Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 3, 2012/ 8 Teves, 5772

Headlines hoped for in 2012

By Michael Smerconish



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You'd think I would have learned my lesson. But at this time last year, I predicted six 2011 headlines, only one of which has appeared - below the Mendoza Line even for a columnist.

To be fair, these were news items I wanted but did not necessarily expect to see. And the one that did come true was a biggie.

First, I was hoping we'd see a regional primary system in the presidential contest. Instead of the traditional Iowa-New Hampshire-Super Tuesday routine, I hoped the 2012 cycle would be the first to use a rotating system of primaries for four regions of the country.

That didn't happen, and as Iowans prepare to caucus on Tuesday, the need for change has grown more acute. The beginning of the presidential cycle gives too much power to an unrepresentative few.

Another disappointment is that I still can't buy a six-pack at a Wawa. I had hoped this was the year I would see a headline proclaiming that Bud could be bought at a local convenience store. Nope. Big Brother continues to protect us by limiting our 7-Eleven purchases to cigs, soda, and snacks. Go figure.

Gov. Corbett is still promising to deal with the Liquor Control Board in 2012. I'm already drinking to that.

But my third wished-for headline did come true this year. I said I wanted to read this: "U.S. Special Forces Enter Pakistan." Five months before we really got Osama bin Laden, I wrote this hypothetical lead:

"ISLAMABAD, Pakistan - After receiving fire from militants on the Pakistan side of the border with Afghanistan near the mountainous Hindu Kush region, U.S. troops today pursued their attackers across that border. ...

"An exasperated President Obama today confirmed that U.S. Special Forces will continue to cross the Afghanistan border into Pakistan on the ground in search of Osama bin Laden, Ayman al-Zawahiri, and other al-Qaida leaders."

An economic headline I wanted to read never materialized. But I continue to believe that a necessary step toward an economic recovery is psychological, and that we'll see marked improvements when talking heads start speaking in more optimistic terms. That still hasn't happened, which is a shame.

I also prayed that the U.S. Supreme Court would rule against Westboro Baptist Church and in favor of Al Snyder, the father of a Marine whose funeral was marred by members of the small Kansas congregation carrying hateful placards. Instead, the court sided with Westboro - a real sin.

Finally, I hoped there would be an up-or-down vote on the Simpson-Bowles commission's fiscal plan. Not only did that not happen, but as the year ends, there has been no congressional vote on any bipartisan bid to address the debt and deficit. And that remains a disgrace.

Despite all this, I remain undeterred. So here are six headlines I hope to read in 2012:

Pennsylvania opens primary process: Recognizing that unaffiliated voters now make up the fastest-growing demographic in the nation's electorate, the commonwealth should end its closed primary process and allow independent voters an entrée into primary contests.

Sandusky pleads guilty: If he didn't do it, the ex-coach should fight. But if he did it, he should move quickly to spare his victims the indignity of a brutal criminal trial.

Christie accepts Romney invite: The Garden State would survive not having its chief executive for the four months he'd be needed on the campaign trail, and the state would benefit from having its former No. 1 as the country's No. 2. Christie would give a Romney-led ticket a sense of populism it will otherwise desperately lack. Romney should ask, and Christie should accept.

Clean sweep: However the 2012 election turns out, I'm increasingly of the mind-set that one party needs to hold all the reins of government, if for no other reason than to finally show whether austerity or a Keynesian approach can turn the economy around. The only thing coming from divided government is obstinacy, epitomized by the House class elected in 2010, and by the Senate, where 60 is the new 51 (votes).

Led Zeppelin Blu-ray released: Look, if Van Halen can stage (another) comeback in 2012, the least Led Zeppelin can do is finally release a DVD of the heralded Dec. 10, 2007, Ahmet Ertegun tribute concert staged at the O2 arena. So sharp were Messrs. Plant, Page, Jones, and (Jason) Bonham that there were rumors of a world tour that, sadly, never materialized.

They're not getting any younger, and neither are we. If we're not bringing our lighters to an arena one last time, at least let us watch at home on our flat screens.

Frazier statue unveiled: The Rev. Jesse Jackson was correct when, at Smokin' Joe's November funeral service, he said the champ deserved a statue a la Rocky. The idea has since caught some fire online. The Philly Live! development seems like an ideal location. Here's hoping it materializes soon.

Happy new year.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


11/09/11 Romney, beware: Cain may bob through the straits
11/02/11 Where there's ad smoke, there's … what?
10/20/11 After husband is murdered, 30 long years of phone calls
10/13/11 Black women should only marry out of their race?
08/31/11 Some political gaffes really say something
07/27/11 An overture of candidates' theme songs
06/28/11 Where's the app for common sense?
06/02/11 Over-scrutinizing lives costs us potential leaders
04/19/11 Taking a chance to say, ‘Hi’
04/06/11 Race policies should be altered to reflect new demographic reality
11/10/10 Delaware's independent, but short-lived, voice
11/03/10 Papers should leave endorsing to others
10/21/10 Media help to hype perception of bullying
09/23/10 Officer down, killer hyped up
08/04/10 Documents highlight Pakistan's shortcomings as a U.S. ally
07/06/10 On taking back Sept. 11
06/29/10 Name elite corps to develop energy independence?
04/21/10 New account reinforces a serviceman's valor
03/11/10 Medical profession must police itself better
02/18/10 One-trick athletes
02/09/10 Active, retired law officers should be able to carry guns on planes to help stop terrorists
02/04/10 How to bring tech up to speed
01/28/10 Campaign donations must be fully and immediately disclosed online
01/07/10 The flying emperor still has no clothes, and no one is willing to say so
12/24/09 A law to mandate college football playoffs?
12/17/09 Cheney's abuse of freedom of speech
11/26/09 The true cost of freedom from anxiety
10/27/09 If GOP wants to win in 2012, it must reshape its primary process
10/08/09 It's time to get smarter on extended school day
09/03/09 What a summer of eulogizing flawed public figures reveals about society
08/12/09 It's time for cyclists and motorists to reconcile
08/05/09 Faces have changed, but vitriol remains
06/25/09 Fair comment or foul? Warm up the Muzzle Meter
06/08/09 Believability is key in crime-hoax villains
05/14/09 Did Hollywood inspire the meltdown men?
04/20/09 Let's give killers their due: Anonymity
03/12/09 Uninsured who can't afford medical care lose a lot more
02/06/09 My debate with Musharraf on hunt for bin Laden
01/29/09 Torture must remain an option
01/15/09 Making a case for suing Madoff
12/22/08 A difficult but rational chat about ‘plans’
12/17/08 Facebook epidemic: More than 120 million have joined, many too old for this nonsense
12/01/08 The high price of downsizing the news biz
11/14/08 Prescience on greed, arrogance of a system
09/29/08 Closer look at party lines
08/26/08 Obama's pick creates GOP opportunity
08/21/08 Fishing with the Angry Everyman
07/31/08 The perils of e-mail: Ponder, then click
05/22/08 Two very different sides of the Internet
02/12/08 Sublimely ridiculous suits
11/28/08 Cell phones cut out secondary circle of kinship
09/26/07 What do we owe those who have died in Iraq?
08/30/07 A Navy SEAL's gut-wrenching tale of survival
07/30/07 First it was a faux pas, now it's a new word


© 2008, The Philadelphia Inquirer Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles