Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 13, 2006 / 22 Kislev, 5767

Let's not lose the next war

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Sen. John McCain is on a mission. He has demanded for months that we increase our troop strength in Iraq, and now he has upped the ante by warning of dire consequences. "There's only one thing worse than an overstressed Army and Marine Corps," he told the Iraq Study Group leaders, "and that's a defeated Army and Marine Corps."


McCain (R-Ariz.) believes that maintaining our current force level will inevitably spell defeat in Iraq, but his point also could apply to another dangerous outcome. Our failure in this war would be a deep blow to the military's confidence, and thus its effectiveness, in the next war.


And make no mistake — there will be a next war. With the rise of Islamic fanatics around the globe, the next war will likely be against an insurgent, terrorist enemy similar to the one bedeviling us in Iraq.


That possibility makes this an especially lousy time for an Iraq version of Vietnam Syndrome. The malady, a shell-shock for the military and political establishments, haunted our thinking for a generation.


From the tail-between-our-legs withdrawal from Vietnam in the early 1970s until our decisive victory in the first Gulf War in 1991, politicians and generals were reluctant to commit troops. Only the development of the Powell Doctrine, which, among other things, advocated the use of overwhelming force, and its successful implementation in driving Iraqi dictator Saddam Hussein from Kuwait, freed us from the mental handcuffs. Indeed, the first Gulf War cured the Vietnam Syndrome and put the can-do confidence back in our military.


That was then. The fear now is that a defeat in Iraq will throw us into a relapse. One that could leave us unprepared and even unwilling to defend our national security in the global conflict that qualifies as World War III. In fact, Osama Bin Laden has already cited our timidity as an invitation to attack us.

Donate to JWR


It is true, of course, that a reluctance to go to war can prevent disasters. And there is no denying that Iraq is a first-class disaster, a war we elected to fight, then botched horribly. With its litany of problems, the Iraq Study Group report is perhaps more infuriating and depressing than the report on 9/11.


The Iraq report makes it clear that chief among our failures was a failure to understand the nature and culture of the enemy. Author Thomas Ricks makes a similar point in "Fiasco," his devastating portrait of the war. He argues that our military grew smarter after Vietnam, then forgot most of what it learned when it got to Iraq. In a moving scene, Ricks tells how Army chief Gen. Eric Shinseki was the first major figure to compare Iraq to Vietnam. Shinseki, wounded three times in Vietnam, and essentially forced out of his top Army post by Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld, said in his 2003 retirement address: "The current war brings me full circle to where I began my journey as a soldier. The lessons I learned in Vietnam are always with me."


If only the Bush White House had remembered those lessons.


The irony is that our place in the world should be more secure than ever. The collapse of the Soviet Union, the spreading of democracy through Eastern Europe, Latin America and Asia and the might and sophistication of our military leave us an unchallenged superpower.


Yet the unconventional enemies of these times, whether in Vietnam or Iraq, are not as susceptible to our might. They hide among civilians and use asymmetrical techniques, with a crude car bomb chillingly effective against our high-tech war machine. Meanwhile, our society grows ever softer and more decadent, simultaneously making us less willing to sacrifice, and ripe targets for Islamists who want to turn back history's clock.


Those are just some of the stakes in Iraq. Whatever we do there, we must remember them.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


© 2006 NY Daily News Distributed by Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services