
10/16/98: Working families -- Dems love 'em (stuffed)
10/09/98: Majoring in 'weirdness'
10/07/98: Friends of Billy Clinton
9/29/98: Letter from ex-soldier highlights defense peril
9/28/98: Answering arguments against impeachment
9/18/98: The nation that doesn't exist
9/14/98: Bubba isn't the only one who should be ashamed
9/11/98: Resolution of Clinton crisis will define national character
9/09/98: We're still just wild about Harry
9/07/98: Mexican banditry didn't end with Pancho Villa
9/02/98: Clinton forgives us!
8/31/98: Ashcroft's plain talking touches responsive chord
8/26/98: Public opinion be damned
8/24/98: Why liberals condone Clinton's lies
8/20/98: Time to move on -- to impeachment
8/12/98: With Bubba in the sexual privacy zone
8/10/98: The truth won't set Clinton free
8/06/98: Truth about Hiroshima is incontrovertible
8/04/98: Clinton not the first hollow president
7/30/98: "Small Soldiers" -- a fractured Vietnam allegory
7/27/98: Crime wave hits hometown
7/22/98: Love in an Internet fishbowl
7/20/98: Ads bring ex-gay movement out of closet
7/15/98: Brian and Amy -- the children of Roe
7/13/98: Why are we scared of obnoxious 'activists?'
7/6/98: Fonda still resists reality
7/1/98: New York blesses domestic partnerships
6/29/98: Teddy and Calvin stood for virtue
6/24/98: Will Clinton betray Taiwan?
6/22/98: Big tobacco? What about big casinos?
6/15/98: Religion -- God for what ails you
6/10/98: Planning Clinton's China itinery
6/8/98: Republicans' Custer offers advice
6/4/98: Oh, Dems Christian-bashers!
6/2/98: Goldwater did conservatives more harm than good
5/27/98: A Clinton-hater confesses
5/15/98: Giuliani's assault on marriage
5/13/98: Hillary knows what's best for everyone
5/11/98: To honor her would not be honorable
5/6/98: Conservative chasm: pragmatism vs. worship of marketplace
5/4/98: Anglo-saxon me
4/29/98: Needle exchange programs are assisted-suicide
4/27/98: Chretien's mission of mercy to Fidel
4/22/98: School-choice is a religious freedom issue
4/20/98: Corporate execs deliver body parts to Beijing
4/14/98: National sales tax --- looks better all the time
4/13/98: The U.N. sinister? Hey, where did that idea come from?
4/8/98: Unions fight workers rights in 226 campaign
3/30/98: Africa's leaders should apologize
3/25/98: GOP shouldn't look to media for advice
3/22/98: You should care about Clinton's 'private life'
3/19/98: Color-coded reading, product of obsessive minds
3/16/98: Amendment will end exile of G-d from our public lives
3/9/98: Havana will break your heart
3/2/98: Vouchers Terrify Teachers' Union
2/25/98: Presidential politics starts at a resort hotel
2/23/98: Hillary's support comes at a price
2/18/98: How many times must we say "no" to gay rights?
2/16/98: Enoch Powell spoke the truth on immigration
2/11/98: Bubba behaving badly
2/9/98: A conservative dissent on the flag-burning amendment
2/5/98: We get the leaders we deserve
2/2/98: Send a signal that could penetrate boardroom doors
1/27/98: State of the president: hollow rhetoric
1/25/98: For Monica's playmate, we have no one to blame but ourselves
1/22/98: At Yale, bet on yarmulke over gown
1/19/98: Commission tackles America's fastest-growing addiction, gambling
1/15/98: Capital punishment and the hard case: no exceptions for Karla Faye Tucker
1/12/98: Partial-birth abortion and the GOP's future: the "big tent" meets truth in advertising
1/8/98: IOLTA: the Left's latest scam to crawl into our pockets
1/5/98: Connect the dots to create a terrorist state
1/1/98: The Unacceptables of 1997: Long may they rave
12/28/97: Hypocrisy is a liberal survival mechanism
12/23/97: Chanukah is no laughing matter
12/22/97: No merry Christmas for persecuted Christians around the world
12/18/97: Bosnia, Haiti, and how not to conduct a foreign policy


©1999, Creators Syndicate