Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 8, 2008 8 Elul 5768

CSI: Politics

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | After two political conventions in two weeks, I get it. The twain shall never meet because the parties would go out of business. They are unions for politicians, advocating for them and them only.


My hunt for the American political center was fruitless because I was looking in all the wrong places. Denver and St. Paul were polar opposites, right down to the music and delegate chants.


It was Stevie Wonder vs. Chuck Berry, "yes we can" vs. "U-S-A."


It's as though somebody took a knife and cut our political soul in two and distributed half to each side. It's either a great country with challenges or a total mess that needs a complete do-over. Take your pick, but you can only have one view. No nuance allowed. Be angry and righteous or be gone.


Barack Obama and John McCain are smart, good men with compelling personal stories. But as they seek the most powerful job in the world, they're captive to a system that grinds up our better angels with competing claims of superiority. The certainty the election will again reflect a polarized people speaks well of nobody.


Those of us in the real world put up with differences because we have to. The professional political class has seceded from that world and lives in a parallel universe where only suckers cooperate.


How we got to the point is less important than what we do about it now. No matter who wins in November, if Washington doesn't start pulling in the direction of the common good, the country will stay as gridlocked as it is. Somehow, we've got to force our leaders to work together to solve the biggest problems.


We could start by eliminating the political conventions which, since the nominees are picked through primaries, serve merely as echo chambers for the party line and a chance for pols and lobbyists to swap favors. The point of the conventions is to lay out a plan for conquer by dividing, which is great if you're an invading army but disheartening when it's your own country.


Neither party even attempted to seriously address Problem No. 1 - the fundamental weakness of the economy as illustrated by Friday's report of the spike in unemployment. Maybe they don't know what to do. But until we figure it out, the standard of living for 95% of our population is at risk.


Is there any good news? Yes, I found general agreement on 1-1/2 things. The half agreement is that, while they have wildly different views on Iraq, Obama and McCain are committed to defeating the resurgent Taliban in Afghanistan. This is real progress on a key security issue.


The one major area where I found a near total consensus is that we've got to dramatically reduce our dependence on foreign oil. Obama and McCain sound like T. Boone Pickens, who calculates we're shipping about $700 billion a year to other countries to feed our addiction. They promise their own version of the Manhattan Project to radically change our energy policies, which have huge implications for our economy, security and environment.


Of course, even this consensus comes with differences. McCain, like Pickens, believes we should drill for more oil offshore, while Obama doesn't. And McCain is more bullish on nuclear power than Obama.


But those differences are about the details of how we solve the problem rather than whether we have a problem, so energy policy would be a great place to start the new administration in January.


Imagine it: The next President pledges to enlist the best people in America, no matter what party they belong to, to solve the crisis. The unified approach might begin a revolution as people start believing they can actually make a difference in other areas as well, instead of just taking sides.


Imagine that.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


© 2007 NY Daily News