Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 17, 2008 / 20 Kislev

Facebook epidemic: More than 120 million have joined, many too old for this nonsense

By Michael Smerconish


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Should productive adults with families to raise, jobs to do, and taxes to pay be Facebooking?

Dave Frankel is a good friend and a lawyer who happened to spend more than two decades as a television news reporter, weatherman and anchorman.

So you can imagine my surprise last week when he sent me an invitation to "check out his Facebook profile." My response?

Grown men, especially Philly guys, don't Facebook.

I did check out Frankel's Facebook digs though, mostly because I wanted to see what it's all about.

"omg! I have so often wondered how you are!" read one post on Frankel's wall. "I knew you had stayed in Philadelphia ... and that's it. I've been in Chicago since '93. I have 3 fantastic kids - one's in college in Boston - freshman this year, can you believe it?"

I couldn't. And in the process of moderating Frankel's online reunion, I had inadvertently created my own Facebook page. That morning, dozens of people friended me. Some already had pictures of me posted on their own Facebook pages.

OMG! I thought.

Frankel told me he had a similar epiphany a few weeks ago. Preparing to speak to a news director about a client, the first thing Frankel retrieved in a Google search was the director's Facebook page. There, Frankel's online game of tag began: "Our clients, reporters, anchors, news directors, general managers, producers ... They're all in here. They're all doing it," he told me.

Frankel's not the only one. Buzz Bissinger - Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter, author of one of the most acclaimed sports books ever ("Friday Night Lights"), and a man whose hatred of blogs has been well-documented - has set up shop on Facebook.

A woman named Cindy who works down the hall from my radio studio has been friended by a cat and two dogs. Her cousin, an employee of the city, entertains friend requests from colonial figures like Betsy Ross and Alexander Hamilton all the time.

LOL.

I guess I shouldn't be surprised. Facebook now boasts more than 120 million users, including 30 million added in the last three months alone. About 20 percent are between 35 and 54 years old.

And now the site's operators are doing more to bring adults and businesspeople into the fold. A recently announced collaboration between Facebook and Salesforce.com will let Facebook users do more to manage their businesses - planning events, managing data and recruiting - right there on Facebook's network.

Last year, Facebook started letting users determine who among their friends or potential friends could see what information in their profiles. Meaning, you might not be able to see pictures of your 23-year-old co-worker playing beer pong dressed as Cap'n Crunch, but other friends will. No doubt that increased control will draw more businesspeople into the network.

I hear Facebook is great for sharing stories and pictures with family members scattered throughout the country. Instead of having 10 conversations, you're having one. Others say they believe it's a great way to reconnect with old friends. Some parents say it's perfect for keeping track of whom your kids are hanging out with and what they're up to.

I'm sure that's all true. But I can't help but think that social networking adds a whole new layer of awkward etiquette for those of us older than 30.

Think about how cell phones have affected our communications habits. Obviously it's easier than ever to immediately contact anybody you want. And the conventional wisdom is that we're in touch with more people more often with a cell phone strapped to our sides.

But gone are those secondary relationships fostered when the only phone ringing was the cordless house phone. Now, on that rare occasion when someone else answers the phone, we stammer all over ourselves trying to make conversation.

Small talk? A lost art.

Now, thanks to Facebook, I can look forward to phone calls from old friends wondering why I haven't yet accepted their invitation to be Web 2.0 friends, too (Isn't the phone call enough?). Or sending messages asking an acquaintance to take an embarrassing picture down (That's not mine). Or would-be fan mail posted on my wall for anyone to see (No, voting for Barack Obama doesn't make me a socialist).

If only Seinfeld was still around to deal with this.

Bottom line: Texting is for chicks, Facebook is for teens, and nobody is going to convince me otherwise. But that isn't stopping more and more folks my age from trying.

I've got four words for them:

TTYL.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:

12/01/08 The high price of downsizing the news biz
11/14/08 Prescience on greed, arrogance of a system
09/29/08 Closer look at party lines
08/26/08 Obama's pick creates GOP opportunity
08/21/08 Fishing with the Angry Everyman
07/31/08 The perils of e-mail: Ponder, then click
05/22/08 Two very different sides of the Internet
02/12/08 Sublimely ridiculous suits
11/28/08 Cell phones cut out secondary circle of kinship
09/26/07 What do we owe those who have died in Iraq?
08/30/07 A Navy SEAL's gut-wrenching tale of survival
07/30/07 First it was a faux pas, now it's a new word


© 2008, The Philadelphia Inquirer Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles