Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 9, 2006 / 17 Tishrei, 5767

Future schlock

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The saying that "history turns on little hinges" is a recognition that petty and personal issues often produce earth-shaking events. And there is no smaller hinge than Mark Foley's creepy e-mails.


The uproar over the former GOP congressman's lecherous behavior toward male pages is turning Washington inside out and upside down. The town that usually sees no evil has suddenly found it under every rock. The frenzy is rich with ironic comeuppance, as Democrats engage in a gay witch hunt and Republicans demand criminal probes of themselves. It's almost enough to make you forget Iraq.


And there is the problem. The temptation is to be distracted by, and even enjoy, the unusual spectacle of members of Congress actually worrying about what ordinary Americans think of them.


Yet good sense compels the conclusion that we are verging on too much of a good thing. It's not just that, once again, our obsession with sex makes us a laughingstock to the world. It's about whether we really want Foley's behavior to be the deciding factor in who wins the midterm elections, and thus controls Congress. And controls tax policy and judgeships and the war on terror and ... you name it.


I sure don't, and it's not because I believe Republicans have done such a swell job of running everything. With control of the White House and Congress, the GOP has made a mess and deserves a good beat-down. Having Democrats responsible for something other than second-guessing could help put the checks back in checks and balances. Mixed government proved its virtues in the mid-'90s, after Republicans swept the '94 congressional elections and forced Bill Clinton to be a more centrist President.


So I'm all for throwing the bums out. I just don't want to do it because Foley had a sick thing for young boys and nobody in power blew the whistle. I felt the same way about Clinton and Monica. Impeachment wasn't the answer. Censure and ridicule were.


A level-headed approach is critical now. We're at war with an enemy that wants to wipe us off the map unless we're willing to convert to Islam and feed Israel to the wolves. That addiction to oil President Bush cited - we haven't taken the first step in kicking it.


Our port security is a joke. We are increasingly vulnerable to Third World diseases and biological and chemical attacks. We have a huge illegal immigration problem. Our budget deficits are funded by foreign governments. We're losing too many good jobs to other countries.


Too many of our children are not getting a good education. Our irrational health care system is cruelly stingy in some ways and drunken-sailor generous in others.


Oh, and Iraq is going to hell before our eyes. The elected government we helped establish as a beacon for democracy is on the brink of collapsing. Three months ago, there was a recognition that security had to improve by the end of the year.


But things are getting worse, and no less than Republican Sen. John Warner, chairman of the Armed Services Committee, warned last week that time was running out.


"In two or three months, if this thing hasn't come to fruition and if this level of violence is not under control and this government able to function, I think it's the responsibility of our government, internally, to determine: Is there a change of course that we should take?" Warner said.


Warner's point is on target. The only question is how we should change course. That is a proper subject for an election, and a worthy hinge for history.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


© 2006 NY Daily News Distributed by Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services