Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review Nov. 24, 2003 / 29 Mar-Cheshvan, 5764

Bill Steigerwald

Bill Steigerwald
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


'We'll learn the truth someday' 10 minutes with JFK expert Cyril Wecht


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | It's not just 75 percent of the American public that doesn't buy the Warren Commission's conclusion that Lee Harvey Oswald was the sole assassin of John F. Kennedy.

According to Allegheny County Coroner Cyril Wecht, one of the world's experts on Kennedy's murder, most investigators, independent researchers and pre-eminent forensic scientists like him now believe Kennedy was hit by two shooters in Dallas 40 years ago today.

Many of those experts are in town for "Solving the Great American Murder Mystery," a national four-day conference on the JFK assassination on the Duquesne University campus. It runs through Sunday and is co-sponsored by the Cyril H. Wecht Institute of Forensic Science and Law and Duquesne University School of Law. I talked with Dr. Wecht this week by telephone:

Q: What are some of the most important things that are known for sure by experts that do not jibe with Warren Commission's findings?

A: The most significant and most important is the so-called "single-bullet theory." What doesn't fit in are the following aspects of the single-bullet theory: its trajectory, its weight and its condition.

The trajectory is a roller-coaster ride of vertical and horizontal movements and gyrations that obviously bullets in flight do not make. The bullet's weight was just 11/2 percent exactly less than a store-bought bullet, despite fragments of the bullet having been left — and being radiologically demonstrable — in Gov. John Connolly's chest, right wrist and left thigh.

And the condition of the bullet, which, after having broken four inches of the right fifth rib and causing a fracture of the distal radius — a very dense heavy bone, especially in a 6-foot-4 guy like John Connolly — emerged intact, near pristine. Those are the reasons why the single-bullet theory is implausible.

Donate to JWR

The second big thing is the head wound. The movement of the president's body in the car, which is a violent lurching backward to the left, is incompatible with basic laws of physics and known ballistic firearm studies, namely, that if a bullet had struck him in the head — only that one bullet — it would not have driven backward and to the left.

With regard to the head wound, X-ray studies by some very experienced, highly competent radiologists, correlated with the findings of myself and other physicians, lean very heavily toward the president having been struck in the head twice in a synchronized fashion. Simultaneous shots: one from the rear and one from the right front side.

Q: What is it that complicates this mystery? Shouldn't it be easy for a forensic expert like you to look at Kennedy's head and determine what happened 40 years ago?

A: Yes. Very good question. And the answer is that this should not be a mystery. The reason it's a mystery is, to begin with, the two naval pathologists, Humes and Boswell, who performed this autopsy (in Bethesda, Md.), had never done a gunshot wound case in their entire careers.

The pictures that were taken were inadequate in number and quality in the depiction of the wounds. They did not have good forensic photography. They did not have good X-rays.

And then you have the failure to examine the brain .... which led subsequently somehow to the mysterious disappearance of the brain. I pointed that out — it was a front page story Aug, 27, 1972, New York Times, Fred Graham, "The Missing Brain." And 31 years later, the brain is still unaccounted for.

Oh, I forget to mention another thing. There are some X-rays and some photos that are missing. I mean matters of record. I'm not conjecturing or making wild assertions. There are documented instances of other photographs and other X-rays that have not been accounted for. And microscopic slides are missing from the National Archives.

So you put all these things together, and you can then appreciate better why there is so much continuing controversy today.

Q: Was it or is it still a conscious government cover-up?

A: I think it is. It's a combination. First of all, let me separate all of which I have discussed, and that which I shall also now respond to, from the original conspiracy to kill the president. I don't believe for one moment that all these people and all these things I've discussed have anything to do with the plan to kill the president.

Forget that it's a violation of numerous laws. But by removing the body from Dallas, they took it away from a competent, board-certified forensic pathologist who was there at the hospital to assume jurisdiction with the local coroner and perform the autopsy.

Q: If a president were shot today, would they still be able to move his body like that?

A: Yes, they did pass a law subsequently, and I think it is limited to the president. But there was no law at that time.

Q: So was it a conscious government cover-up?

A: Later, in my opinion, there were things that were consciously done. I don't believe for one moment that people with the power, experience, political savvy, contacts, arm-twisting abilities that were present with Lyndon Johnson and J. Edgar Hoover — the closest thing we ever had to Beria and the KGB of old Russia — there did not come a time between the two of them that they could not figure this out.

At this point, that all becomes what I would call "the second conspiracy." Now, we move into the cover-up — not designed to protect Mister A or Mister B, but designed, once it became determined that Moscow, Beijing and Havana, the Russians, Chinese and Cubans, individually or collectively, were not responsible for this assassination, then they came to understand and appreciate darn fast that this was good-old, home-grown American conspiracy.

Where is that going to take you? You have the CIA here. We've got the FBI there. We've got other covert operations and clandestine operations and spook organizations, and the conscious decision was made — "The King is dead. Long live the king. We can't bring him back. It's over and done with. We got Oswald. He's dead and gone with. There's never going to be a trial. Forget about it. It's better for America. Just let it be."

Q: If we hadn't had the Zapruder film, would there still have been enough evidence to question all of this?

A: The Zapruder film, in my opinion, is the single most important piece of evidence in this case. Without it, we would be markedly handicapped. .... We would be nowhere near able to make the substantive challenge we can. But there still would have been other things out there to legitimately talk about from a forensic-scientific standpoint.

Q: Will we ever learn the truth — and will we be able to take it?

A: We'll learn the truth someday, I do believe. But with painful realism, I think it's not going to be in my lifetime. I think it's going to take one or two more generations in order to attenuate that thread, that umbilical cord, so that the people who are in the responsible governmental agencies and so on will have no personal knowledge, will in no way be beholding to anyone who may have been there.... I just don't think the government is ready for it.

Are we ready for it? The American people, yes. We would handle it. But there would be a great deal of unhappiness and unrest, and I think that a lot of changes would be demanded.

Enjoy this writer's work? Why not sign-up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




JWR contributor Bill Steigerwald is an associate editor and columnist at the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review. Comment by clicking here.

11/18/03: Exposer of the idiocy of bureaucracy and the threat to individual freedom posed by government Ten minutes with author James Bovard
11/14/03: Two stories examine Wal-Mart's domination
11/07/03: The real Rumsfeld 10 minutes with author Midge Decter
11/05/03: Lights! Camera! Fudge!?
10/31/03: The straight dope on hate, drugs, Jon Stewart
10/24/03: See what federal $$$ does?
10/21/03: Esquire recalls its glory days
10/14/03: A 784-page biography hatchet job that only Clinton-haters will love — published by Random House? Ten minutes with Nigel Hamilton
10/10/03: Bush adviser girds for a tough fight ... 10 minutes with Mary Matalin
10/07/03: Forbes gives advice on making rich list
09/30/03: A 20th Century American tour
09/26/03: Reagan's life in letters
09/24/03: Bin Laden and Boy Bill
09/22/03: Dennis Miller makes funny business of politics
09/16/03: Famous 'bad girls' clear the air
09/12/03: Ben Stein gets serious: Davis is a 'thug in a gray flannel suit'
09/09/03: Smart(-Alecky) mag's very different 'swimsuit issue'; Murdoch might not be as bad as we thought
09/02/03: Ex-teacher lambastes our schools
08/25/03: Vanity Fair strives to be more than glamorous
07/22/03: Title IX's original intent Ten minutes with Eric Pearson
07/11/03: Vanity Fair dishes it out on JFK Jr., N.Y. Times
07/09/03: Why Ben Franklin should be the "Father of Our Country" ... 10 minutes with Walter Isaacson
07/07/03: Honoring nation's first celebrity superstar
06/27/03: Reader's Digest can't help but act its age
06/24/03: Dick Morris, consultant for hire, reveals the inside story
06/20/03: Move over, Hillary. Here comes a better work of fiction
06/10/03: Publications take us away from Middle East
06/03/03: Dear graduates: Work for freedom 10 minutes with Penn Jillette
05/30/03: National Geographic goes to the top of the world
05/23/03: Editors dabble in history, fiction
05/16/03: The Old Grim Lady gets covered
05/09/03: Political parties fighting over Iraq's wreckage
05/07/03: 10 minutes with a big-city Dem mayor who loathes budget deficits, the federal highway program, taxpayer-funded sports stadiums and the meddling (and aid money) of Washington
05/02/03: Are you sufficiently terrified?
04/29/03: Finally, a president defending American principles in the Middle East ... 10 minutes with Alexander Haig
04/25/03: Newsweeklies starting to lose interest in Iraq war
04/21/03: There's bias, and then there's bias
04/11/03: Planning future of Iraq, world
04/04/03: Newsweeklies come back with graphic look at war
03/28/03: Newsweeklies try to keep up with TV war coverage
03/26/03: Wen Ho Lee whistle-blower says beware of China
03/21/03: America's ready for war ... and peace
03/18/03: Baseball limping, not dead 10 minutes with author Andrew Zimbalist
03/14/03: Vanity Fair gets us ready for month's big event
03/11/03: A road map for Iraq's liberation devised by James Madison? 10 minutes with James S. Robbins
03/06/03: Iraq war will come and go before we know it
02/28/03: America takes time out for swimsuits
02/26/03: 'We shall be seen as liberators' .... 10 minutes with noted Brit commentator David Pryce-Jones
02/21/03: Terrorism one of many losing battles
02/14/03: Editors planning for the day after Gulf War II
02/12/03: The 'religiosity' of Ronald Reagan 10 minutes with author Paul Kengor
02/10/03: Should the shuttle crash be the end of NASA?
02/06/03: Dear Joan ...
01/31/03: Newsweek, Nation ponder pros, cons of Gulf War II
01/24/03: 'Original' ideas follow New Deal philosophy
01/22/03: When handicapping 2004, watch the economy: Ten minutes with Charlie Cook
01/17/03: New Republic fans hatred for SUVs
01/14/03: 10 minutes with Santorum on ... taxes, steel and Lott
01/10/03: Newsweeklies move on to latest menace
01/07/03: The best of the Q&As
12/30/02: Rosie's demise tops list of 2002 highlights
12/23/02: GOP must stick to its principles: 10 questions for ... Bill Kristol
12/20/02: Lott fiasco uncovers bigger problem
12/18/02: Free markets king in Sweden, at least for a day: Ten minutes with . Donald Boudreaux
12/13/02: Corruption of Indian casinos no surprise
12/06/02: Giving credit to young philanthropists
12/02/02: Ten minutes with . Chris Matthews
11/26/02: It's critical to memorialize communism's victims: 10 minutes with Lee Edwards
11/22/02: JFK's secret health woes are revealed
11/19/02: “It's best to contain Saddam”: Ten minutes with Col. David Hackworth
11/15/02: Brushing up on the affairs of a wild world
11/12/02: Make Dems filibuster 10 minutes with Robert L. Bartley
11/08/02: National Geographic: Urban overpopulation is good
11/05/02: The bloody consequences of a broken INS: Ten minutes with Michelle Malkin
11/01/02: Going to pot; thank heaven for media overkill
10/29/02: It's all about federalism: Ten minutes with Jonah Goldberg
10/25/02: Frank Sinatra, Kurt Cobain, Mad Magazine will never die
10/22/02: Here's why Orwell matters: Ten minutes with Christopher Hitchens
10/18/02: The sniper knocks Iraq off the covers
10/15/02: Iraq, oil and war: 10 minutes with ... economist/historian Daniel Yergin
10/11/02: England's gun-control experiment has backfired
10/04/02: Buchanan the media baron?
09/27/02: Analyzing Esquire, GQ is not for the squeamish
09/20/02: CEOs: The rise and fall of American heroes
09/13/02: Skeptics remind U.S. to calm down
09/10/02: 'A failure to recognize a failure': 15 minutes with ... Bill Gertz
09/06/02: Rating the 9-11 mags
08/30/02: Bad trains, bad planes, and bad automobiles
08/28/02: Baseball, broken, can be fixed: 15 minutes with George Will
08/16/02: 9-11 overload has already begun
08/13/02: Tell us what you really think, Ann Coulter
08/09/02: A funny take on a new kind of suburb
08/02/02: It's not the humidity, it's the (media) heat wave; the death of American cities
07/12/02: Colombia's drug lords are all business
07/09/02: If capitalism is 'soulless' then show me something better: 10 minutes with Alan Reynolds
06/25/02: Origins of a scandal: 10 minutes with Michael Rose
06/21/02: 9/11 report unearths good, bad and ugly
06/18/02: The FBI is rebounding 10 Minutes with Ronald Kessler
06/14/02: U.S. News opens closet of Secret Service
06/11/02: 10 minutes with William Lind: Can America survive in this 'fourth-generation' world?
06/07/02: America, warts and all
05/30/02: FBI saga gets more depressing
05/13/02: The magazine industry's annual exercise in self-puffery
04/30/02: 10 Minutes with ... The New York Sun's Seth Lipsky
04/26/02: Will the American Taliban go free?
04/23/02: 10 minutes with ... Dinesh D'Souza
04/19/02: Saddam starting to show his age
04/12/02: Newsweek puts suicide bombing in perspective
04/09/02: How polls distort the news, change the outcome of elections and encourage legislation that undermines the foundations of the republic
04/05/02: Looking into the state of American greatness
03/25/02: The American President and the Peruvian Shoeshine Boys
03/22/02: Troublemaking intellectual puts Churchill in spotlight
03/20/02: 10 minutes with ... Bill Bennett
03/18/02: Suddenly, it's cool again to be a man
03/12/02: 10 minutes with Ken Adelman
03/08/02: TIME asks the nation a scary question
03/05/02: 10 minutes with ... Rich Lowry
02/26/02: 10 minutes with ... Tony Snow
02/12/02: Has Soldier of Fortune gone soft?

© 2002, Bill Steigerwald