Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 22, 2006 / 28 Menachem-Av, 5766

Women's radio says it's for bad girls, but really it's just bad

By Meghan Daum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Being a woman and all, I'm supposed to like woman-ish things. Like soy drinks. And ceramics. And any cable show that combines wall stenciling and spontaneous crying. "Women's culture" is everywhere; the cable companies do us the favor of grouping the female-oriented channels together like bunches of daisies, and the entire front sections of chain bookstores are mostly devoted to the coffee-table books and chick lit that women apparently devour in far greater numbers than men.


Maybe that's why I've always loved radio. Its lack of a visual element has always implied a sort of gender neutrality.


Sure, there are hyper-masculine shock jocks and earnest, feminine call-in advice shows, but there's something about radio — maybe the fact that most of us listen when we're alone — that's personal rather than social and, by extension, taps into our "personhood" rather than our maleness or femaleness.


But no more. I've recently realized there's a radio station in Southern California that's just for women. Think of it as calcium supplements or Secret deodorant for your ears. It's called Jill FM, and it can be found at 92.7, although, because of its relatively few transmitters, it can't yet be found very easily.


It plays artists such as Dave Matthews, John Mayer and Faith Hill, as well as some "deep cuts" from the past. Even though you can hear this stuff on regular, coed radio stations, we know Jill FM is a girl thing because the logo, on the website, is a lipstick smudge. Also, the promos feature a saucy female voice saying things like "Jill says: 'The only thing more unreliable than an Italian car is the man who drives one.' "


I stumbled on Jill FM when I veered slightly to the left of 93.1 Jack FM, that no-request, no-DJ station that purports to be absurdly eclectic but, I've noticed, seems to play the B-52's "Rock Lobster" at least 500 times a week. I thought Jill was affiliated with Jack, but when I called up Robert Christy, general manager of Jill FM, I learned that she's very much her own woman.


"We decided that Jill isn't a radio station but a person who owns a radio station," Christy told me (in reality, the owner is Amaturo Group of L.A.).


"Sure, women listen to Jack FM," he said. "But it's really for guys. Women like lyrical music. For instance, they like Queen's 'Killer Queen' but not 'We Will Rock You,' at least not all the time."


Though Jill FM's playlist is proprietary, Christy describes it as "north of 2,000" and said the station thinks of the playlist as "Jill's iPod."


Christy seemed to know a lot about Jill. "She grew up in Southern California," he said. "She loves movies and has several cars, though we'll never know exactly what kinds of cars."


It turns out that Jill is the product of a "filter," which is radio-speak for a focus group that determines what appeals to a particular demographic.


The filter decided that Jill's keys to success were "brains, an excellent education, hard work and a little help from Dad." They're not sure how old she is, and she may not have kids, but she probably has a niece who plays a big role in her life. Her best friend is Marcy, the woman who does the station promos (in reality, Marcy is an actress who prefers to remain anonymous).


Does Jill have a lot of money? "Enough to own a radio station!" Christy said. "She has a nice house, but we never get invited. She skis and has a mountain bike. One of her cars must be a convertible, maybe a Mercedes coupe because women love that car. She also has a hybrid."


What does she do for fun?


"I can tell you that she would not go to a sweaty bar at the beach," Christy said. "She likes to drink cosmopolitans, but after climbing out of the water from surfing, she'd enjoy a cold beer. She'd never drive drunk, possibly because she might have learned her lesson in the past. She might have a bad-girl streak. Also, she has three dogs: a cocker named Joe, a springer named Jerry and a poodle named Tony — that's for Tony Blair. Plus she has a Persian cat."


In other words, except for the menagerie, which is a little north of what's widely acceptable in a fabulous, always-on-the-go gal, we're looking at a composite sketch of the perfect woman. Sophisticated yet down to earth, responsible but a little wild, probably childless but definitely not child-averse, Jill is part self-made woman (read: independent) and part Daddy's little girl (read: not that independent).


Like an Internet personal ad or a Hollywood studio picture, Jill is designed to offer something for everyone, or at least everyone within her demographic: women between the ages of 25 and 54.


I'm in that demographic, so why do I want to punch Jill in the face? Maybe because the fancy house and all those cars makes her sound a lot like Barbie. Or maybe because radio is inherently about mystery, and it's hard to be mysterious when you've revealed the names of your pets.


On the other hand, maybe I'm just jealous of the Mercedes coupe.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Meghan Daum is an essayist and novelist in Los Angeles. Comment by clicking here.

05/31/06 Goodbye to you, Mr. Smiley: Why can't we give up our obsession with happiness?
05/15/06 Are soft-faced guys really more baby friendly than lantern-jaw Lotharios?
05/08/06 Man of our dreams
04/14/06 Major decisions for minors
02/28/06 Who's the idiot now? Whether it's the lottery or a screenplay, the truth is we're all betting on something
02/20/06 Zillowing hits you where you live
01/16/06 Throwing the book at reality
12/05/05 In-your-face journalism
9/12/05 May Bob Denver, like, rest in peace

© 2006, Los Angeles Times Distributed by Los Angeles Times Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles