Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 15, 2006 / 15 Adar, 5766

Post-Purim hangover

By Rabbi Berel Wein


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

Forget the wooziness, there is a deeper, more persistent and much more painful hangover that descends upon us after Purim


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Now that the holiday of Purim has safely past, many find themselves suffering from a hangover. There are those who are suffering from this hangover in a literal sense — too much drink, too much food, just too much. Well, a long nap and an analgesic to soothe the stomach and a cold compress for the headache will eventually provide relief for this type of post-Purim hangover.


But I feel that there is a deeper, more persistent and much more painful hangover that descends upon us after Purim. And those hangovers come from the realization that, though one Haman was vanquished many centuries ago, there were and are many others ready to take his place.


The story of Purim is therefore not a one-time event, an aberration of history, an accidental madman rising to power. It is rather the ultimate hangover that just refuses to go away. If that be the case then why all of the merriment and celebration on Purim? The triumph over Haman is only a temporary one, a short respite until the next onslaught against Jews, Judaism and the values that the Torah preaches and represents. And what a pounding hangover that realization can be!


Are there cures for this type of hangover? For many centuries, for most of Jewish history in fact, Jews were convinced that there really was no permanent cure for our hangover. Jewish survival and our eventual triumph over all of the various Hamans who constantly arose to persecute us lay in our strength of spirit, our tenacity of faith and tradition and in our attempts to outwit our enemies. We certainly had no ability to outgun them. Jews suffered and died and Haman always appeared triumphant but eventually Haman fell and the Jewish people, bloodied and battered, nonetheless persisted and survived. Jews saw this pattern of persecution and survival as a given, a facet of our existence that was almost inexorable and unable to be prevented.


Therefore, in a most ironic and paradoxical way, Purim represented not triumph or the elimination of Hamans from our world but rather the ability to survive and be productive and creative in spite of the fact that there would always be a Haman and that we would always have to struggle to survive his persecutions. Because of this view, Jews really did not suffer from a post-Purim hangover since they never had any illusions that Haman was really going to disappear permanently.


Only when great expectations are fostered and permanent solutions promised and, in spite of all of our efforts, Haman mocks us and continues to threaten does the sickening feeling of the post-Purim hangover take hold. Purim warns us that the story is not complete and that we are at best only granted respite in the words of Achasveirosh to Esther of "up to half of a kingdom."


To expect the whole kingdom would certainly lead to disappointment and depressed spirits not to mention a splitting headache.


Purim is connected to the commandment in the Torah regarding remembering Amalek. In that struggle against evil and murder, the Torah states explicitly that this a never-ending battle, a war of G-d and godliness against Amalek — from one generation until the next.


From this it is easy to deduce that Amalek is not subject to a one-time knockout punch that will end the struggle once and for all. It is rather a continuing struggle that every Jewish generation faces and must overcome, each generation in its own way and under its particular circumstances. The joy of Purim is always tempered by the fact that there are many more Purims that will be necessary to sustain us.


In the Passover Haggadah that we will recite at the Seder table in a few short weeks we are reminded that there is a continual line from Pharaoh to Haman to Titus to Chmelienicki to Hitler to the current president of Iran. These people really meant and really mean to destroy us. No words are minced and no threats are veiled. It would be foolhardy at the least to pretend that no real danger exists to our survival.


Yet all of our past history tells us that we should not be overly pessimistic about our future. We should not fall prey to the post-Purim hangover syndrome. Rather our realism should include the lessons of faith and tenacity that have stood us in such good stead over the ages. The tempered joy of our Purim will help usher us into the moment of redemption and renewal that Passover signifies.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Rabbi Berel Wein --- Jewish historian, author and international lecturer offers a complete selection of CDs, audio tapes, video tapes, DVDs, and books on Jewish history at www.rabbiwein.com Comment by clicking here.


© 2006, Rabbi Berel Wein