Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 25, 2011 / 21 Adar I, 5771

Inside Muammar's Madhouse: Calling on Colonel Gaddafi

By Richard Z. Chesnoff





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Visiting Muammar Gaddafi's Libya was always like dropping into "Abdul in Wonderland."

Marketplaces were jammed with shops but empty of goods. Enormous signboards bore the illogical slogans of the even more illogical Green Book, the bible of Gaddafi's Jamahiriya --- state of the masses.

Walls were plastered with enormous posters of "The Leader" wearing everything from gold embroidered imperial military uniforms to Arab ghalabiyas to outfits totally incongruous for a harsh desert land: designer ski suits.

It was all more than slightly mad. Once when I drove by car from the Tunisian border to the Libyan capital city of Tripoli, I noticed that all the direction signs on Libya's main coastal highway had been completely blacked out: "It's to confuse the enemy," my Libyan escort explained.

Still nothing was weirder than going to see the Leader himself.

My first visit to Gaddafi was in October 1986, just a few months after US warplanes had bombed Tripoli in punishment for a Libyan terrorist bombing of US troops in Germany. It was to be Gaddafi's first interview with an American newsman since the attack and had been arranged by the Libyan ambassador in Paris -- my then base for US News & World Report. Yet when I flew into Tripoli, I was immediately ordered confined to my hotel -- and not allowed out. "The Leader may summon us at any moment," my Libyan minder explained.

Over the next eight days, there was little to do but take part in what fellow journalist Ruth Marshall once jokingly called "the bar scene from Star Wars" -- the nightly gathering in the lobby of the posh Al Kabir Hotel of assorted businessmen, foreign advisers and terrorists of all stripes: IRA, Palestinian, Basque. "Everyone's waiting to see Gaddafi," explained a Damascus-based Kurdish rebel leader, who like the rest of his fellow militants patiently awaited a chance to see Libya's chief cash-cow.

The author with Gaddafi in 1986

Gaddafi was still young then, still trim and ruggedly handsome without the puffiness and scraggy appearance that marks him of late. He was engaging -- if illogical. Secretary of State George Schultz, he insisted, was "really an Israeli." Ronald Reagan "should be tried as a killer and a murderer and a madman. " Gaddafi's ultimate goal was to unite all the Arab nations. "Arab unity is a unification of Arab countries into states like the United States. This is the role I am playing -- a mixture of the roles of George Washington and Abraham Lincoln."

He then took me to see what was left of the presidential bedroom where he said "Reagan thought I was sleeping" (he wasn't). Velvet paintings of lions adorned the wall, his round maroon bed featured a headboard that carried an enormous photo montage of the surf at Big Sur.

Just before I left he suddenly told me that Fidel Castro had become a Communist "under American pressure… I am not a Communist, but I might be obliged -- just to nag America -- to become a Communist out of spite."

We didn't meet again until 1994. This time he received me at his heavily guarded Bedouin tent encampment on the western outskirts of Tripoli. The Leader was practicing soccer with some of his guards (male ones) when I arrived. The game over, Gaddafi, still looking trim and fit, strode into his colorful tent. He looked well. While a charcoal bonfire crackled outside, he told me how grateful he was to me for my previous interview. "Unlike a lot of journalists," he said. "You quoted my words just as I said them."

He said he was optimistic about relations with Bill Clinton. Then the Leader continued with his usual rantings -- finally telling me that his rule over Libya had "laid down the threshold of the era of the masses. We have created a 'Great Man-Made River'… a new wonder to be added to the wonders of the world. [But the real] revolution starts now. We will lead the world toward a new era, eliminating armies and bringing an end to the evils of traditional governments, parties and classes. In their place we will establish a jamahiriya, a state of the masses. Then and only then will a lasting peace be realized."

Tragically for Libya, it's nowhere near.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

CHESNOFF'S LATEST
Pack of Thieves: How Hitler and Europe Plundered the Jews and Committed the Greatest Theft in History  

Sales help fund JWR.



JWR contributor and veteran journalist Richard Z. Chesnoff was Senior Correspondent at US News & World Report, and is now a columnist at the NY Daily News and the Huffington Post. A two-time winner of the Overseas Press Club Award and a recipient of the National Press Club Award, he was formerly executive editor of Newsweek International. The paperback edition of his critically acclaimed book, "Pack of Thieves: How Hitler & Europe Plundered the Jews & Committed the Greatest Theft in History" is now on sale. (Click on cover above to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.

To comment, please click here.


ARCHIVES


© 2009, Richard Z. Chesnoff

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles