Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review April 11, 2004 / 21 Nissan, 5764

Bill Steigerwald

Bill Steigerwald
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


Stay the course in Iraq ... 10 minutes with Oliver North


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | Oliver North's background is known well. Combat-decorated Marine. Host of Fox News Channel's Sunday night "War Stories." Best-selling author. Syndicated columnist. Talk show host. Reagan administration counterterrorism coordinator. Political candidate.

North, who spent much of the last year with U.S. soldiers in Iraq as a war correspondent, will be the keynote speaker at St. Barnabas Health System's fund-raising dinner Thursday, April 22, at the Omni William Penn Hotel. I talked to him this week as he drove to his office in the Washington, D.C., area:

Q: When you follow what's going on in Iraq right now, are you pleased? Angry? Worried? What?

A: What you've got there is a thug. (Muqtada) al-Sadr is a thug. We keep calling him a "cleric" in our publications and our broadcasts. This guy is nothing but a Mafia don who's throwing his elbows about. He's figured out that after democracy comes and you've got municipal and federal and provincial governments running the country, his power is diminished considerably.

Q: Is this just one bad cleric?

A: No, no, no. Al-Sadr is one of many. We keep calling them "clerics" when in fact they are Mafia dons. Remember, this guy is wanted by Iraqi authorities for murdering another Shia cleric.

Q: So it's like a gang war?

A: Exactly. Yeah. It's gang warfare with AK-47s and RPGs instead of Saturday Night Specials and knives out in L.A.

Q: What's the difference between the reality of Iraq, as you saw it or understand it, and the information we get from the media here?

A: What we see in the media, of course, is the helicopter crash, the burning Humvee, the tank that ran over the mine. That's because of the nature of the news business. What you're not seeing are the 2,500 schools that have been opened by the military. You're not seeing the fact that there are more people with electricity today than ever had it before. More people with clean running water and sewers. You're not seeing the infrastructure improvement.

Nobody reports that we have 250 convoys a day that run safely all over the country. That the trains are running again. That we've got petroleum products moving through pipelines that haven't been used in years. All that good news is being masked by a soldier killed here, a Marine killed there.

Donate to JWR

It's very unfortunate, because that's the impression the American people have, and so you end up with politicians talking about "quagmires" and all the rest of it. The fact is, this is nothing like Vietnam.

The Iraqi people have far greater affection for us than you'd ever be led to believe by reading the newspapers. There is an enormous affection for the American people. In fact, probably more than in any other Islamic country in that part of the world. That includes Saudi Arabia and Kuwait.

Q: So you are optimistic about the ultimate outcome?

A: I am very optimistic. I have great confidence that ultimately this is going to work out a lot better than anybody can see today. Two years from now, you and I could have this conversation, and we'd say, "Why was everyone so worried?" -- if we stay the course. If we bail on these guys -- which, quite frankly, would be a disaster not just from a political perspective but a national disaster -- it would be like saying after Pearl Harbor, "You know what? We can't win this war. Let's go make peace with the Japanese and the Germans."

Q: What's the worst-case scenario that worries you the most?

A: It's just that. The worst-case scenario is a failure of resolve -- not militarily. ... The problem is political. And it's going to be a failure of resolve, not of the troops fighting the war. You're constantly hearing how bad the morale is, that troop morale is the pits. Let me tell you, the best barometer of troop morale is the re-enlistment rate. The re-enlistment rate for the Army brigades and Marine regiments is unprecedentedly high.

Q: You obviously don't think that the United States or the Bush administration has bitten off more than it can chew in Iraq?

A: No. Look, the long-range problem here isn't going to be Baghdad. I am absolutely confident that we're going to have a democratic outcome. Free enterprise is already thriving. It's mind-boggling to see what's going on out there.

When I rolled into Baghdad on the morning of April 10 last year, the city was bereft of any kind of economy at all. It wasn't because we had bombed it to oblivion, Saddam (Hussein) wouldn't let it. The only people who could prosper were the Baath Party officials.

What's happened since then is the economy has exploded. There's not a storefront in the country that doesn't have something to sell. Whether it's air conditioners, auto parts. Every Japanese auto dealer has opened car dealerships out there.

It's wild. Of course, it is a bit of the Wild West. You've got rampant lawlessness because there are not enough police that are well-trained. But the FBI is out there training people right now in Jordan and soon to the north of Baghdad. You've got the DEA out there. You've got the ATF out there. You've got lots of volunteer cops, some of whom are reservists and some who are out there on contracts.

Q: Do your think the June 30 hand-over deadline is realistic and will be met?

A: I just got asked that on the air at Fox. Somebody who doesn't get it said, "Well, doesn't this political decision to turn things over to the Iraqis affect the morale of the Marines?" No. They know what their job is there.

Q: Will the hand-over really just be done on paper? Is it really going to be a hand-over?

A: Yes. This is not going to be a "puppet regime" as the folks in The New York Times put it. This is going to be an interim government. There was a piece last week in the L.A. Times or New York Times about "incompetent boobs drawing up this constitution." You know what, if you go back to the history of the United States, how long did it take us to come up with the Constitution after the Revolution was over in 1781? Six years. Fifty two of the smartest people on the planet Earth, working rough and tumble, throwing their elbows around. ... G-d, if Madison and Mason and Franklin and those guys couldn't get it done for years, why are we so hard on the Iraqis for getting it in a few months?


Enjoy this writer's work? Why not sign-up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




JWR contributor Bill Steigerwald is an associate editor and columnist at the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review. Comment by clicking here.

04/05/04: Iraq needs 'social capital' ... ten minutes with Ray Salvatore Jennings of the United States Institute of Peace
03/31/04: Congress must come to terms ... ten minutes with Rep. Dick Armey
03/22/04: How to win the terror war ... 10 minutes with terrorism expert Steven Emerson
03/16/04: Religion, spiritual freedom & Ronald Reagan 10 minutes with author Paul Kengor
03/10/04: America's materialism keeps world in tune
02/24/04: Our new epoch in history ... 10 minutes with philosopher/political thinker/novelist Lee Harris
02/20/04: Vanity Fair, SI sink lower than ever
02/13/04: A rare libertarian among Big Media liberals — up close and personal with John Stossel
02/10/04: Young innovators changing the rules
02/03/04: Now, the election fun begins 10 minutes with Charlie Cook
01/30/04: Dem Dems
01/16/04: Caucuses bore you? You're not alone
01/14/04: Paradise lost? Ten minutes with Victor Davis Hanson
01/09/04: Howard Dean week?
12/26/03: How is the magazine sector doing?
12/17/03: 10 minutes with Thomas Sowell
12/15/03: Journalism 'watchdog' displays bad reporting
12/09/03: Book lovers are losing a good read
12/05/03: 'South Park' has unlikely audience tuning in
12/03/03: An odd lot of 35 'heroes'
11/24/03: 'We'll learn the truth someday' 10 minutes with JFK expert Cyril Wecht
11/18/03: Exposer of the idiocy of bureaucracy and the threat to individual freedom posed by government Ten minutes with author James Bovard
11/14/03: Two stories examine Wal-Mart's domination
11/07/03: The real Rumsfeld 10 minutes with author Midge Decter
11/05/03: Lights! Camera! Fudge!?
10/31/03: The straight dope on hate, drugs, Jon Stewart
10/24/03: See what federal $$$ does?
10/21/03: Esquire recalls its glory days
10/14/03: A 784-page biography hatchet job that only Clinton-haters will love — published by Random House? Ten minutes with Nigel Hamilton
10/10/03: Bush adviser girds for a tough fight ... 10 minutes with Mary Matalin
10/07/03: Forbes gives advice on making rich list
09/30/03: A 20th Century American tour
09/26/03: Reagan's life in letters
09/24/03: Bin Laden and Boy Bill
09/22/03: Dennis Miller makes funny business of politics
09/16/03: Famous 'bad girls' clear the air
09/12/03: Ben Stein gets serious: Davis is a 'thug in a gray flannel suit'
09/09/03: Smart(-Alecky) mag's very different 'swimsuit issue'; Murdoch might not be as bad as we thought
09/02/03: Ex-teacher lambastes our schools
08/25/03: Vanity Fair strives to be more than glamorous
07/22/03: Title IX's original intent Ten minutes with Eric Pearson
07/11/03: Vanity Fair dishes it out on JFK Jr., N.Y. Times
07/09/03: Why Ben Franklin should be the "Father of Our Country" ... 10 minutes with Walter Isaacson
07/07/03: Honoring nation's first celebrity superstar
06/27/03: Reader's Digest can't help but act its age
06/24/03: Dick Morris, consultant for hire, reveals the inside story
06/20/03: Move over, Hillary. Here comes a better work of fiction
06/10/03: Publications take us away from Middle East
06/03/03: Dear graduates: Work for freedom 10 minutes with Penn Jillette
05/30/03: National Geographic goes to the top of the world
05/23/03: Editors dabble in history, fiction
05/16/03: The Old Grim Lady gets covered
05/09/03: Political parties fighting over Iraq's wreckage
05/07/03: 10 minutes with a big-city Dem mayor who loathes budget deficits, the federal highway program, taxpayer-funded sports stadiums and the meddling (and aid money) of Washington
05/02/03: Are you sufficiently terrified?
04/29/03: Finally, a president defending American principles in the Middle East ... 10 minutes with Alexander Haig
04/25/03: Newsweeklies starting to lose interest in Iraq war
04/21/03: There's bias, and then there's bias
04/11/03: Planning future of Iraq, world
04/04/03: Newsweeklies come back with graphic look at war
03/28/03: Newsweeklies try to keep up with TV war coverage
03/26/03: Wen Ho Lee whistle-blower says beware of China
03/21/03: America's ready for war ... and peace
03/18/03: Baseball limping, not dead 10 minutes with author Andrew Zimbalist
03/14/03: Vanity Fair gets us ready for month's big event
03/11/03: A road map for Iraq's liberation devised by James Madison? 10 minutes with James S. Robbins
03/06/03: Iraq war will come and go before we know it
02/28/03: America takes time out for swimsuits
02/26/03: 'We shall be seen as liberators' .... 10 minutes with noted Brit commentator David Pryce-Jones
02/21/03: Terrorism one of many losing battles
02/14/03: Editors planning for the day after Gulf War II
02/12/03: The 'religiosity' of Ronald Reagan 10 minutes with author Paul Kengor
02/10/03: Should the shuttle crash be the end of NASA?
02/06/03: Dear Joan ...
01/31/03: Newsweek, Nation ponder pros, cons of Gulf War II
01/24/03: 'Original' ideas follow New Deal philosophy
01/22/03: When handicapping 2004, watch the economy: Ten minutes with Charlie Cook
01/17/03: New Republic fans hatred for SUVs
01/14/03: 10 minutes with Santorum on ... taxes, steel and Lott
01/10/03: Newsweeklies move on to latest menace
01/07/03: The best of the Q&As
12/30/02: Rosie's demise tops list of 2002 highlights
12/23/02: GOP must stick to its principles: 10 questions for ... Bill Kristol
12/20/02: Lott fiasco uncovers bigger problem
12/18/02: Free markets king in Sweden, at least for a day: Ten minutes with . Donald Boudreaux
12/13/02: Corruption of Indian casinos no surprise
12/06/02: Giving credit to young philanthropists
12/02/02: Ten minutes with . Chris Matthews
11/26/02: It's critical to memorialize communism's victims: 10 minutes with Lee Edwards
11/22/02: JFK's secret health woes are revealed
11/19/02: “It's best to contain Saddam”: Ten minutes with Col. David Hackworth
11/15/02: Brushing up on the affairs of a wild world
11/12/02: Make Dems filibuster 10 minutes with Robert L. Bartley
11/08/02: National Geographic: Urban overpopulation is good
11/05/02: The bloody consequences of a broken INS: Ten minutes with Michelle Malkin
11/01/02: Going to pot; thank heaven for media overkill
10/29/02: It's all about federalism: Ten minutes with Jonah Goldberg
10/25/02: Frank Sinatra, Kurt Cobain, Mad Magazine will never die
10/22/02: Here's why Orwell matters: Ten minutes with Christopher Hitchens
10/18/02: The sniper knocks Iraq off the covers
10/15/02: Iraq, oil and war: 10 minutes with ... economist/historian Daniel Yergin
10/11/02: England's gun-control experiment has backfired
10/04/02: Buchanan the media baron?
09/27/02: Analyzing Esquire, GQ is not for the squeamish
09/20/02: CEOs: The rise and fall of American heroes
09/13/02: Skeptics remind U.S. to calm down
09/10/02: 'A failure to recognize a failure': 15 minutes with ... Bill Gertz
09/06/02: Rating the 9-11 mags
08/30/02: Bad trains, bad planes, and bad automobiles
08/28/02: Baseball, broken, can be fixed: 15 minutes with George Will
08/16/02: 9-11 overload has already begun
08/13/02: Tell us what you really think, Ann Coulter
08/09/02: A funny take on a new kind of suburb
08/02/02: It's not the humidity, it's the (media) heat wave; the death of American cities
07/12/02: Colombia's drug lords are all business
07/09/02: If capitalism is 'soulless' then show me something better: 10 minutes with Alan Reynolds
06/25/02: Origins of a scandal: 10 minutes with Michael Rose
06/21/02: 9/11 report unearths good, bad and ugly
06/18/02: The FBI is rebounding 10 Minutes with Ronald Kessler
06/14/02: U.S. News opens closet of Secret Service
06/11/02: 10 minutes with William Lind: Can America survive in this 'fourth-generation' world?
06/07/02: America, warts and all
05/30/02: FBI saga gets more depressing
05/13/02: The magazine industry's annual exercise in self-puffery
04/30/02: 10 Minutes with ... The New York Sun's Seth Lipsky
04/26/02: Will the American Taliban go free?
04/23/02: 10 minutes with ... Dinesh D'Souza
04/19/02: Saddam starting to show his age
04/12/02: Newsweek puts suicide bombing in perspective
04/09/02: How polls distort the news, change the outcome of elections and encourage legislation that undermines the foundations of the republic
04/05/02: Looking into the state of American greatness
03/25/02: The American President and the Peruvian Shoeshine Boys
03/22/02: Troublemaking intellectual puts Churchill in spotlight
03/20/02: 10 minutes with ... Bill Bennett
03/18/02: Suddenly, it's cool again to be a man
03/12/02: 10 minutes with Ken Adelman
03/08/02: TIME asks the nation a scary question
03/05/02: 10 minutes with ... Rich Lowry
02/26/02: 10 minutes with ... Tony Snow
02/12/02: Has Soldier of Fortune gone soft?

© 2002, Bill Steigerwald