Jewish World Review June 10, 2002 / Tamuz, 5762

JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
David Limbaugh
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports

Supreme Court Justice named to cowgirl hall of fame -- WASHINGTON (UPI) -- Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, who learned to ride and rope as a young girl on her family's ranch, was inducted Friday into the hall of fame at the new $21 million National Cowgirl Museum.

After her induction, O'Connor joined Texas Gov. Rick Perry, Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison, R-Texas, and other officials in cutting a ribbon to open the new museum which honors women of the American West who showed courage and pioneering spirit.

"If you haven't been in here yet, you really have a treat in store," O'Connor said. "It is sensational and it's such an honor to be made a member of this honored group of cowgirls."

O'Connor, the first female justice on the Supreme Court, is a native of El Paso, Texas and grew up on the Lazy B, her family's ranch on the Arizona-New Mexico border. She learned to ride before she was 8-years-old and helped with daily chores on the ranch.

O'Connor later attended Stanford Law School and was an assistant state attorney general, a state senator, and a judge in Arizona before President Reagan nominated her to the Supreme Court in 1981.

There are 158 Cowgirl Hall of Fame honorees, including pioneers, artists, writers, entertainers, humanitarians, businesswomen, educators, ranchers and rodeo cowgirls. They include painter Georgia O'Keeffe, writer Laura Ingalls Wilder, sharpshooter Annie Oakley, Hollywood film star Dale Evans, and Sacajawea, the Indian guide for the Lewis and Clark Expedition.

The museum was started in 1975 in the basement of the Deaf Smith County Library at Hereford in West Texas but moved in 1994 to Fort Worth where an eight-year campaign was started to raise the funds for the new museum in the city's cultural district.

Also inducted Friday were Polly Burson, one of Hollywood's premier stuntwomen; Kathy Daughn, one of the top cutting horse competitors in the nation; Arlene Kensinger, a trick rider and barrel racer, and Anne Burnett Tandy, a philanthropist and a founder of the American Quarter Horse Association.

The 33,000-square-foot museum includes three gallery areas that feature 2,000 artifacts in a permanent collection, a multipurpose theater, a hands-on children's area, a flexible gallery area for traveling exhibits, a research library and a grand rotunda saluting the spirit of the cowgirl.

Comment by clicking here.


© 2002, UPI