Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 17, 2006 / 19 Nissan, 5766

Bush vs. Graham: The immigration showdown!

By Michael Graham


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | On Monday night, I went one-on-one, mano-e-man, head-to-head with the most powerful man in the free world (if you don't count Simon Cowell), President George W. Bush. We debated illegal immigration. He was in the White House appearing on national TV. I was at home, screaming at my Zenith TV.

Who won? You be the judge.


"For decades, the United States has not been in complete control of its borders." (Decades? And who's been in charge of our borders the past five years — President Bartlett?)


"As a result, many who want to work in our economy have been able to sneak across our border — and millions have stayed." (Like I said, who's been the stinkin' president all that time?)


"Once here, illegal immigrants live in the shadows of our society." (Gee, I hadn't seen any "shadows." I must have missed them among the "I'm Illegal And I'm Proud!" signs waved by protestors marching through our streets, demanding full amnesty and giving interviews on national television.)


"We are a nation of laws, and we must enforce our laws." (Unless they are laws against illegal immigration, of course, which I , as president, still refuse to enforce today.)


"First, the United States must secure its borders." (Honest! We're going to start any day now, I swear!) "This is a basic responsibility of a sovereign nation." (Really! I mean it! Stop laughing!)


"Since I became President, we have increased funding for border security by 66 percent, and expanded the Border Patrol from about 9,000 to 12,000 agents." (Number of illegals who entered the US since 2000: 3 million.)


"Despite this progress, we do not yet have full control of the border (You finally noticed?) and I am determined to change that." (After five years of doing squat? Brilliant!)


"One way to help is to use the National Guard…Guard units will not be involved in direct law enforcement activities — that duty will be done by the Border Patrol. This initial commitment of Guard members would last for a period of one year." (They don't have the power to arrest, detain or shoot anyone, and they're leaving in 12 months. Why, it's the perfect solution!)


"The United States is not going to militarize the southern border. (Obviously not.) Mexico is our neighbor, and our friend. We will continue to work cooperatively...to reduce illegal immigration." (If 12 million illegals are what we get when Mexico cooperates, could we maybe try letting them work against us for awhile?)


"For many years, the government did not have enough space in our detention facilities to hold them while the legal process unfolded. So most were released back into our society and asked to return for a court date. When the date arrived, the vast majority did not show up. This practice, called 'catch and release,' is unacceptable — and we will end it." (One day. Eventually. Just not now.)


"Second, to secure our border, we must create a temporary worker program. (Huh?) Therefore, I support a temporary worker program that would create a legal path for foreign workers to enter our country in an orderly way, for a limited period of time. And temporary workers must return to their home country at the conclusion of their stay."


(OK, let me get this straight: We can't do anything at all about the 12 million immigration-law violators who are here now, but we're going to invite millions more in as "guest workers" on the assumption that they will do what we can't get anyone else to do: leave. Why would they? You obviously aren't going to deport them.) "Third, we need to hold employers to account for the workers they hire. It is against the law to hire someone who is in this country illegally." (Total number of businesses cited for hiring illegals by the Bush Administration in 2004: Three. 'Nuff said.)


"Fourth, we must face the reality that millions of illegal immigrants are already here. (So are tax cheats, bank robbers and pedophiles. Should we ignore them, too?) They should not be given an automatic path to citizenship. This is amnesty, and I oppose it."


(You're right, Mr. President. Offering amnesty would be to say to illegal immigrants ,"Sneaking into America is a crime punishable by six months in jail. You also committed tax and identity fraud by evading your employment taxes. But we'll forgive you for that if you'll leave now and go home." That's amnesty. What you support, Mr. President is more than amnesty — it's a reward for bad behavior. The crooks get to stay and line up for citizenship, thereby turning every legal immigrant into a chump.)

Donate to JWR


"Fifth, we must honor the great American tradition of the melting pot, which has made us one nation out of many peoples. Americans are bound together by our shared ideals, an appreciation of our history, respect for the flag we fly, (which I gather from the pro-immigration rallies is the Mexican flag) and an ability to speak and write the English language." (Which is why you support congressional efforts to end the use of bilingual ballots and require all voters to speak English, right? Uh, right?)


"We honor the heritage of all who come here, no matter where they are from, because we trust in our country's genius for making us all Americans. Thank you, and good night."


(And when it comes to making everyone and anyone an American, Mr. President, you, sir, are the genius.)

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Michael Graham is a talk show host and author of the highly acclaimed "Redneck Nation: How the South Really Won the War." To comment, please click here.



Archives


© 2006, Michael Graham

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles