Jewish World Review July 23, 2003 / 23 Tamuz, 5763

Edward I. Koch

Koch
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


America not so different than Russia in pursuing white collar criminals


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | Last February, I read a New York Times article on the so-called Russian oligarchs, a number of whom are now the subject of criminal investigation in Russia for having fraudulently obtained billions of dollars in state-owned properties for next to nothing.

The Times reported, "In Russia the small group centered on people like Vladimir Potanin, Mikhail Khodorkovsky and Mr. [Boris] Berezovsky who, through a complicated mechanism that would have been labeled an outright scam in the West, gained control of vast slabs of the former Soviet state's minerals and oil through arranged auctions and loans worth only a fraction of the companies being acquired."

I immediately wrote to Russian President Vladimir Putin asking, "Wouldn't it make sense for a special prosecutor to examine all of the purchases made by so-called oligarchs when the Soviet Union collapsed and Russia accepted the market economy and began the disposition of assets heretofore belonging to the state? If, as The Times states, the auctions and loans are perceived as outright scams by experts in the West, why should the Russian people be permanently deprived of those assets and the income derived from them? I think you would be applauded worldwide if you were to have the matter adjudicated fairly before a court of competent jurisdiction."

Five months later, in The Times of July 18, 2003, Russian Prime Minister Mikhail M. Kasyanov is reported to have stated that Russia would not review the origins of the fortunes made in its much-questioned privatization program. He said, "The results of the previous years' privatizations are unshakable."

Donate to JWR

Former Russian President Boris Yeltsin had protected these oligarch thieves. Under his successor, Vladimir Putin, there have been on-going investigations into the affairs of some of them. The Times reported, "ůmuch of Russia's current economic revival was born of its corrupt privatization program of the mid-1990s, and the government could accuse any number of businessmen of past violations and probably even be right."

The reason given by the leader of a right-wing party in the Russian Parliament for not proceeding with the investigation was, "If we start to dig into this, it will lead to capital flight, emigration and destruction."

President Putin should continue with the investigations and, where the facts warrant, put all of those oligarchs and the government officials who participated in any fraud on trial to recover the properties and profits stolen from the Russian people.

The situation, regrettably, is not so different in the United States. Not long ago, New York State Attorney General Eliot Spitzer entered into a civil settlement with a number of Wall Street analysts and ten of the largest securities firms in the nation. The settlement required an aggregate payment of $1.4 billion to "settle government charges involving the abuse of investors during the stock-market bubble of the late 1990s."

Not one among those with whom the Attorney General settled was pursued criminally. The New York Times, citing anonymous "financial experts," has reported there have been "$7 trillion in stock market losses since the broad averages peaked in March 2000." The settling parties contributed to much of those losses. Other major commercial firms and their corrupt officers and directors also bear a share of responsibility for, among other things, using criminally fraudulent accounting practices. However, to date, they also have not been subject to criminal charges.

The losses to stockholders and their pension funds and losses in jobs and to employee pension funds are staggering. I thought and publicly stated at the time that the settlement entered into by New York State's Attorney General was too lenient. In response, Mr. Spitzer said that his civil disposition and settlement did not foreclose criminal proceedings from being brought by federal law enforcement authorities against anyone included in his civil settlement.

Criminal actions should be brought. Not to do so lends credence to the widely-held view that if you steal a little, you go to jail; if you steal a lot, you don't. In this instance, the extent of the theft was monumental, with The Times noting, "the regulators found fault with every major [investment] bank on Wall Street."

I believe if you really want to get the economy going and restore confidence in government so that the vast numbers of Americans come to believe once again that our government is committed to equal justice for all, it is necessary to bring the weight of the criminal justice system to bear on those who engaged in the grossly dishonest acts that wreaked such devastation on the American public.

Whether in Russia or America, white collar criminals at all levels must be pursued with the same intensity with which we pursue those who commit physical violence. To do otherwise is to invite continuing cynicism on the part of the American public towards our government.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Saturday from 9-10 am. Comment by clicking here.

07/16/03: Dems, media are making an unforgivable mistake
06/18/03: Keep American troops out of Israel
05/22/03: It's lots of fun to remain relevant
05/14/03: Living up to their mascot's image? Dems attacks on prez are backfiring
05/07/03: Wall Street settlement was not justice
04/16/03: The doves were proven wrong. Instead of conceding defeat, they are throwing another political tantrum
04/09/03: As the world churns
04/03/03: Gulf War II: The misleading media does it again
03/18/03: Have the courage to admit it, Pat: You're a classic anti-Semite who gives conservatives a bad name
03/12/03: "There they go again"? Not quite!
03/05/03: Making the case for war on British TV left some panelists stunned
02/20/03: Death penalty=racism? Don't confuse them with the facts
02/12/03: History is now repeating itself --- why don't the American bashers grasp it?
02/05/03: As the world turns
01/30/03: Why are sports exempt from racial diversity and universities encouraged to engage in racial preferences over individual academic achievement?
01/23/03: We absolutely can't back down
11/13/02: President blunted the Ted Kennedys of Democrat party --- good for him!
10/23/02: New Jersey's bigot laureate is no private citizen and his 'defenses' are idiotic
10/01/02: Congress is not doing its job
09/26/02: Confronting pathetic Americans in a post 9-11 world
09/19/02: Don't be fooled by Saddam
09/05/02: Necessary or not, getting congressional approval for war is common-sense
08/28/02: In defense of terrorism
08/22/02: Saddam Hussein is extremely popular in "Arab street," so why attack him?
08/15/02: My potpourri
08/09/02: Traitors: Journalistic and 'patriotic'
07/31/02: Euros should spend their time analyzing their own country's wartime actions
07/25/02: I may know next to nothing about the stock market, but I'm not getting out
07/18/02: Dems should stop trying to 'Whitewater' the President
07/11/02: Real Americans and the Islamic threat

© 2002, Edward I. Koch