Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 18, 2006 / 20 Nissan, 5766

Dreams do come true someday

By Leonard Pitts, Jr.


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The car glides to a stop in front of the hotel. Light splashes off gleaming black metal as the valet gets out. He hands the keys to my wife.


Marilyn says, "These aren't my keys."


The valet says, "Yes, they are."


Marilyn says, a little more forcefully, "These aren't my keys. That's not my car."


The valet says, "That's your car."


Marilyn's brow knits in confusion. She looks at the key fob like she's never seen a key fob before. Then she steps through the crowd of us gathered there on the sidewalk, going to inspect the car this man insists is hers.


It is her 50th birthday, and no, she won't mind my telling you that, because she's always been one of those rare women who believes aging a thing to be embraced, not feared. This evening, we've had a party for the ages. We've eaten fine food, we've laughed, we've danced to Elvis and Luther, the Tempts and the Gap Band. Now it's late and we're out on the sidewalk and the valet has apparently delivered my wife the wrong car.


Got to be the wrong car, she's thinking. It's sure nicer than any car she's ever owned. In fact, it's her dream car, the one she always told me she wanted to own "someday."


She said this back when our own car was a red piece of junk that required you to keep a foot on the gas when you were sitting at the light, else the engine would stall.


She said it back when our car was a wine colored heap with a powder blue door and a tendency to struggle going uphill.


She said it back when we didn't even have a car, when she was pregnant and sick and we had to bum a ride or catch the bus everywhere we went.


Someday, she said. Someday.


At the time — 20 years ago, maybe 25 — someday always felt like a synonym for never, a consolation prize you give yourself when reality smashes your day into little pieces.


As I watch her step dazedly through that crowd of family and friends toward the car, someday feels different. Feels ... real. Feels now.


In the movies, this is where they'd fade to black and let the credits roll. But real life is not a screenwriter's artifice. Tomorrow, we'll get up and go to work like always.


Still, there is a sense of summation, a sense that here is a moment in which to pause and appreciate what you came through and what you came to. The gospel song puts it best: "My soul looks back and wonders how I got over." It's a song appropriate to moments like these, moments redolent of things you hoped and pain you suffered and the realization that the cliches are true: if you hang in there, just keep struggling and stringing breaths together, anything can happen. Anything at all.


My wife starts screaming. "This is for me? This is my car?" Like she can't make herself believe.


The crowd yells, "Surprise!"


She starts running around the vehicle, hands to face, laughing, crying. I yell out, "Hey, Marilyn, remember how you said you wanted one of these someday? Well, it's someday."


Beaming, she climbs into the driver's seat. They yell at her to start the car. She can't. It's got a fancy ignition system she needs a minute to figure out. Even the valet laughs.


It's just a car, of course. Just metal and rubber and a lot of gadgets and doodads no car really needs. Just another material bauble that cannot follow you into the ground. But sitting there shining under the lights on the evening of my wife's 50th birthday, it feels like vindication and validation and I love you and thank you for persevering with me. Thank you for never giving up on us.


Everybody's talking at once. Some are climbing into the car with her.


I hang back, watching, smiling to myself, capturing the memory. It's enough.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR contributor Leonard Pitts, Jr.'s column by clicking here.

Leonard Pitts, Jr. Archives

© 2006, The Miami Herald Distributed by TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles