Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

How this Christian JWR Reader found inspiration and enlightenment in her own faith through a new Jewish Bible




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Jewish World Review:

As a Christian who loves the Jewish people, I've been a fan of your site for several years. After a tour of Israel with my pastor a few years ago, I became absorbed with exploring the Jewish roots of my Christian faith. Along the way, I've discovered many other sincere believers who both love the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob and His people, the Jews. Like me, they're engaged in a similar search of spiritual archaeology. The journey has been frustrating and fascinating, a kind of spiritual see-saw at times as I've vacillated between certainty and searching.


While my facility with Hebrew is limited, I know enough to see that there are some curious differences between the biblical text Jews have traditionally used and the translations I've relied upon to convey the meaning of the Hebrew text. That has been once source of my frustration.


On the other hand, my spelunking has rewarded me with a fascinating understanding of the Jewish perspective on the Bible. My whole reason for writing you is to share my most recent "find". Recently I found a newly-published treasure at my local Judaica store: The ArtScroll Tanach: The Jewish Bible with insights from classic rabbinic sources .


(For those who may not know, Tanach is a Hebrew acronym which stands for Torah, Prophets, and Writings and constitutes what many refer to in English as the "Old Testament", though the order and method of numbering the books is different.)


I was familiar with ArtScroll as a well-known publisher of Jewish books in English. In fact, I have a few books from them. But I was overjoyed to find this "Jewish Bible for the English reader". It's an authentically Jewish interpretation of the Hebrew Scriptures. But it's not a liberal commentary, like others I've seen. It's written from a posture of faith and acceptance of God as Creator, as Sustainer of the world, and as Giver of the written Word to the Jewish people through Moses and the prophets. I also believe that.


Secondly, the commentary on nearly every page provides fascinating insights from the Hebrew language and from rabbinic interpretation. In flipping through the volume, I noted that the ArtScroll English Tanach explains a number of passages that have been misunderstood in other English translations. Two popular examples are "ayin tachas ayin — an eye for an eye" and "lo tirzach — do not kill." The Jewish Sages explain that "an eye for an eye" is a compensatory statement --- to pay damages for the loss of an eye. And the Torah's notion of killing goes further than murder. It also includes manslaughter; it can also mean to embarrass a person publicly or to deprive one of livelihood. I had no idea the Jewish point of view had such layers of meaning on a text.


The English translation is contemporary and engaging. There are a lot of useful maps, diagrams, charts, and other study aids in the back that add yet more depth. My favorite is the Tanach at a Glance section, which provides a quick overview of the contents of each chapter along with the verse reference where it appears. I do get a bit lost in the rabbinic commentary because I'm not familiar with all the sources cited.


Most amazing, though, is how the publisher has managed to make all 24 books of the Bible fit into one lightweight volume. Though the book is over 1,400 pages, it's just two pounds!



The "Jewish roots" movement among Christians is very widespread today. I see it manifest in so many ways; in our fellowship's menu of adult education classes, in the Hebraic flavor of music in our worship services, and even in the choice of some to keep a biblical form of kosher eating (avoiding pork and shellfish products, for example). I know believers who have stopped celebrating Christmas and Easter, claiming those holidays have their roots in paganism. Instead, they are celebrating biblical holidays, such as the Feast of Tabernacles (Sukkos), Purim (associated with the salvation of the Jews described in the Book of Esther), and even Passover Seders.


At the end of the day, it all comes back to the Bible and its prescriptions for right living. This ArtScroll Tanach is inspiring me to deepen my understanding and appreciation of the Jewish perspective. I have so much to share now with my Bible study group! I've recommended this new Bible to a number of other believers who, like me, love the Word and who study it daily to "show themselves approved unto God".



SEE FOR YOURSELF

Witness the new Bible for yourself by


by clicking HERE. (Scroll down a bit). You can also buy it at a 10% discount.


I know JWR has many Christian readers. I hope that they'll too avail themselves to this spiritual gift.


As for your Jewish fans, I can't imagine that the People of the Book don't already have one at home or in the office. But if that's the case, take it from somebody who admires your heritage, this Book is a must-have. Treasure it.

In His love and grace,
Mary Williams
Los Angeles CA

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspirational material. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

We want your comments! Please let us know what you think by clicking here.





© 2011, JewishWorldReview.com