Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review Jan 26, 2005/ 16 Shevat, 5765

Bill Steigerwald

Bill Steigerwald
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports

Restoring — and reclaiming — history ... 10 minutes with best selling historian Thomas Woods


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | Thomas Woods is a college history professor with a surprise hit on his hands.

His upbeat look at our past, "The Politically Incorrect Guide to American History," (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) has become a best-seller by putting a decidedly different spin on the liberal "facts" and myths we learned from our school textbooks.

Thanks to its catchy title, breezy style and "old-fashioned conservative" point of view, the guide has been on The New York Times' best-seller list for five weeks. It's receiving high praise from the likes of Pat Buchanan, who recently called Woods the most original thinker of 2004.

Woods teaches history at the State University of New York. I talked to him Tuesday by telephone from his Long Island home:

Q: Is this just a conservative version of history compared to the "liberal" mainstream version we've grown up with?

A: That's the way The New York Times has interpreted it, but I think that's not a fair assessment, because then my book is no more valuable than the typical left-wing book. Then my book is just another piece of propaganda. To the contrary, my book is simply telling the truth. I've got citations all over the place. I've got 10 pages of bibliography. This is not a piece of propaganda. It's trying to correct the record, frankly.

Q: What specifically is so different about your version of history?

A: Number one, the book, unlike the typical American history textbook, has a real sympathy for the free market economy and does not make the free market the scapegoat for every ill in America. To the contrary, it shows how central market economics has been to American prosperity. It doesn't go after businessmen as the source of all evil and portray government as the repository of people who are just disinterested crusaders for justice, for example. Secondly, it's sort of Jeffersonian. It has sympathy for the idea of local self- governance. Unlike the typical treatment of American history, it does not portray the centralization in Washington as an unambiguously progressive development — that the more power gets centralized, the better the country is. ... Finally, it also covers things that just sometimes aren't covered at all. For example, I have a chapter called "Yes, Communist sympathizers really existed." I talk about the '20s and '30s, when you had a lot of prominent people in the American left, seriously, with a straight face, suggesting that the Soviet Union could be a great model for America. That's really embarrassing today, so you don't really read anything about that in a typical textbook, but I think that's an important moment in history that should be recorded.

Q: What's the worst thing that students learn when they are taught U.S. history?

A: The story of the Great Depression that you learn in school is that the free market caused the Depression and the government solved it. That's the way the left thinks about the economy in general — that the economy does this and then we need government to step in. That is just about as wrong as wrong can be, but it goes to show you that historians have certain presidents they like — and you can tell the presidents they like because they are always the presidents that centralize power and increase the power of the federal government. When you read a textbook's take on Franklin Roosevelt, you could almost hear the pompoms in the background.

There isn't even a pretense of objectivity.

Q: Who is your favorite president?

Donate to JWR


A: My favorite is probably Martin Van Buren (1837-1841). No one's even heard of him, but my friend Jeff Hummel wrote an article arguing that he was actually the greatest American president. Here was a guy when the economy was bad (who) resisted the temptation to expand government power in response. He said, "Look, this is going to repair itself. That's the way the economy works." ... (H)e was a small-government president at a time when all the pressures were there to be a big-government president.

Q: What is a book that the establishment or liberal historians don't want us to read, and why should we read it?

A: I would say it would be Thomas Sowell's "Civil Rights: Rhetoric or Reality?" It's about 140 pages, but it pretty much overturns just about every piece of propaganda you've ever heard with regard to black and white income differences and whether they are caused by racism. Sowell is hated by the establishment because he dares to be black and conservative at the same time, which is absolutely not allowed. I've assigned this book year after year to my students. I cannot get over how much myth-busting he has included in such a short book. It was a model for my own book. You put this book down and you say to yourself, "How was I ever duped by any of this stuff?"

Q: Can you define your politics and how they affect your book's political incorrectness?

A: I'm the sort of conservative you would have read in National Review in the '60s and '70s. Conservatism today is kind of disappointing to me, because it doesn't seem to have the old commitment to limited government and some of the principles that I believed in.

I understand that John Kerry was a bad guy, but that doesn't mean George Bush is the second coming of Christ. For heaven's sake, he's expanded government faster than anyone since LBJ, and if we have any principles, we have to be willing to say that, even about Republicans. I think of myself as basically an old-fashioned conservative, and the way that affects the book is that I take that kind of perspective on every aspect of American history. A lot of conservatives today would cheer a lot of aspects of American history that I don't cheer. They would cheer, for example, the 14th Amendment as a wonderful advance for justice protecting people's rights. But I actually think the 14th Amendment is the beginning of the end of the Old Republic, because, again, it centralized power in Washington.


Enjoy this writer's work? Why not sign-up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




JWR contributor Bill Steigerwald is an associate editor and columnist at the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review. Comment by clicking here.

01/18/05: A map to save the world ... 10 minutes with strategist Thomas P.M. Barnett
01/14/05: Viva la Southwest!
01/10/05: Smearing Wal-Mart
12/21/04: Bless Brian Lamb
11/22/04: Is terror all it's cracked up to be?
11/04/04: Rightward, ho!
11/02/04: Editors reveal their true colors
10/28/04: Quizzing Ann Coulter
10/25/04: New Republic bashes Bush in silence 10/20/04: The Alzheimer's vote
10/18/04: Can you say ‘Election Month’?
10/12/04: A close encounter of the Hitchens kind
10/05/04: Arriving at journalism's age of choice
09/28/04: Satire with a spin ... 10 minutes with P.J. O'Rourke
09/14/04: Beware 'grass-roots tyranny' ... 10 minutes with Clint Bolick
09/07/04: State of the unions ... 10 minutes with Linda Chavez
08/26/04: The Lincoln few Northerners know
08/23/04: Steroids & 'fairness' … 10 minutes with bioethics expert Norman Fost
08/13/04: Contrary to popular belief ...
08/10/04: The IRS & the $250 billion question … 10 minutes with House Speaker Dennis Hastert
08/09/04: Tight scripts and loose cannons
07/27/04: Still George McGovern
07/06/04: High time to eliminate drug laws?
06/28/04: Iraq: ‘Mission impossible’ ... 10 minutes with terror expert Yossef Bodansky
06/22/04: Get ready to rumble ... 10 minutes with Michael Barone
06/11/04: Ready for the 'fair tax'? 10 minutes with …Georgia Republican Saxby Chambliss
06/08/04: Wal-Mart is an undeserving whipping boy
06/01/04: So, what is a 'neocon'?
05/17/04: Editors play armchair general
05/04/04: Chasing tornadoes; how modern day sports photography was born
04/29/04: Rigged for the rich ... 10 minutes with author David Cay Johnston
04/27/04: Are the 'Greens' killing blacks?
04/19/04: A moving, if skewed, tribute to rock
04/11/04: Stay the course in Iraq ... 10 minutes with Oliver North
04/05/04: Iraq needs 'social capital' ... ten minutes with Ray Salvatore Jennings of the United States Institute of Peace
03/31/04: Congress must come to terms ... ten minutes with Rep. Dick Armey
03/22/04: How to win the terror war ... 10 minutes with terrorism expert Steven Emerson
03/16/04: Religion, spiritual freedom & Ronald Reagan … 10 minutes with author Paul Kengor
03/10/04: America's materialism keeps world in tune
02/24/04: Our new epoch in history ... 10 minutes with philosopher/political thinker/novelist Lee Harris
02/20/04: Vanity Fair, SI sink lower than ever
02/13/04: A rare libertarian among Big Media liberals — up close and personal with John Stossel
02/10/04: Young innovators changing the rules
02/03/04: Now, the election fun begins … 10 minutes with Charlie Cook
01/30/04: Dem Dems
01/16/04: Caucuses bore you? You're not alone
01/14/04: Paradise lost? Ten minutes with … Victor Davis Hanson
01/09/04: Howard Dean week?
12/26/03: How is the magazine sector doing?
12/17/03: 10 minutes with Thomas Sowell
12/15/03: Journalism 'watchdog' displays bad reporting
12/09/03: Book lovers are losing a good read
12/05/03: 'South Park' has unlikely audience tuning in
12/03/03: An odd lot of 35 'heroes'
11/24/03: 'We'll learn the truth someday' … 10 minutes with JFK expert Cyril Wecht
11/18/03: Exposer of the idiocy of bureaucracy and the threat to individual freedom posed by government … Ten minutes with author James Bovard
11/14/03: Two stories examine Wal-Mart's domination
11/07/03: The real Rumsfeld … 10 minutes with author Midge Decter
11/05/03: Lights! Camera! Fudge!?
10/31/03: The straight dope on hate, drugs, Jon Stewart
10/24/03: See what federal $$$ does?
10/21/03: Esquire recalls its glory days
10/14/03: A 784-page biography hatchet job that only Clinton-haters will love — published by Random House? Ten minutes with Nigel Hamilton
10/10/03: Bush adviser girds for a tough fight ... 10 minutes with Mary Matalin
10/07/03: Forbes gives advice on making rich list
09/30/03: A 20th Century American tour
09/26/03: Reagan's life in letters
09/24/03: Bin Laden and Boy Bill
09/22/03: Dennis Miller makes funny business of politics
09/16/03: Famous 'bad girls' clear the air
09/12/03: Ben Stein gets serious: Davis is a 'thug in a gray flannel suit'
09/09/03: Smart(-Alecky) mag's very different 'swimsuit issue'; Murdoch might not be as bad as we thought
09/02/03: Ex-teacher lambastes our schools
08/25/03: Vanity Fair strives to be more than glamorous
07/22/03: Title IX's original intent … Ten minutes with Eric Pearson
07/11/03: Vanity Fair dishes it out on JFK Jr., N.Y. Times
07/09/03: Why Ben Franklin should be the "Father of Our Country" ... 10 minutes with Walter Isaacson
07/07/03: Honoring nation's first celebrity superstar
06/27/03: Reader's Digest can't help but act its age
06/24/03: Dick Morris, consultant for hire, reveals the inside story
06/20/03: Move over, Hillary. Here comes a better work of fiction
06/10/03: Publications take us away from Middle East
06/03/03: Dear graduates: Work for freedom … 10 minutes with Penn Jillette
05/30/03: National Geographic goes to the top of the world
05/23/03: Editors dabble in history, fiction
05/16/03: The Old Grim Lady gets covered
05/09/03: Political parties fighting over Iraq's wreckage
05/07/03: 10 minutes with a big-city Dem mayor who loathes budget deficits, the federal highway program, taxpayer-funded sports stadiums and the meddling (and aid money) of Washington
05/02/03: Are you sufficiently terrified?
04/29/03: Finally, a president defending American principles in the Middle East ... 10 minutes with Alexander Haig
04/25/03: Newsweeklies starting to lose interest in Iraq war
04/21/03: There's bias, and then there's bias
04/11/03: Planning future of Iraq, world
04/04/03: Newsweeklies come back with graphic look at war
03/28/03: Newsweeklies try to keep up with TV war coverage
03/26/03: Wen Ho Lee whistle-blower says beware of China
03/21/03: America's ready for war ... and peace
03/18/03: Baseball limping, not dead … 10 minutes with author Andrew Zimbalist
03/14/03: Vanity Fair gets us ready for month's big event
03/11/03: A road map for Iraq's liberation devised by James Madison? … 10 minutes with James S. Robbins
03/06/03: Iraq war will come and go before we know it
02/28/03: America takes time out for swimsuits
02/26/03: 'We shall be seen as liberators' .... 10 minutes with noted Brit commentator David Pryce-Jones
02/21/03: Terrorism one of many losing battles
02/14/03: Editors planning for the day after Gulf War II
02/12/03: The 'religiosity' of Ronald Reagan … 10 minutes with author Paul Kengor
02/10/03: Should the shuttle crash be the end of NASA?
02/06/03: Dear Joan ...
01/31/03: Newsweek, Nation ponder pros, cons of Gulf War II
01/24/03: 'Original' ideas follow New Deal philosophy
01/22/03: When handicapping 2004, watch the economy: Ten minutes with … Charlie Cook
01/17/03: New Republic fans hatred for SUVs
01/14/03: 10 minutes with Santorum on ... taxes, steel and Lott
01/10/03: Newsweeklies move on to latest menace
01/07/03: The best of the Q&As
12/30/02: Rosie's demise tops list of 2002 highlights
12/23/02: GOP must stick to its principles: 10 questions for ... Bill Kristol
12/20/02: Lott fiasco uncovers bigger problem
12/18/02: Free markets king in Sweden, at least for a day: Ten minutes with …. Donald Boudreaux
12/13/02: Corruption of Indian casinos no surprise
12/06/02: Giving credit to young philanthropists
12/02/02: Ten minutes with …. Chris Matthews
11/26/02: It's critical to memorialize communism's victims: 10 minutes with … Lee Edwards
11/22/02: JFK's secret health woes are revealed
11/19/02: “It's best to contain Saddam”: Ten minutes with … Col. David Hackworth
11/15/02: Brushing up on the affairs of a wild world
11/12/02: Make Dems filibuster … 10 minutes with … Robert L. Bartley
11/08/02: National Geographic: Urban overpopulation is good
11/05/02: The bloody consequences of a broken INS: Ten minutes with … Michelle Malkin
11/01/02: Going to pot; thank heaven for media overkill
10/29/02: It's all about federalism: Ten minutes with … Jonah Goldberg
10/25/02: Frank Sinatra, Kurt Cobain, Mad Magazine will never die
10/22/02: Here's why Orwell matters: Ten minutes with … Christopher Hitchens
10/18/02: The sniper knocks Iraq off the covers
10/15/02: Iraq, oil and war: 10 minutes with ... economist/historian Daniel Yergin
10/11/02: England's gun-control experiment has backfired
10/04/02: Buchanan the media baron?
09/27/02: Analyzing Esquire, GQ is not for the squeamish
09/20/02: CEOs: The rise and fall of American heroes
09/13/02: Skeptics remind U.S. to calm down
09/10/02: 'A failure to recognize a failure': 15 minutes with ... Bill Gertz
09/06/02: Rating the 9-11 mags
08/30/02: Bad trains, bad planes, and bad automobiles
08/28/02: Baseball, broken, can be fixed: 15 minutes with George Will
08/16/02: 9-11 overload has already begun
08/13/02: Tell us what you really think, Ann Coulter
08/09/02: A funny take on a new kind of suburb
08/02/02: It's not the humidity, it's the (media) heat wave; the death of American cities
07/12/02: Colombia's drug lords are all business
07/09/02: If capitalism is 'soulless' then show me something better: 10 minutes with … Alan Reynolds
06/25/02: Origins of a scandal: 10 minutes with … Michael Rose
06/21/02: 9/11 report unearths good, bad and ugly
06/18/02: The FBI is rebounding … 10 Minutes with Ronald Kessler
06/14/02: U.S. News opens closet of Secret Service
06/11/02: 10 minutes with … William Lind: Can America survive in this 'fourth-generation' world?
06/07/02: America, warts and all
05/30/02: FBI saga gets more depressing
05/13/02: The magazine industry's annual exercise in self-puffery
04/30/02: 10 Minutes with ... The New York Sun's Seth Lipsky
04/26/02: Will the American Taliban go free?
04/23/02: 10 minutes with ... Dinesh D'Souza
04/19/02: Saddam starting to show his age
04/12/02: Newsweek puts suicide bombing in perspective
04/09/02: How polls distort the news, change the outcome of elections and encourage legislation that undermines the foundations of the republic
04/05/02: Looking into the state of American greatness
03/25/02: The American President and the Peruvian Shoeshine Boys
03/22/02: Troublemaking intellectual puts Churchill in spotlight
03/20/02: 10 minutes with ... Bill Bennett
03/18/02: Suddenly, it's cool again to be a man
03/12/02: 10 minutes with … Ken Adelman
03/08/02: TIME asks the nation a scary question
03/05/02: 10 minutes with ... Rich Lowry
02/26/02: 10 minutes with ... Tony Snow
02/12/02: Has Soldier of Fortune gone soft?

© 2005, Bill Steigerwald