Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 30, 2007 / 15 Menachem-Av, 5767

First it was a faux pas, now it's a new word

By Michael Smerconish


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I've launched a campaign to coin a word.

My word is hatriolic. And now I think the odds of getting it into the dictionary are ginormous.

Merriam-Webster just adopted ginormous, an adjective based on the combination of gigantic and enormous, and meaning extremely large or humongous, for its 2007 version. It's also adding Bollywood, smackdown and crunk.

All it takes is usage. If people say it enough, it makes the list. According to research published on http://www.firstmention. com, a Google news archive search revealed that ginormous was used in 540 different articles in 2006 alone. It's been around longer than that. Ginormous is believed to have first been uttered around 1948, when it was a slang term used by members of the British military in the years after World War II.

My word doesn't have that pedigree. I've been saying hatriolic for just a few years. I think I created it. With clear conscience, I say I have no knowledge of having Bidened anyone else's speech.

I'd like to tell you my original use was intentional, but, truth be told, it was a faux pas. I would have gotten away with it, but somebody at the New Yorker captured my mistake and listed it among examples of gibberish induced by election fatigue in the 2004 cycle. ("On CNN, a conservative radio-talk-show host named Michael Smerconish, called on by Anderson Cooper to respond to a segment with Michael Moore, said that Moore was 'motivated by hatriol.' ")

Now I kind of like it, so much so that I have recruited a campaign manager for my effort to get hatriolic in circulation: Peter Meltzer. He's the Neil Oxman of wordsmiths, and author of The Thinker's Thesaurus. Peter suggested that our platform be based on the fact that hatriolic has no one-word equivalent.

"Thus, it promotes economy of expression, in the same way that there is no one-word equivalent for bloviate" - another word of recent popularity - "which means to speak at length in a pompous manner," Peter told me. I like his rationale. I think I will make him our press secretary, too.

Our campaign research has already charted an increase in the use of the word hatriolic since I first coined it - both as a noun and an adjective. Occasionally, I get attribution. There's even a Web site that contains the word itself (http://www.hatriolic.blogspot.com). The blogger behind that site, who calls himself The Hatriolic, says he lives "in the greater Philadelphia area," which is encouraging of my role. So, too, are these examples:

In January 2006, another blogger actually attributed hatriolic to me in a post critical of left-wing bumper stickers. The post concluded: "I say it's time we right-minded people start coming up with a few creative, hatriolic (HT [as in "hat tip"] to Michael Smerconish) schtickers of our own!"

Then there's Appleinsider.com (http://www.appleinsider.com), site of a 2006 donnybrook concerning George W. Bush's presidency. There, a Bush defender from West Chester featured both the noun and adjective form of my word. The post reads: "It's the hatriolic (as I've said, a made-up but really good word!) words I take exception to. It's calling Bush a loser, a dead beat, a liar, a cheat, a scumbag . . ."

And the derivative: "I'm sure the mere mention of [Ann] Coulter will send some into a fury (Boring book, by the way, but once you filter out her craziness and hatriol, it's pretty informative)."

And on a Web site about Division III college football (http://d3football.com), there was even a writer who used hatriolic in arguing that his college team, Dickinson, was better than Ursinus College.

My neologistic endeavors won't end with hatriolic. I've got others in the pipeline. See what you think:

Hotriolic - Actually a derivative of hatriolic, this word means "hostility toward licentious, beautiful women." Example: "I've been less hotriolic toward Paris Hilton since she did time."

Pottified - Well read. Used especially for youth. Example: "The children were pottified by the time they'd completed fifth grade."

Knoxed - Denied satisfactory return on a major investment. Example: "I spent $100 on the date, but I got knoxed at the end of the night."

Pakisource - Outsourcing of tasks vital to national security at great financial cost and to countries woefully unprepared and uninterested in the job. Example: "Given the success we've had in finding Osama bin Laden, here's hoping the administration doesn't pakisource control of the Mexican border."

Wighted - A suburban phenomenon among the nouveaux riches wherein white Christmas lights are hung in such abundance that they overtake colored lights. "Newtown is a wighted community located in picturesque Bucks County."

Vicktious - Demonstrating a propensity for stupid cruelty. Example: "He's so vicktious, he'd kill a puppy."

Gibstoxication - Inebriation to the point of anti-Semitism. Example: "We all went to see The Passion of the Christ, and on the way home, Mel got busted for gibstoxication."

Securistic - Providing the appearance of security without actually making anyone truly secure. Example: "The Transportation Security Administration is acting securistic in allowing shampoo in air travelers' carry-on bags only in amounts of 3 ounces or less."

Iraqnaphobia - Fear of news reports from the Middle East. Example: "Some Republican congressmen have succumbed to their Iraqnaphobia in recent weeks."

If it all pans out, I will be in good company. Sir Winston Churchill, who coined locust years to refer to a period of economic hardship, is among the many who have invented their own words. Alfred Hitchcock is associated with the word MacGuffin, used to mean a device that helps propel the plot in a story but is of little importance otherwise.

And H.L. Mencken coined bibliobibuli to refer to someone who reads too much.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


© 2007, The Philadelphia Inquirer Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles