Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 5, 2006 / 9 Tamuz, 5766

The American way?

By Michael Graham


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Since 1938, Superman has fought valiantly to preserve "truth, justice and the American way," battling beside American soldiers in WWII and frequently appearing in print, on TV and in film with an American flag. However, in the new film Superman Returns, director Bryan Singer and his scriptwriters, Michael Dougherty and Dan Harris, explicitly rejected the phrase "the American way" as "tainted."


"We were always hesitant to include the term 'American way' because the meaning of that today is somewhat uncertain," Dougherty told the Hollywood Reporter. "I think when people say 'American way,' they're actually talking about what the 'American way' meant back in the '40s and '50s, which was something more noble and idealistic .[emphasis added] … He's an international superhero."


OPENING SCENE: UN General Secretary Kofi Annan sits behind his desk reading a report. At his arm is a large envelope of cash with "Thanks for the 'food,' Kofi! Your Pal, Saddam" written on it. Suddenly through the open window flies….the Man of Steel!


SUPERMAN: General Secretary Annan! I must speak to you immediately!


ANNAN (quickly shoving the envelope in a desk drawer) Of course, Superman. What is it?


SUPERMAN: I've just learned that Hamas terrorists have tunneled into Israel, killed two border guards and kidnapped a 19-year-old soldier. My super-hearing has detected the Hamas hideout where he's being tortured and I was about to fly in and rescue him before it's too late!


ANNAN: I see…


SUPERMAN: But as you know, now that I'm an "international superhero" I have pledged myself to give up unilateral action and request UN approval of all super-missions in advance. So I just stopped by to let you know what I'm doing before I rescue this young soldier and keep him from being murdered by these blood-thirsty terrorists! Thanks, General Secretary. [Turns toward open window]. Up, up and…


ANNAN: Just one moment, Superman.


SUPERMAN: [taken aback] I'm sorry — is there a problem?


ANNAN: Well, I can't just "give you" approval to invade a sovereign nation and begin unauthorized negotiations on your own. This is the United Nations, after all.


SUPERMAN: Negotiations? Who said anything about "negotiations?" I'm going to fly in, grab this poor kid in one hand, the terrorists in another and fly to the nearest UN military post.


ANNAN: Really, Superman, I must ask you to stop using such inflammatory language. At the UN, we call members of the armed wing of the Hamas movement "militants," not "terrorists."


SUPERMAN: But they snuck into another country, murdered two people and kidnapped a 19-year-old! They've cut people's heads off with dull knives and blown up shopping malls with suicide bombers. If they aren't terrorists, who is?


ANNAN: Other than a few members of the Bush administration, we just don't use that term. It's not the UN way…


SUPERMAN: [exasperated] So what do you want me to do about the "militants" who have this Israeli hostage?


ANNAN: Superman, you will be pleased to know that we have already sent a representative to look into the situation and see if there has been any wrongdoing by either side. We are also applying pressure on the Israelis to cease all military actions and instead make concessions to the legitimate concerns of Hamas. Meanwhile, we're issuing a UN report.


SUPERMAN: "If there has been any wrongdoing?" This is crazy. [Turning to the window again] A kid is dying out there and I'm going to save hi —


[Kofi pulls out a kryptonite gun and shoots Superman in the back].


ANNAN: I'm so sorry, Superman. I do so hate violence. We asked one of our consultants, Lex Luthor, to develop this for us using some undeclared materials we slipped out of Saddam's lab — along with some unpleasant paperwork — before the Americans arrived.


SUPERMAN: [gasping from the effects of the kryptonite] You would work with an evil villain like Luthor?


ANNAN: See what I mean? "Evil villain." I mean, really, Superman, how…American of you.


Your days of flying around fighting the "bad" guys and helping the "good" guys is over. Very unhelpful during these delicate times. You think the UN could have made a hero out of Arafat and Castro and Mugabe if people started screaming about "right and wrong" every time some civilian was killed?


You need to learn about nuance, about subtlety, about complexity. And [patting the cash-filled desk drawer] it pays pretty good, too! That's the UN way.


SUPERMAN: [dejected] So what do I do now?


ANNAN: Well, there are some desperate "freedom fighters" resisting occupation in Baghdad who could really use your help…


ANNOUNCER: Tune in next time for another exciting Superman adventure as the Man of Steel fights for Truth, Justice and Multilateral Dual-Track Negotiations Culminating In A Memorandum of Understanding!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Michael Graham is a talk show host at 96.9 FM TALK in Boston and author of the highly acclaimed "Redneck Nation: How the South Really Won the War." To comment, please click here.



Archives


© 2006, Michael Graham

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles