Jewish World Review May 7, 2003 / 5 Iyar, 5763

Leonard Pitts, Jr.

Leonard Pitts, Jr.
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
David Limbaugh
Michelle Malkin
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports

Spambusters should start with the Africans

http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | I am sick and tired of the Africans.

Sicker and more tired than I am of people trying to sell me home loans, ink cartridges and easy money-making opportunities. Sicker and more tired than I am of receiving newsletters I never requested from groups I care nothing about. Sicker and more tired than I am of offers to enhance certain highly personal body parts. Not to mention helpful pictorials illustrating the use of those body parts.

All that e-mail is annoying, but I place the Africans in a special category of aggravation usually reserved for cockroaches and telemarketers.

Because they won't take "Die, scum" for an answer. They will not go away. To the contrary, they have come after me with the same scam several times a week for what must be two years now.

The particulars change some, but the gist of the spiel never does. A high official of some African nation - Congo, Nigeria, South Africa - is supposedly in desperate need of an honest intermediary to assist in the discreet transfer of some obscene amount of money and he's heard that little old me might fit the bill. For my troubles, I am promised a generous share of the proceeds. All they need is my bank account number.

Yeah, that's going to happen.

But then, maybe you think I'm unduly suspicious. After all, if you can't trust strangers who contact you of the blue to offer you the moon on a pie plate in exchange for sensitive personal information, well ... who can you trust?

Cool, then. Give them YOUR bank account number. After all, if you check your e-mail, chances are good you'll find that the Africans are offering you the same opportunity.

Indeed, unsolicited commercial e-mail, otherwise called spam, otherwise called the kind of words most of us don't like our children to catch us using, has become downright inescapable in the last couple of years. According to the most conservative estimates, it now constitutes 40 percent of all e-mail, the overwhelming majority as fraudulent as that sent by the alleged Africans. One newspaper reports that the percentage is projected to top 50 percent as early as this summer.

The stuff is growing like kudzu at a prodigious cost in money, time and productivity. Thankfully, people have begun to notice. Recent days have seen a flurry of activity aimed at getting spam under control.

The state of Virginia just enacted what is said to be the nation's toughest anti-spam law. A number of other states and Congress itself are pondering similar statutes. Last week, the Federal Trade Commission held a three-day symposium on spam. America Online has filed suit against several spammers and teamed with rival Internet providers Microsoft and Yahoo to combat the glut.

The bureaucrats, lawmakers and Internet providers have recognized the plainly obvious - that what's at stake is nothing less than the viability of e-mail itself, its continuing value as a tool of communication and legitimate commerce. An innovation that once seemed to make life a little easier is rapidly becoming one of life's bigger annoyances. How long before people begin to decide it's not worth the hassle?

The problem, of course, is finding a solution that works. Spam filtering devices are partially effective at best. And as for harsher measures: how do you fine them if you can't find them? How do you throw the book at them if you don't know where they are? Junk e-mail, like the Internet itself, is such an amorphous entity that regulating it is not unlike herding cats or grabbing Jell-O in your fist.

So chances are, we're going to have to wait awhile for the technology to catch up with the problem. Fine, but whatever solution surfaces better be one that satisfies. I'm thinking of a button you could push that traces spam back to the computer it came from and causes it to explode in a big orange fireball. Or to melt into a smoking black puddle.

Hey, I'm not picky. Just so long as we get the Africans first.

Enjoy this writer's work? Why not sign-up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Leonard Pitts, Jr.'s column by clicking here.

04/29/03: The man behind Motown's moves
04/22/03: OH, MOHAMMED, YOU ARE THE BEST!
04/21/03: In war - any war - there are going to be Alis
04/11/03: Amid the ruins, a blessing
04/08/03: Truth during war seen through prism
03/25/03: Perspective on life and freedom
03/18/03: 'Sacre Bleu!' Let Freedom Ring
03/14/03: Yes, Virginia, there is a way to determine the truth
03/11/03: A statement that fits to a 'T'
03/07/03: Driven to madness
03/04/03: Not an appreciation of Mr. Rogers
02/28/03: When TV picks at rural poor, viewers are left with even less
02/14/03: We've been through anxious times like these before
02/11/03: Virtual community failed "Ripper' is no surprise
02/07/03: 'The One' for the 'Get-Yours' generation
02/04/03: Depressing news from TV nation
01/31/03: Let's hear it for women with meat on their bones
01/21/03: Illinois governor may have saved us from ourselves
01/14/03: We must pay close attention as corners are cut and rights abridged in our names
01/10/03: This mother wouldn't let us ignore grisly ugliness of racism
12/17/02: Michael Jackson's disappearing act
12/06/02: After affirmative action, what next?
12/03/02: We deserve a break today from McDonald's lawsuits
11/19/02: On question of Megan's Law, information trumps other concerns
11/12/02: Winona, just say, 'I'm sorry'
11/08/02: Your local police, brought to you by Joe's Bar and Grill
11/05/02: A father, a son and an essay
10/29/02: Things like this don't happen
10/22/02: Real monsters look just like women and men
10/18/02: Snoop's new tune rings hollow
10/15/02: A reminder of life's random cruelty
10/08/02: He toils in the name of change because he can't just stand by
10/01/02: Sharpton, crossing swords with the white corporate dragon, needs to learn what the civil rights movement really was about
09/25/02: A skewed sense of compassion
09/18/02: On death and a pop-culture mindset
09/10/02: Inconvenience me, PLEASE!
09/06/02: Latest CBS joke isn't funny
09/03/02: A rewarding life as a working stiff
08/30/02: We infants in men's clothing
08/27/02: Sept. 11 - How much is too much?
08/23/02: Cut it out already, media!
08/20/02: Brace yourself for attacks of the stealth ads
08/16/02: Russia, please, pretty please let the rocker hitch a ride into space
08/12/02: Racial 'colorblindness' is silly
07/30/02: Oh, to be famous
07/19/02: In Pop-Music Thriller, Jacko Takes on Sony
07/09/02: The password is 'frustration'
06/25/02: My Head And Heart Are At Odds - I Can't Watch Video Of Pearl's Beheading
06/21/02: Your kid's going to pay for cheating --- eventually
06/18/02: Stuffy 'correctness' robs races of give and take
06/07/02: A gift of the Masai
06/04/02: Now what? Use your 9/11 pain to combat complacency
05/24/02: Has your life changed since 9/11?
05/19/02: New world disorder is nothing to smile about
05/14/02: White men can jump, so why do black kids come up short in the classroom?
05/03/02: Catholic Church should be ashamed for blaming abuse victims
04/19/02: A reminder of how small the world has become
04/16/02: 100 death-penalty mistakes and counting
04/12/02: Until all the bad guys wear black hats
04/10/02: Connecting with history with hope for future
04/08/02: Just me and the boys: A black father's road trip
03/26/02: It's time to give up fighting the good fight and join the masses
03/22/02: It's not the art, it's the artist who's troubling
03/19/02: Don't ask, don't tell when it comes to police work
03/15/02: Do we have an inalienable right to TV?
03/12/02: What will we learn about ourselves as war toll grows?
03/08/02: Marriage madness --- oh, please!
03/05/02: A risk free life
03/01/02: Pentagon's idea of lying to media was breathtaking' in its stupidity
02/16/02: Will the Afghans forgive the U.S. for the beating of innocents?
02/15/02: In search of manhood, some make a fatal decision
02/08/02: Time for blacks to give the same respect they demand
02/05/02: A question of character and "unlawful combatants"
01/31/02: There's only so much a parent can influence a child
01/29/02: Mike Tyson is incapable of embarrassment
01/25/02: Acts of patriotism or acts of desecration?
01/18/02: Waiting for tears in the rain at Ground Zero
01/15/02: A little cultural respect works both ways
01/11/02: Can blacks be racist?
01/07/02: What price for the priceless?
12/21/01: An intriguing study on race
12/18/01: To err is me
12/14/01: Admit it, folks, If you've ever been 16, you can probably relate to Walker
12/11/01: Blacks-on-blacks poll is a healthy project
12/07/01: The best defense against government excesses
12/05/01: Better hoist caution flag
12/03/01: Martin Luther Ka-CHING!
11/27/01: Beauty reflects an ugly truth
11/22/01: Another reason to be thankful
11/19/01: If only they knew our names
11/12/01: Watching a 'dying' man live
08/01/01: Should a man be put in jail for what he's thinking?
07/27/01: It's your responsibility to invade their privacy
07/20/01: Is optimism for fools?
07/17/01: Everybody should have a white man

© 2002, The Miami Herald