Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 26, 2006 / 4 Mar-Cheshvan, 5767

How I became a Democrat

By Michael Graham


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Alright, I'm in. You can turn off CNN, stop emailing me the NYTimes editorials and stuff a sock in Keith Olbermann's piehole. You've done it. You've closed the deal.


I'm ready to vote Democrat.


I am prepared to walk into that elementary school gymnasium on November 7th and pull a straight "D" ticket (at the federal level, anyway). The man who proudly ran Pat Buchanan's campaign in South Carolina in 1992 is ready, willing and able to vote Democrat early and, in the proud Democratic tradition, often.


Speaker Pelosi? No problem. Majority Leader Reid? Absolutely. I don't care how much cash he rakes in off unreported Las Vegas land deals. I say "Let it ride!"


I haven't voted to send a Democrat to Washington since my college "Fight The Power!" days. I can count on one hand the Democratic candidates I've supported for any office — mostly elected positions involving the pursuit and restraint of unleashed pets.


But other than the economy, George W. Bush has screwed up nearly everything he's touched, and this Congress is spending more time covering asses than Mark Foley at a high school Twister tournament.


I'm not alone, either. Some politically savvy conservatives argue that it's time to send the GOP leadership a message that, despite popular belief, it is possible to suck so badly that even the Kool-Aid Conservatives will notice. These pundits believe two years in the wilderness will bring the GOP back to the straight and narrow in 2008.


It makes sense in a twisted, masochistic "I read Machiavelli when I was a freshman but didn't quite grasp the concept" sort of way.


Regardless, I'm a shameless bandwagon jumper and I'm ready to cast my lot with the party of Roosevelt, Truman and McCain (mostly) — Let's Go Dems!


I only have one, small question first. Nothing complicated. Should be easy.


What are you (sorry — make that "we") Democrats going to do about Iraq and the Islamists?


See, I'm a one-issue voter. Republican loyalists are right that, by voting Democrat, I'm raising taxes or supporting racial quotas or screwing up the chance for a truly conservative US Supreme Court. But you know what? I don't care.


There is only one vital issue facing our nation and threatening the future for my children, and it is the growing Islamist threat facing Western civilization. How are we going to win in Iraq and confront the challenge of radical Islam as it continues to spread into Europe and beyond? That's my only consideration as a voter.


And given the non-stop, around-the-clock bashing of President Bush's foreign policy by the Democrats and their allies in the media, it's clear that they agree that Bush isn't getting the job done.


Mission accomplished? Please. How about "Mission Not Royally Screwed Up?" That would be an improvement.


So my new Democratic friends and I are together on the "Bush Sucks" thing, great. But I think I must have missed a meeting or accidentally deleted an email from Moveon.org or something, because I still haven't seen the Democratic plan to fix Iraq and kick terrorist butt. Could someone please point me to the page of Time magazine's recent "Barack For President" issue with the "How To Win the War on Terror" bullet points? Thanks.


Wazzat? You can't? Comrade, what do you mean there ISN'T a Democratic strategy for terrorism? Of course there is. There's gotta be. I mean — seriously — what kind of political party has no war plan at a time when were actively at war? When 135,000 troops are in the field, and where six weeks ago we foiled a plot to blow 10 American aircraft out of the sky?


Hello?


C'mon guys, I'm not kidding around. I'm ready to go — Hillary, Kennedy…hell, I'll vote Ned Lamont if I have to. But there's got to be a Democrats' "How we defeat the woman-beating, homosexual-executing, book-burning, anti-Semitic, knuckle-dragging Islamists who want to kill us" position paper somewhere. Right?


It's like the John McCain detainee bill the president just signed. Sure, Democrats overwhelming opposed it, but that was just politics, I'm sure. Once you're in power, you'll be waterboarding Al Qaeda detainees on Tuesdays and Thursdays instead of the current Mon-Wed-Fri schedule, right? After all, the Democrats' position on stopping terror can't be to leave Iraq, stop wiretapping, end coercive interrogation and reveal our secret tracking of terror money abroad in the New York Times. That's crazy.


There's got to be a real Democrat war plan, and I want in on it. How Democrats would use force, how abandoning Iraq to the Islamists will actually help stop them in North Africa or southern Europe. You know — the PLAN?


I'm just waiting on you, Democrats, and then I'm off to stuff the nearest ballot box. Some say I'm going to have long wait, but I don't believe them.


We Democrats know how to keep hope alive.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Michael Graham is a talk show host at 96.9 FM TALK in Boston and author of the highly acclaimed "Redneck Nation: How the South Really Won the War." To comment, please click here.



Archives


© 2006, Michael Graham

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles