Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 20, 2006 / 29 Mar-Cheshvan, 5767

The U.S. needs to give up the fiction that Baghdad can save itself

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Everybody is talking about Iraq, but nobody knows what to do about it. The White House, Congress and the military say all possible ideas are being considered and that "everything is on the table."


I beg to differ. Not everything is on the table. Every idea mentioned is a slight variation of what we're already doing. It's nipping and tucking around the edges while hoping for dramatically better results. I don't think that's going to work. We need to consider something really different if we want to stop the downward spiral.


Maybe it's time to bypass the lame Iraqi military and the lamer Iraqi government and do the damn job ourselves. Let's go in with massive force — 100,000 extra troops — and flatten the resistance and sectarian killers once and for all. Let's crush the bastards and be done with it.


Okay, accuse me of channeling the late Gen. Curtis LeMay, the gruff Vietnam commander best known for saying we should "bomb Vietnam back into the Stone Age." LeMay denied he ever said that, and I'm not looking to unleash a firestorm on Iraq.


I'm simply saying that if a stable Iraq is as important as President Bush says it is, and it is, and if the Iraqi government is as hopeless as it seems, and it is, then we may have no other choice if we want any semblance of victory. I'm not advocating overwhelming force. I'm saying it needs to be considered.


The problem with all the other options is that nobody in Washington has real confidence they're going to work. That was clear from the gloomy Senate Armed Services Committee hearing last week. Gen. John Abizaid, our military boss for the region, was like the piņata at a child's party as senators from both parties took turns whacking him.


You could say he deserved it, and not just because he sometimes engaged in "happy talk." Reading his testimony of September 2003 illustrates that Abizaid was telling fibs or was clueless. His claim then that "the preponderance of the country, including Baghdad, has achieved a very high degree of security and stability" can charitably be called "fact-free."


And he isn't knocking any socks off with his latest approach. Asked about troop reductions, he said it was a bad idea. Asked about more troops, he said it was a bad idea. I thought Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.) was going to throttle Abizaid, but settled for a seething comment that "I regret deeply that you seem to think that the status quo and the rate of progress we're making is acceptable. I think most Americans do not."


Abizaid said he was not defending the status quo and insisted a new emphasis on training was a "major change." I think McCain got it right, because here's the "major change" Abizaid wants: "There will also be American military transition teams embedded with Iraqi units, and it's our opinion that those military transition teams need to be substantially increased and given the capacity to operate more robustly with the Iraqis."


That's such an obvious idea that it would be malpractice if we haven't already done it. And if we're adding more of our troops to Iraqi units, where are they coming from?


Abizaid is not the only one out of ideas. Donald Rumsfeld's tank was empty, which is why he's soon to be former secretary of defense. Everybody else is hoping the bipartisan Iraqi Study Group will come up with something brilliant and new.


Perhaps it will. But if not, let's at least consider cutting out the Iraqi middlemen and doing the job ourselves. After all, our national security is too important to leave to a country that can't even defend itself.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


© 2006 NY Daily News Distributed by Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services