Jewish World Review May 19, 2004 /28 Iyar, 5764

Edward I. Koch

Koch
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


We should not be pleading with the U.N. for help — we should be demanding it


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | On March 17, 2003, the United States issued an ultimatum to Saddam Hussein stating that if war was to be avoided, he and his sons, Uday and Qusay, must leave Iraq.


When the CIA learned that Saddam Hussein and his sons were in a hotel two days before the expiration of the ultimatum, the US aimed "smart bombs" at the site but failed to kill or wound any of them. In the war that followed, a relatively small contingent of U.S., British and other coalition forces advanced against Iraqi units and won a rapid victory on the battlefield. On May 1, 2003, on the USS Abraham Lincoln, President George W. Bush declared that "Major combat operations in Iraq have ended." He did not say the struggle was over.


Then followed a nightmare for the forces. Instead of being universally welcomed, coalition forces were faced with attacks by some adherents of the Shia Muslim faith, who had been oppressed by Saddam Hussein. They also faced guerrilla action in the south and major attacks involving suicide bombers, missiles and mines in the north in what became known as the Sunni Triangle. Since the end of major combat operations, the U.S. armed forces have suffered 637 deaths, 456 of which were combat-related and 3,786 casualties.


At the beginning of the liberation, there was an enormous amount of looting of Iraqi state facilities, e.g., museums and state offices, which is not surprising when you consider that prior to the coalition attack, Saddam Hussein emptied his prisons, turning loose more than 100,000 criminals, many of them violent felons. Consider the chaos that would be created in the streets of America if the U.S. emptied its prisons.


Probably the single greatest mistake made by the U.S. administrator in Iraq, Paul Bremer, was his decision to discharge the entire Iraqi army. Bremer was understandably concerned about joining forces with this army, which had been used as an instrument of violence and oppression against the Iraqi people. However, his decision left a power vacuum on the streets of Iraq.


Military support from the United Nations has not been forthcoming. Spain, a major coalition partner, having suffered a terrorist bombing by al-Qaeda in Madrid causing 191 deaths and an estimated 1800 casualties, has withdrawn its forces from Iraq.

Donate to JWR


Adding to the woes of the U.S. is the discovery of the prisoner abuses at Abu Ghraib, the prison operated by the U.S. Army in Baghdad. There is no doubt that U.S. military personnel violated the Geneva Convention to the shame of all Americans, placing the security of American and coalition military forces in even greater danger. The only question is how far up the chain of command, direct and indirect, responsibility will fall.


In a major effort to improve the situation, the coalition forces announced they would be turning over civil authority to a new Iraqi administration on June 30, 2004. National elections are scheduled for next year, 2005.


Virtually everyone in and out of government has an opinion on what should now be done in Iraq. The U.S. policy has been informally expressed by Secretary of State Colin Powell as reported in The New York Times on May 15, "Were this interim government to say to us 'We really think we can handle this on our own, it would be better if you were to leave,' we would leave."


I believe it would be a major mistake to remove the coalition forces from Iraq. The danger is great that Iraq will descend into anarchy and civil war with al-Qaeda and other terrorist groups filling the power vacuum. Instability in Iraq would also pose a grave threat to Iraq's neighbors, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Turkey and Russia. They have far more at stake than we do. Iraq is no longer a worldwide threat. It is a threat to its regional neighbors.


We should not be pleading with the U.N. for help. We should be demanding it. We should explicitly state that unless all nations, especially Muslim nations, participate in policing Iraq and sharing the casualties and deaths that will ensue, we will depart within 90 days taking all coalition personnel with us, except for military detachments to be offered to the Kurds in the north to protect them from hostile Iraqis or Turks. The Kurds have supported us and we should protect them. In addition, we should remove our remaining troops - not stop with the 4,000 recently ordered withdrawn - from South Korea and remove all troops from Germany and relocate them to the Persian Gulf, to the U.S., or to the new NATO nations in Eastern Europe that are now part of the European Union.


In my judgment, the adversity which we are suffering is not fatal to our efforts in Iraq. Wars have ups and downs. At the end of 1942 there was little reason to think that Hitler could be defeated. But I now think it's time to turn on those who have sat on the sidelines and watched our agony in Iraq with so much delight. There isn't space in this column to speculate on what caused our former allies in NATO and others to take their positions, but we do know that many leaders and others in those nations were bribed by Saddam Hussein with billions from the U.N.'s so-called "oil for food" program. Kofi Anan's son, according to press reports, is implicated in that scandal. Our Secretary of State Colin Powell has far more strength in his arsenal than he or others think.


I continue to support President George W. Bush and the Bush Doctrine of victory in the war against international terrorism.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Saturday from 9-10 am. Comment by clicking here.

05/12/04: Abu Ghraib will go away but Rummy — and Bush — shouldn't
04/20/04: Freedom of what?
03/03/04: Wake-up call: Prez will be defeated if he doesn't take action to stop other dangerous attack
03/12/04: Yes, Jews do engage in anti-Semitic behavior
02/04/04: History will judge Bush favorably
01/28/04: Why the President was justified — David Kay or not
01/15/04: It is not compassionate or intelligent to open our borders to all
12/24/03: Why I'm voting for Bush
11/26/03: Appeasement only whets the appetite of aggressors
11/06/03: Putin's prosecution of the oligarchs can teach a powerful lesson about anti-Semitism
07/30/03: As the world churns
07/23/03: America not so different than Russia in pursuing white collar criminals
07/16/03: Dems, media are making an unforgivable mistake
06/18/03: Keep American troops out of Israel
05/22/03: It's lots of fun to remain relevant
05/14/03: Living up to their mascot's image? Dems attacks on prez are backfiring
05/07/03: Wall Street settlement was not justice
04/16/03: The doves were proven wrong. Instead of conceding defeat, they are throwing another political tantrum
04/09/03: As the world churns
04/03/03: Gulf War II: The misleading media does it again
03/18/03: Have the courage to admit it, Pat: You're a classic anti-Semite who gives conservatives a bad name
03/12/03: "There they go again"? Not quite!
03/05/03: Making the case for war on British TV left some panelists stunned
02/20/03: Death penalty=racism? Don't confuse them with the facts
02/12/03: History is now repeating itself --- why don't the American bashers grasp it?
02/05/03: As the world turns
01/30/03: Why are sports exempt from racial diversity and universities encouraged to engage in racial preferences over individual academic achievement?
01/23/03: We absolutely can't back down
11/13/02: President blunted the Ted Kennedys of Democrat party --- good for him!
10/23/02: New Jersey's bigot laureate is no private citizen and his 'defenses' are idiotic
10/01/02: Congress is not doing its job
09/26/02: Confronting pathetic Americans in a post 9-11 world
09/19/02: Don't be fooled by Saddam
09/05/02: Necessary or not, getting congressional approval for war is common-sense
08/28/02: In defense of terrorism
08/22/02: Saddam Hussein is extremely popular in "Arab street," so why attack him?
08/15/02: My potpourri
08/09/02: Traitors: Journalistic and 'patriotic'
07/31/02: Euros should spend their time analyzing their own country's wartime actions
07/25/02: I may know next to nothing about the stock market, but I'm not getting out
07/18/02: Dems should stop trying to 'Whitewater' the President
07/11/02: Real Americans and the Islamic threat

© 2002, Edward I. Koch