Jewish World Review Sept. 16, 2003 / 19 Elul, 5763

Dan Abrams

Abrams
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


al Qaeda has finally found a media home


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | Al Jazeera repeatedly played a propaganda tape apparently made by one of the 9/11 killers months before the attacks. It talks about forcing all the infidels to convert to Islam, other threatening nonsense. Last week a different tape of bin Laden mysteriously ended up on Al-Jazeera.

al Qaeda has clearly found a media home at Al-Jazeera. Any time they want to put out propaganda, threats, video, they know they can safely turn to their boys at Al-J. No questions asked, no moral judgments made. Now, Jazeera tries to compare themselves to Western media operations calling themselves "independent, unbiased and unafraid," they say, to criticize American policy. The problem? It is biased to suggest the U.S. and al Qaeda are two equal warring parties. Al Qaeda is a self-admitted criminal enterprise. They proudly sponsor murder and mayhem.

They're nothing more than a ragtag group with few goals beyond destroying the world as we know it. By refusing to treat them as such, by suggesting they're just one side of an issue, Al-Jazeera is falsely portraying al Qaeda as some sort of legitimate organization. It would be akin to a U.S. media organization regularly providing airtime to supporters of Oklahoma City bomber Timothy McVeigh and saying "Well you know, they have one view of killing innocents, but others view it differently." I must say I wasn't surprised when an Al-Jazeera reporter was charged this week in Spain accused of being a member of al Qaeda.

Al-Jazeera has claimed the prosecution is politically motivated. I wonder whether the reporter's job with Al-Jazeera was politically motivated, whether his job simply facilitated his ability to help the terror effort. Al-Jazeera claims this sort of arrest threatens the free press everywhere. I would say at least as dangerous to a free press would be a terrorist hiding behind the cloak of journalism. If people fear that journalists may not be what they seem, that puts all of us at grave risk. I hope that Al-Jazeera will finally recognize that terror is not just a political point of view, but I won't hold my breath.

Donate to JWR

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




JWR contributor Dan Abrams anchors “The Abrams Report,” Monday through Friday from 9-10 p.m. ET on MSNBC TV. He also covers legal stories for “NBC Nightly News with Tom Brokaw,” “Today” and “Dateline NBC.” To visit his website, click here. Comment by clicking here.

Up

09/15/03: Journalists who exposed security threat, now being punished?
08/14/03: The California ‘student council blue light special’ election
08/13/03: Why the Transportation Security Administration needs to start getting it's priorities straight
08/12/03: Let local U.S. attorneys do their jobs
08/07/03: Why itís time to release the documents surrounding Kobe Bryantís arrest
08/06/03: Terror warnings do serve a purpose
08/03/03: How even the most pro-Saudi polls still make many of the Saudi people seem like enemies of America
08/01/03: Why is the outgoing president of one of the most influential legal organizations advising attorneys not to represent certain clients?
07/31/03: Class action lawyers get huge fees while their clients get squat
07/30/03: Why it makes no sense to keep the public and the victims in the dark about a key section of the 9/11 report from Congress
03/27/03: Homeland Security update
03/20/03: Did I misunderstand the French?
03/18/03: No longer shielded from reality
03/17/03: Franco-phobic nonsense sweeping the nation
03/14/03: An exception to my "be extra tough on terrorists" rule
03/13/03: Whiner Assad still doesn't get it
03/11/03: What a new deadline for Iraq should really mean
03/10/03: The dishonest arguments against war with Iraq
03/07/03: On Iraq, the administration seems undeterred. It seems, there is no other way out
03/05/03: The so-called human shields in Iraq, now coming back from Fantasyland
03/04/03: Michigan backing off of mandatory minimum sentences for certain drug crimes
03/03/03: Why military tribunals could be the best optione of defining them as military
02/28/03: Is prez signaling a return to the American Bar Association ratings for prospective judicial candidates?
02/26/03: And now the "don't-blame-me" attitude is extending to mass deaths
02/10/03: Avoid politicizing the shuttle disaster
01/29/03: A litany of violations? That Saddam has not disarmed is already a given
01/23/03: Why the feds should not give up on the prosecution of alleged 20th hijacker in a federal court
01/22/03: What was Powell thinking?
01/21/03: Human rights groups still don't get it when it comes to the new war on terror
01/16/03: Yet another reason why we shouldn't trust the Saudis
01/13/03: Why the administration should share intelligence with U.N. inspectors
01/10/03: From a special punishment to a garden variety one
01/08/03: Should victims of a terror attack sue the city?
01/06/03: The "Jackpot Jury" syndrome continues
12/30/02: It's the holidays, let me order my wine!
12/20/02: The judge who dropped the ball in the battle over who owns Barry Bonds' 73rd home run ball, valued at nearly $2 million
12/19/02: Requiring Pakistani and Saudi male visitors to register with the INS
12/18/02: Why many seem to misunderstand Iraq's international obligations
12/17/02: Shouldn't there be a standard for what would trigger a war with Iraq?
12/13/02: Judge Rose by what he did on the field
12/12/02: Manhattan prosecutors making a mistake in the Central Park jogger case
12/11/02: Why our government refuses to fully cooperate in the prosecution of a possible 9/11 conspirator
12/10/02: Hezbollah, not a terrorist organization, says Canada
12/09/02: The world's cynical view of America
12/04/02: Why we need to stop electing judges
11/27/02: Why men should be able to sue women who lie about who's the daddy
11/26/02: Training lawyers to be touchy-feely
11/25/02: The story of a real American hero
11/22/02: In Illinois, academics lawyers, judges hurting their pro-life cause
11/15/02: A close reading of Iraq's letter of acceptance makes it clear that Saddam will almost certainly refuse to live up to its terms
11/14/02: Al Jazeera: A state-sponsored mouth-piece
11/13/02: Should Moussaoui be sent to a military tribunal?
11/12/02: Should human rights activists complain about the detainees' treatment?

© 2002, MSNBC