Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 29, 2010 / 17 Tamuz 5770

Name elite corps to develop energy independence?

By Michael Smerconish



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Unsolicited, I've written a speech for President Obama:

My fellow Americans, nearly 50 years ago, President Kennedy promised to send a man to the moon and back by the end of the decade — not because it was easy, but because it was hard. And we did.

Twenty-one years before that, President Roosevelt authorized another urgent national effort — this one more clandestine than the race to the moon. Its completion brought about the end of World War II.

In each of those instances, presidential initiative inspired the most-skilled Americans to tackle a problem of immense proportion. Today, we trace their footsteps by establishing yet another elite core of our most innovative and intelligent minds. Their task: to usher our country into an era of energy independence.

For nearly eight weeks, crude oil has been flowing — at the rate of tens of thousands of barrels a day — from a ruptured pipe to the surface of the Gulf of Mexico and toward the coasts of Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida. The damage, still impossible to fully comprehend, will no doubt be severe and far-reaching. A camera has captured the flood, streaming it from 5,000 feet below the surface to computer screens five inches from our faces. The current crisis has led us to this tipping point.

I have authorized the formation and initial funding of an unprecedented renewal effort — an effort whose goal will be to wean us off the crack pipe of foreign oil, to calm the cravings that follow, and to deliver the United States of America to the sobriety of energy independence.

This push will be manned by the very best and brightest minds this country can offer. From the Silicon Valley to the Space Coast, we are recruiting academics and engineers, scientists and CEOs, programmers and Ph.D.s — all with the goal of accelerating America toward new, clean, and safe forms of energy. While I would like to have seen a solution to our oil dependence arise from the private sector, no fix has been forthcoming, and so I am using the power of this office to marshal the effort. I am, however, involving the private sector's most talented people from a variety of disciplines.

I have asked Steve Jobs and Bill Gates, both of whom are here with us today, to launch the effort, along with Sergey Brin, cofounder of Google; Steven Levitt, author and economist at the University of Chicago; and T. Boone Pickens, chairman of BP Capital.

Their effort will replicate the structure, determination, willpower, and scientific innovation of the Manhattan Project. Between 1942 and 1945, about 125,000 Americans scattered throughout numerous factories and labs across the country — including 5,000 in Los Alamos, N.M. — contributed to the creation of the atomic bomb. They were the most proficient scientists and engineers in the country. They worked together and lived together, totally immersed in the task before them. Today, we are launching a similarly comprehensive effort.

This work will be funded by a partnership of public and private entities. We have committed $1 billion each from the Departments of Defense and Homeland Security and from the Environmental Protection Agency. Construction of a headquarters is already under way in the Silicon Valley. Satellite labs will be built and launched across the country. They will soon be bustling with the most accomplished scholars and graduates from our most prestigious universities.

The federal government, however, will not bankroll this movement alone. We have begun seeking financial commitments from the private sector as well, in the hopes of matching and surpassing the federal commitment.

Ours is not a cause motivated simply by environmentalism. At its heart, this project has been undertaken with the safety of the American people hanging in the balance. Every barrel of oil making its way from the wells of the Middle East to the shores of the United States is a form of indirect funding for those who wish to do this country harm. So, every step toward new and homegrown sources of energy is one step away from those who harbor America's most dangerous enemies.

At the same time, we acknowledge that truly American energy will not be developed overnight. In the intervening decades, we will continue to seek safe, reliable drilling opportunities in places outside the Middle East. Proposals like cap-and-trade or carbon taxes — wielding an economic stick at our country's crisis of energy — are no longer viable solutions. Moreover, they presuppose that alternative-energy sources are available right now, when the reality is that we are not yet prepared to depend on anything other than oil to power us forward.

Someday, however, we will be. And when that day comes, a future president will stand before you — this time to marvel at years of ingenuity that ushered in a new era of American safety and sustainability. Thank you, and G0d bless the United States of America.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


04/21/10 New account reinforces a serviceman's valor
03/11/10 Medical profession must police itself better
02/18/10 One-trick athletes
02/09/10 Active, retired law officers should be able to carry guns on planes to help stop terrorists
02/04/10 How to bring tech up to speed
01/28/10 Campaign donations must be fully and immediately disclosed online
01/07/10 The flying emperor still has no clothes, and no one is willing to say so
12/24/09 A law to mandate college football playoffs?
12/17/09 Cheney's abuse of freedom of speech
11/26/09 The true cost of freedom from anxiety
10/27/09 If GOP wants to win in 2012, it must reshape its primary process
10/08/09 It's time to get smarter on extended school day
09/03/09 What a summer of eulogizing flawed public figures reveals about society
08/12/09 It's time for cyclists and motorists to reconcile
08/05/09 Faces have changed, but vitriol remains
06/25/09 Fair comment or foul? Warm up the Muzzle Meter
06/08/09 Believability is key in crime-hoax villains
05/14/09 Did Hollywood inspire the meltdown men?
04/20/09 Let's give killers their due: Anonymity
03/12/09 Uninsured who can't afford medical care lose a lot more
02/06/09 My debate with Musharraf on hunt for bin Laden
01/29/09 Torture must remain an option
01/15/09 Making a case for suing Madoff
12/22/08 A difficult but rational chat about ‘plans’
12/17/08 Facebook epidemic: More than 120 million have joined, many too old for this nonsense
12/01/08 The high price of downsizing the news biz
11/14/08 Prescience on greed, arrogance of a system
09/29/08 Closer look at party lines
08/26/08 Obama's pick creates GOP opportunity
08/21/08 Fishing with the Angry Everyman
07/31/08 The perils of e-mail: Ponder, then click
05/22/08 Two very different sides of the Internet
02/12/08 Sublimely ridiculous suits
11/28/08 Cell phones cut out secondary circle of kinship
09/26/07 What do we owe those who have died in Iraq?
08/30/07 A Navy SEAL's gut-wrenching tale of survival
07/30/07 First it was a faux pas, now it's a new word


© 2008, The Philadelphia Inquirer Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles