Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 17, 2006 / 23 Menachem-Av, 5766

War-time reflections

By Yaffa Ganz


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | This is my fourth War in Israel. The first, the Six Day War, was over before I quite absorbed what was happening. The two weeks preceding the war were the real nightmare. The war itself, over almost before it began, was one grand miracle.


The Yom Kippur War was shock and trauma from the first day. And it went on and on. Each morning I'd get up and say, "It must have been a bad dream. It's not happening." But it was.


The Gulf War was unbelievable, surrealistic, unreal. Even our ever-present gas masks and sheltered, mask-taped rooms seemed like Hollywood props. We followed security instructions but we walked with G-d. We were more curious than afraid. Even the media — secular as always — spoke of unending "miracles".


And now we are at war again. This year, the same as this time last year, the Nine Days leading up to Tisha B'Av, commemorating the destruction of both Holy Temples, all felt like Tisha B'Av itself, while the days after Tisha B'Av felt and still feel as though we are still in the midst of mourning and destruction.


Last year, after several years of daily miracles and thousands of katyushas, the horror of Katif turned out to be real enough. After heart wrenching months of incredibility, protests, refusal to accept the possibility that it would happen, it happened. A beautiful, pristine, hand carved piece of Eden was wiped off the face of the earth. For what? For nothing except to hide the sins of men and satisfy their ego. This Eden will be rebuilt; I have no doubt. But the price of its destruction was searing. And heartbreaking. And the suffering continues.


Now, a year later, at the one year commemoration of the destruction of Katif, the disengagement which was supposed to guarantee peace in the south, we are back fighting a war. In the north where we retreated from Lebanon, in the south where we retreated from Katif, and with a worrisome cauldron bubbling and boiling in the east.


We were riding to Jerusalem in the car the other day. Pastoral music was on the radio. Suddenly, the music stopped and an announcement filled the air:


Sirens are sounding in the north. Residents of Safed, Carmiel and Shtula are to enter shelters or protected areas immediately. I mean, here we are, minding our own business and riding peacefully along the highway while up north, forty minutes away, in half the country, a million and a half people are running to shelters! Rabbi Lau, the Chief Rabbi of Tel Aviv, said that this time we are not fighting "to protect our homes". For the first time, we are fighting from our homes.


One son just finished three weeks of Homefront Defense, pulling people from collapsed buildings in Haifa; another was called up to his artillery crew. His family is supposed to be moving in two days and his wife doesn't know how she will manage alone with the four kids underfoot. (It's summer vacation.)


The country is flooded with "guests" from the north. (Note: Arabs fleeing Lebanon are "refugees"; Jews fleeing northern Israel are "guests" to be welcomed into our homes) Many are in the homes of strangers who took them in. But how long can you be a guest in a stranger's house? A week? Two weeks? A month? And what about returning to work? And what about the people who could not or did not leave the north? If the grocery stores, banks, post offices, other offices, places of work are not functioning normally, how do you function normally? What is normal is this un-normal situation? And… the $64 question…. how long will it go on?


Israel, you see, has no strategic depth. The country is one long border, surrounded by frenzied haters who pray faithfully to Allah for strength to slaughter Allah's other children. The several thousand missiles which rained down on Israel since this war began four weeks ago were all aimed at civilian targets — cities, moshavim, hospitals, schools, supermarkets, shopping centers. Purposefully, consistently and determinedly, not by accident.


There are deep wells of strength in the Jewish people. Especially here in the Jewish Land. Quiet faith and determination. Recognition is dawning that the Jewish State is somehow different, special, the world's eternal lamb targeted for slaughter. But recognition does not mean acceptance. The people of Israsel do not have the slightest intention of being lamb-like at this point in history, even as their barely elected government makes plans to lower the flag and turn a defeat into a PR victory.


All this does not make for cheerful reading or for happy-go-lucky living. If Shimon Peres thought (and probably still thinks) that his "new" Middle East will allow him the dubious luxury of eating humus in Damascus, the vast majority of Jews in Israel have given up that fatuous, inane dream. Instead, they have clenched their teeth and their fists as they rearrange their priorities and head off to their reserve units. And the women, once again, are on the home front with the kids although in this war, the fighting front and the home front are indistinguishable.


Nonetheless, if we withstood the Destruction of two Temples, the Crusaders, the Inquisition, the Cossacks, the pogroms and the Holocaust, we will without a doubt withstand Hamas and Hezbollah (hopefully, maybe we'll pulverize them as well), Syria, Iran, the U.N. and the EU. Let us just pray that we do not repeat the stupid, unforgivable mistakes of the recent past and that the price of victory is not intolerably high.


May the Good L-rd remember His promise to His people and His Land. May He bless us, guard us, cause His countenance to shine upon us and bring us peace — His peace, not a "world opinion" PR peace, but a true and everlasting peace which will benefit the Jewish People, the Middle East and the World.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Yaffa Ganz is the award-winning author of more than forty titles, including "A Different Dimension".


ENJOY THIS COLUMN?

We recommend you pick up "A Different Dimension", the author's latest.

From contemplating the complexities of candlesticks to pondering the power of computers -- with every imaginable topic in between -- this book is a delight for the mind and the soul; a fresh, original look at life.

Comment by clicking here.


© 2006, Yaffa Ganz