Jewish World Review May 20, 2003 / 18 Iyar, 5763

Leonard Pitts, Jr.

Leonard Pitts, Jr.
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
David Limbaugh
Michelle Malkin
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports

Two words not spoken often enough among blacks: I do

http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, I was a music critic.

In fact, I spent 18 years reviewing and interviewing everybody from Gladys Knight and Dolly Parton to Paul Simon and Stevie Wonder. I left the beat (no pun intended) almost 10 years ago, driven by the realization that music had become defined by attitudinal young men cursing into the microphone and exceedingly fit young women whose only recognizable "talent" resided inside their bra cups.

My radio is usually tuned to the news station these days, so it was pure happenstance that I came across a singer named Kelly Price last week. She was singing something called "He Proposed" and it stopped me, for reasons that were not at all musical.

I mean, if I were to bring to bear the standards of my prior profession, I'd say Price has a nice, though not terribly distinctive voice, and a slight tendency to over sing. She's not somebody I'd ordinarily rush out to buy.

The fact that I did rush out to buy it had less to do with the singer than the song. In it, Price weaves a rapturous tale of how her man took her to "a special place," and told her to close her eyes. "When I opened them up," she sings, "he was on one knee reaching for my hand. That's when he proposed to me."

What struck me then and strikes me now is what a fantasy that image has become. Particularly in the black community. Black people are, to put it plainly, not marrying like they used to. That's probably due in part to the same changes in social and sexual mores that have swept the nation as a whole over the last 40 years. Probably also due to the tragically high rates of incarceration that have shrunk the pool of marriageable black men.

Whatever the cause, the effect is clear in Census Bureau figures tracking the decline of black marriage. Indeed, according to a report issued just last month, blacks are significantly less likely than their white non-Hispanic counterparts to be currently married (57 percent versus 35 percent) and are similarly less likely (43 percent to 25 percent) to have EVER been married. Forty-three percent of black families are headed by single women, 48 percent by married couples. By comparison, 13 percent of white families are headed by women, 82 percent by married couples.

And at this juncture, I know someone out there is screaming for me to acknowledge that the lack of a marriage license does not always equal the lack of familial stability and that one can be whole without being hitched. Consider these things acknowledged.

But the point here is that blacks' reluctance to embrace marriage is symptomatic of a larger dislocation in the black family. That dislocation is seen in the aforementioned crisis of incarceration -- one in three young black men in prison, on parole or on probation. Seen in the almost 60 percent of black single mothers left to subsist on under $25,000 a year. Seen in the fact that the majority of black children are born out of wedlock and raised separately from their fathers. Seen in the pain of high-income black professional women who cannot find black men of similar achievement with whom to share their lives.

And it is seen, too, in an Essence magazine cover that once wounded me and now haunts me. "Manless," it said. Manless.

It would be foolish to suggest that everything that ails black folk can be found at the marriage altar. But it would be equally foolish, I think, to underestimate the family and community stability that might be created, the financial burdens that might be eased, the children who might be saved, if more of us were willing to take a shot on forever.

Until we find that willingness, it will be difficult to listen to "He Proposed" without hearing something unintentionally wistful in its words. The picture the songwriter paints seems less a reality than a mirage.

And also, a painful reminder. The woman in the song is getting married, after all. Many black women never will.

Enjoy this writer's work? Why not sign-up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Leonard Pitts, Jr.'s column by clicking here.

05/07/03: Spambusters should start with the Africans
04/29/03: The man behind Motown's moves
04/22/03: OH, MOHAMMED, YOU ARE THE BEST!
04/21/03: In war - any war - there are going to be Alis
04/11/03: Amid the ruins, a blessing
04/08/03: Truth during war seen through prism
03/25/03: Perspective on life and freedom
03/18/03: 'Sacre Bleu!' Let Freedom Ring
03/14/03: Yes, Virginia, there is a way to determine the truth
03/11/03: A statement that fits to a 'T'
03/07/03: Driven to madness
03/04/03: Not an appreciation of Mr. Rogers
02/28/03: When TV picks at rural poor, viewers are left with even less
02/14/03: We've been through anxious times like these before
02/11/03: Virtual community failed "Ripper' is no surprise
02/07/03: 'The One' for the 'Get-Yours' generation
02/04/03: Depressing news from TV nation
01/31/03: Let's hear it for women with meat on their bones
01/21/03: Illinois governor may have saved us from ourselves
01/14/03: We must pay close attention as corners are cut and rights abridged in our names
01/10/03: This mother wouldn't let us ignore grisly ugliness of racism
12/17/02: Michael Jackson's disappearing act
12/06/02: After affirmative action, what next?
12/03/02: We deserve a break today from McDonald's lawsuits
11/19/02: On question of Megan's Law, information trumps other concerns
11/12/02: Winona, just say, 'I'm sorry'
11/08/02: Your local police, brought to you by Joe's Bar and Grill
11/05/02: A father, a son and an essay
10/29/02: Things like this don't happen
10/22/02: Real monsters look just like women and men
10/18/02: Snoop's new tune rings hollow
10/15/02: A reminder of life's random cruelty
10/08/02: He toils in the name of change because he can't just stand by
10/01/02: Sharpton, crossing swords with the white corporate dragon, needs to learn what the civil rights movement really was about
09/25/02: A skewed sense of compassion
09/18/02: On death and a pop-culture mindset
09/10/02: Inconvenience me, PLEASE!
09/06/02: Latest CBS joke isn't funny
09/03/02: A rewarding life as a working stiff
08/30/02: We infants in men's clothing
08/27/02: Sept. 11 - How much is too much?
08/23/02: Cut it out already, media!
08/20/02: Brace yourself for attacks of the stealth ads
08/16/02: Russia, please, pretty please let the rocker hitch a ride into space
08/12/02: Racial 'colorblindness' is silly
07/30/02: Oh, to be famous
07/19/02: In Pop-Music Thriller, Jacko Takes on Sony
07/09/02: The password is 'frustration'
06/25/02: My Head And Heart Are At Odds - I Can't Watch Video Of Pearl's Beheading
06/21/02: Your kid's going to pay for cheating --- eventually
06/18/02: Stuffy 'correctness' robs races of give and take
06/07/02: A gift of the Masai
06/04/02: Now what? Use your 9/11 pain to combat complacency
05/24/02: Has your life changed since 9/11?
05/19/02: New world disorder is nothing to smile about
05/14/02: White men can jump, so why do black kids come up short in the classroom?
05/03/02: Catholic Church should be ashamed for blaming abuse victims
04/19/02: A reminder of how small the world has become
04/16/02: 100 death-penalty mistakes and counting
04/12/02: Until all the bad guys wear black hats
04/10/02: Connecting with history with hope for future
04/08/02: Just me and the boys: A black father's road trip
03/26/02: It's time to give up fighting the good fight and join the masses
03/22/02: It's not the art, it's the artist who's troubling
03/19/02: Don't ask, don't tell when it comes to police work
03/15/02: Do we have an inalienable right to TV?
03/12/02: What will we learn about ourselves as war toll grows?
03/08/02: Marriage madness --- oh, please!
03/05/02: A risk free life
03/01/02: Pentagon's idea of lying to media was breathtaking' in its stupidity
02/16/02: Will the Afghans forgive the U.S. for the beating of innocents?
02/15/02: In search of manhood, some make a fatal decision
02/08/02: Time for blacks to give the same respect they demand
02/05/02: A question of character and "unlawful combatants"
01/31/02: There's only so much a parent can influence a child
01/29/02: Mike Tyson is incapable of embarrassment
01/25/02: Acts of patriotism or acts of desecration?
01/18/02: Waiting for tears in the rain at Ground Zero
01/15/02: A little cultural respect works both ways
01/11/02: Can blacks be racist?
01/07/02: What price for the priceless?
12/21/01: An intriguing study on race
12/18/01: To err is me
12/14/01: Admit it, folks, If you've ever been 16, you can probably relate to Walker
12/11/01: Blacks-on-blacks poll is a healthy project
12/07/01: The best defense against government excesses
12/05/01: Better hoist caution flag
12/03/01: Martin Luther Ka-CHING!
11/27/01: Beauty reflects an ugly truth
11/22/01: Another reason to be thankful
11/19/01: If only they knew our names
11/12/01: Watching a 'dying' man live
08/01/01: Should a man be put in jail for what he's thinking?
07/27/01: It's your responsibility to invade their privacy
07/20/01: Is optimism for fools?
07/17/01: Everybody should have a white man

© 2002, The Miami Herald