Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review June 26, 2000 / 23 Sivan, 5760

Bob Greene

Bob Greene
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Arianna Huffington
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
David Limbaugh
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Debbie Schlussel
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Cathy Young
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


They're not singing our song


http://www.jewishworldreview.com -- WALNUT SHADE, Mo. --- If men are such unfeeling jerks -- and for the sake of argument today, why don't we just concede that we men are -- then why are we the ones who always sing songs about our hearts breaking in two because a woman has left us?

And why are women the ones who sing the songs about being strong as a mountain lion and free as a wild stream and ready to move on?

It's true, you know; it's true now and always has been. Men -- who are supposed to be uncaring, interested only in sports and beer, happier with a one -- night stand than with a heartfelt commitment -- sing the songs that admit to anyone who will listen that their souls are crumbling and burning over the loss of a woman.

Sinatra, tough guy that he was, set the tone. Have you ever listened to his "Only the Lonely" album? If your own heart is breaking as you hear Sinatra confessing to his pain, you're best advised to have a psychiatrist sitting a few feet away. Your agony combined with Sinatra's is enough to send you out the nearest window.

And it continues today, in all forms of popular music, but especially in country music. Turn on the radio as you ride down the highway. Guys with deep, gravelly voices that sound as if they ought to come out of leather lungs are telling the world that one woman has had the power to knock them to their knees.

In a 10 -- minute span I heard a man sing about two teardops that meet on the way to the sea -- one a happy tear, from a bride on her wedding day, one a sad tear from the man (presumably the singer) she left for her new husband; I heard a man sing about laying out pictures of his now -- gone girlfriend on the floor and spending the evening looking at them and remembering, as if he is on a date with her; I heard a man sing about the anguish of seeing his beloved walk down the street hand -- in -- hand with another guy.

Meanwhile, the women of country music seem quite content to sing hit songs on a single theme, which can be boiled down to: I'm going to strap on these high -- heeled shoes and walk out of here and be happily rid of you. These songs -- sung by robust -- looking women who stride the stage with the authority of John Wayne after having shot the bad guy -- are usually belted out with the swagger and bravado of a soccer anthem, and tend to dwell on a message that can be paraphrased as: "I'm leaving, pal -- and, oh, by the way, have I mentioned that I don't like you?"

There's nothing very new about this -- the woman-as-cocky-romantic -- victor motif in music has been with us for years, hiding in plain sight. Because women's voices, at least in the old days of popular music, tended to he wispier and softer than men's, perhaps people didn't pay all that much attention to what the women were actually saying. But think about the lyrics of that not -so- long-gone era:

"My boyfriend's back and you're gonna be in trouble" "Lipstick on your collar told a tale on you" "You don't own me " Even when the woman singing the song was indicating she might be willing to stay with a guy, she was badgering him in rather harsh tones: "Johnny get angry, Johnny get mad."

What if Johnny didn't want to get angry? What if Johnny was quite happy to sit at home and have a nice, gentle conversation with the woman he loved? Not good enough for her. And meanwhile, even Elvis, who one would think could have had his pick of any woman in the world, was singing harrowing tales of seeing an old friend with the only woman Elvis cared about: "and Marie's the name, of his latest flame."

There are exceptions to every rule -- there are songs women sing that lament their own broken hearts. But more and more, it's in the context of: My heart is broken, which is why I'm going to go out and get myself a man who's handsomer than you. After which I will tell you about it. In excruciating detail.

And male singers? They're watching those two teardrops race to the sea.

What you'll hardly ever hear a woman sing about these days is being in love with a specific man with a specific name. In other words, a person. To sing a song like that would evidently be too unbelievable in today's world of men and women.

You would think the antidote might be a return to "I love him, I love him, I love him, and where he goes I'll follow, I'll follow, I'll follow."

(Not you, buddy. The new guy. You go on and enjoy your teardrop race.)



JWR contributor Bob Greene is a novelist and columnist. Send your comments to him by clicking here.

Up

06/22/00: The name game
06/07/00: It's like knocking on a revolving door
06/06/00: Steven who? A close encounter of mistaken identity
06/02/00: Of summer days, summer nights and pebbles in a jar
05/31/00: The best laughter, the truest voices, will never fade
05/25/00: Of distant visions, close views, and Bobby Knight
05/24/00: 'The luckiest thing that ever happened to me'
05/23/00: 'It's funny how you remember the little things'
05/22/00: 'The whisper of a generation saying goodbye to its children'
05/19/00: The place to find life is not a keyboard
05/18/00: A problem of suds but no duds
05/17/00: Are those lazy, hazy dot-com days fading?
05/16/00: The truest things in life require not a single word
05/15/00: 'Evidently he didn't like the way she dusted the house'
05/12/00: Why news executives are hoping this 'woman' is a hit
05/11/00: Ted Koppel, Hitler, Mellencamp . . . and words of love
05/10/00: Maybe it's time for the right people to hear our cheers
05/09/00: The lesson that they always learn late
05/05/00: 'Excuse me, but there seems to be something in my water'
05/05/00: When your first dream turns out to be your best dream
05/04/00: Even baseball couldn't make light of this superstition
05/03/00: The ringmaster who looks back from your mirror
05/02/00: There they go, just a-yappin' down the street . . .
05/01/00: You must remember this (Unless you don't)
04/24/00: Now that casino ads are allowed to tell the truth . . .
04/13/00: The man in the seat across the airplane aisle
04/11/00: A star is born, but do you know where it's @?
04/06/00: Through the eyes of Norman Rockwell
03/21/00: 10 good reasons to avoid making this list
03/21/00: 'I tell myself that they've gone on vacation'
03/21/00: Monday Night Football memories
03/02/00: This report card deserves an 'A' in every subject
02/29/00: What really happened on New Year's eve
02/23/00: Of paste pots, Denver sandwiches and finding Dr. Sam
02/17/00: What would you like to stay exactly the same?
02/04/00: Politics: When did the stagehands step onto the stage?
02/01/00: An awesome idea to make you sound better
01/26/00: Y3K already? We haven't yet recovered from Y2K
01/21/00: Watching the pot that always boils
01/19/00:The story behind the men on the museum steps
01/13/00: Here's to the students who never hear a cheer
01/11/00: The oh-so-sweet sound of modems in the morning
01/04/00: The person in your mirror just got wiser
12/31/99: A lesson -- and a memory -- to last a millennium
12/29/99: Racing the clock, even when it's running backwards
12/13/99: The right to bear coffee
12/08/99: From teen idol to ink-stained wretch: Can you Dig it?
12/02/99: Human 'search engines'
11/30/99: Here's looking at you -- now hand over the cash
11/23/99: Who'll say 'I'm sorry' to the other Decatur students?
11/18/99: "From bad things, good can come"
11/16/99: The man who didn't know the meaning of 'whatever'
11/12/99: Is this progress? We have made the weekend obsolete
11/09/99: Today he would probably be called Kyle Kramden
11/04/99: And you thought the IRS was heartless
11/02/99: When it's free, what will the real price be?
10/29/99: The tissue-thin decisions that define who we are
10/26/99: One way to cut road rage down to size
10/22/99: Asking all the right questions takes a special pitch
10/18/99: The signs are talking to you; Are you listening?
10/12/99: Even Capone would be disgusted
10/08/99: Don't ever look your neighborhood bear in the eye
10/06/99: Land of the free and marketplace of the brave
10/04/99: German warplanes in American skies
09/30/99: While you fret, something is sneaking up on you
09/28/99: In these busy times, why not bring back a certain buzz?
09/24/99: The storms whose paths no one can track
09/21/99: Who's minding the store? Oh . . . never mind
09/17/99:Here's another place where you can't smoke
09/14/99: As certainly as `lovely Rita' follows `when I'm 64' . . .
09/09/99: Why is patience no longer a virtue?
09/07/99: Once upon a time, in an airport close to you . . .
09/03/99: The answers? They are right in front of us
09/01/99: Up the creek with a paddle--and cussing up a storm
08/30/99: $1 Million Question: How'd we get to be so stup-d?
08/27/99: Fun and games at Camp Umbilical Cord
08/25/99: How life has been changed by the woodpecker effect
08/23/99: If you don't like this story, blame the robot who wrote it
08/20/99: A four-letter word that has helped both Bob and Rhonda
08/18/99: They have picked the wrong country
08/16/99: From paperboy to stalker--how the news has changed
08/12/99: Why wasn't anyone watching his brothers?
08/10/99: Come to think of it, stars seldom are the retiring type
08/05/99: The national gaper's block is always jammed
07/29/99: 'Can you imagine the gift you gave me?'
07/27/99: A view to a kill -- but is this really necessary?
07/23/99: Some cream and sugar with your turbulence?
07/21/99: When your name is JFK jr., how do you choose to use it?
07/19/99: The real world is declared not real enough
07/15/99: The real victims of cruel and unusual punishment
07/13/99: A 21st Century idea for schools: log off and learn
07/09/99: Are life's sweetest mysteries still around the bend?
07/07/99: Of great minds, cream cheese and Freddy Cannon
07/02/99: The perfect spokesman for the American way
06/30/99: 'He's 9 years old . . . he trusts people'
06/28/99: A $581 million jackpot in the courthouse casino
06/25/99: A nighttime walk to a House that feels like a cage
06/23/99: At least give men credit for being more morose
06/18/99: On Father's Day, a few words about mothers
06/16/99: If work is a dance, how's your partner doing?
06/14/99: Should a dictionary ever tell you to keep quiet?
06/10/99: A story of Sex, the SuperBowl and your wife
06/07/99: Take a guess where "California Sun" is from
06/03/99: Of summer days, summer nights and pebbles in a jar
06/01/99: Putting your money where their mouths are
05/27/99: Pressed between wooden covers, the summer of her life
05/25/99:The lingering song of a certain summer
05/24/99:We could all use a return to the Buddy system
05/20/99: Now, this is enough to make James Bond double-0 depressed 05/17/99: It's midnight -- do you know where your parents are?
05/13/99: And now even saying "thank you" creates a problem
05/11/99: The answer was standing at the front door

©1999, Tribune Media Services