Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 18, 2008 18 Elul 5768

Pols duck the truth on crisis

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Democratic presidential candidate Barack Obama and Republican presidential candidate John McCain.


The days of easy money have ended the way they always do — with a financial crash. With warnings we could be headed for another Great Depression, the presidential campaign's holiday from facts must come to a screeching halt.


It's time for truth telling. John McCain and Barack Obama need to come clean about the causes and consequences of Wall Street's meltdown. Neither has because it would require them to admit there are no quick fixes and that most of us are part of the problem.


Maybe we should get them together and put them under oath before we let them talk about the crisis because so far it's been politics-as-usual. Both are talking in platitudes and nibbling around the edges of the truth. Unnamed "regulators" and greedy "speculators" and fat cat CEOs are getting all the blame.


Obama rightly sees an ideological bias against even reasonable regulation by the Bush administration, but does he really intend to mount a campaign based on a demand for more regulation? There's a winning slogan: I promise more red tape!


McCain initially said there are enormous strengths in our economy, but attacks over that politically incorrect truth turned him stupid. He, too, talks as though we're a nation of innocent victims blindsided by crooks who sold us houses we didn't want and couldn't afford.


Right. Anybody who buys that baloney will soon be in the market for a bridge.


Let's try some honesty. We — you and me and our government, all of us — have been living in fantasyland about credit cards and mortgages. We wanted to have it all and we pretended we could.


We forgot that a successful con game involves two greedy people, one preying on the other. And if something seems too good to be true, it usually is.


Both political parties aided and abetted the crime against the law of economics, with the skids greased by support from advocates and the dollars of lobbyists.


Look at how the patterns repeated. Wall Street banks borrowed as much as $40 for every dollar they invested, just as homeowners saw no problem in getting a house without a down payment and a mortgage they couldn't afford.


They were called "liar loans" and everybody, from borrowers to banks, signed on. And now that it's all going bad, everybody is a victim deserving a bailout.


Washington did a similar thing, borrowing from cash-rich foreign governments to fund everything from the Iraq war to the rebate checks sent out last summer. In a generation, we became the greatest debtor nation in history.


Day in, day out we borrow money from China to buy their toys and to buy oil from Saudi Arabia and Venezuela. How crazy is that?


It's a Ponzi scheme that worked only as long as the next sucker bought in. Many of those suckers turned out to have been in Asia and Europe, which is why this is a global crisis.


The days of denial can't be replaced with glib finger-pointing and false promises of rosy dawns. If the next President doesn't level with the American people, he will take office under the fraudulent idea that we can just muddle through without painful sacrifices. That's a formula for a failed presidency.


Obama and McCain need to tell the truth and lay out comprehensive plans for getting us out of this unholy mess. Real solutions won't be pretty or have the snap, crackle and pop of lipstick-on-a-pig ads or accusing someone of being senile. But they might save the country from a ruinous course.


Our best hope is for joint appearances, with the candidates standing side by side and taking questions from ordinary Americans. Similar to the "town halls" McCain advocated, these appearances would be an extraordinary symbol of the nation's bipartisan determination to tackle this crisis. And they would pave the way for the next President to actually deliver on his promises.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


© 2007 NY Daily News