Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 1, 2006 / 1 Adar, 5766

This means war

By Michael Graham


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "We live in fictional times, with a fictional president elected by a fictional election, leading us into a fictional war justified by fictional evidence." — pseudo-documentary filmmaker Michael Moore


Michael Moore was right about one thing: The war on terror is pure fiction.


America is not at war, at least, not with terrorism. We have soldiers in harm's way in Iraq, but they must be part of some peacekeeping mission or nation-building charity work, or bizzaro-world reality show, because the country they serve is certainly not warring against Islamo-fascism or the terrorist violence it inspires.


I know we're not at war with terrorism because I just read a New York Times story about a member of the Taliban who is also currently a student at Yale University. In the weeks before 9/11, Sayed Rahmatullah Hashemi was the Taliban's representative in the US, a high-profile member of the notoriously Osama-friendly Afghan government.


Today, Hashemi calls himself "the luckiest person in the world. I could have ended up in Guantanamo Bay. Instead I ended up at Yale." All because the Bush administration issued a student visa (!) a to a member of a radical Islamist government with whom we are (theoretically) at war.


War on terror? If so, we wouldn't have a Secretary of Transportation who insists on an airport security system that treats Swedish grandmas and Sudanese men as identical security risks. If this were a war, we wouldn't have sent millions of dollars to Palestinians operating the Al Aqsa Martyr's Brigades, or be considering still more aid, this time to the Palestinian governed by Hamas.


During wartime, presidents don't send out State Department stooges to criticize cartoons that insult the enemy. Governments on a war footing don't urge the media to abandon the principles for which its soldiers are fighting. You know, like free speech and freedom of the press?


And if we were really, truly in a war against Islamist terrorism and the people who support it, any government official who even suggested giving operational control of our ports to the United Arab Emirates would be standing in front of a bullet-spattered wall with a cigarette and a blindfold.


This is war?


No, war involves sacrificing, like say, when a nation with a 30-year history of funding terrorists is required to "sacrifice" the opportunity to oversee port operations in the United States. Or like when the country whose banking system funneled most of the money used on 9/11 "sacrifices" its bid to operate the ports that served the World Trade Center. Or when the country whose leaders met repeatedly with Osama bin Laden; and that still refuses to recognize the state of Israel but did recognize the Taliban; and whose leaders still fund anti-Semitic propaganda….


I could go on and on.


Supporters of the UAE ports deal point out that this tiny Arab nation has a mixed record on terrorism, and that right now they are cooperating with us more than any other nation in the region. That would be a fine argument to make during peacetime.


But during a time of war, there is no tolerance for "mixed records" or "close calls" or "Emirates Formerly Known As Terror Sponsors." This is doubly true in the UAE case, where the US Coast Guard warned that "intelligence gaps" kept it from determining potential terrorism risks, particularly on issues involving "the background of [UAE] employees, and foreign influence on their operations."


Despite all this, the Bush administration still put the UAE port deal on the fast track and did not give it the full, mandatory 45-day review as required by law.


Imagine FDR during World War II saying he would use his veto power to make sure American ports were run by Vichy France. Imagine a president arguing during the Cold War in favor of Soviet-occupied Poland overseeing our ports, since "it doesn't really matter who operates the ports, anyway. The Coast Guard handles all the security."


Imagine handing New York harbor over to China during the Vietnam War. It's not just unimaginable, it's insane.


And since I do not believe President George W. Bush to be certifiable, I am left with no other conclusion then that there is no war on terror.


Lost in all the unpleasant facts about the UAE — tipping off Osama about our surveillance before 9/11, providing a financial home for Al Qaeda after it was kicked out of Pakistan, allowing UAE port to be used to funnel nuclear material to Iran, etc., etc — what actually makes my jaw drop is what the Bush Administration is saying in the Dubai's defense. That it's "pragmatic" that it has no ideology, that it's all business. "As long as they want our money, nothing's going to happen to the port!"


If it's true the United Arab Emirates are only with us because it's in their immediate self-interest, then what should we expect the emirs to do when being on our side no longer pays off? When they get a better deal — or face more unpleasant consequences — from someone else? Ah, but then it will be too late. They will already be operating our ports and privy to our security secrets.


That's not a position you put yourself in while at war. No, a wartime president would have invited the head of Denmark to the White House by now for a high-profile dinner and show of support. He would have fired the person who handed a student visa to the Taliban to attend Bush's alma mater. He would be firing Homeland Security directors every hour on the hour until he found one who could secure our borders both on land and sea.


But we don't have a president like that. We have George W. Bush.


It may not be war, but it sure is hell.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Michael Graham is a talk show host and author of the highly acclaimed "Redneck Nation: How the South Really Won the War." To comment, please click here.



Archives


© 2006, Michael Graham

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles