Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 19, 2008 18 Menachem-Av 5768

Russian invasion of Georgia illustrates threat to U.S. global role

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | No sooner had Russia taken a page out of its Soviet playbook to carve up Georgia than Washington responded by turning back its calendar. Seizing on advice to re-create Harry Truman's Berlin air lift, President Bush dispatched military cargo planes to the beleaguered Georgian capital of Tbilisi with food, medicine and other supplies.


In quick order, the administration and presidential candidates John McCain and Barack Obama raced to update the moves and rhetoric of every President through Ronald Reagan in a bid to show spine against Russia without actually provoking a military conflict.


The Cold War is back, right down to references to the "Evil Empire" and fearful talk of nuclear strikes. But before we rush back into our dusty air raid shelters and teach schoolchildren to duck and cover under their desks, we would do well to remember this is 2008, not 1948.


Just as generals tend to make the mistake of fighting the last hot war, many politicians and pundits are gearing up to fight the last Cold War. By all means, we must stand firm - and demand that Europe do the same - against Russia's brutal land grab and naked threats.


But America also needs to get its own act together if we have any hope of rallying the world against the new rise of totalitarian regimes. Russia was clearly emboldened not only by its newfound oil and gas wealth, but also by our obvious weakness.


We are hobbled in the world and divided at home, dependent on others for our energy, much of our food, manufacturing, and even for our financing.


We are going deeper into debt with each passing day, our future mortgaged with commitments we cannot possibly keep. And yet the solutions our leaders offer are no match for the scale of the problems. We don't even demand that Obama and McCain offer honest ideas that would halt our alarming decline, let alone put us on the path to security and prosperity.


One result is that, if this is the start of a new Cold War, we're in no position to fight it with even the same commitment and resources we used to win the last one.


Meanwhile, the new world order we face is worse than the old one. From the rise of Islamic terrorism to the spread of nuclear weapons, the planet is a far more lethal place. It is made more complicated by new powers that, like Russia, are fueled by petrodollars and grievances.


Worst of all, America is sagging just when the free world needs our leadership again. Even our military might has been sapped by the long slog in Iraq.


Take the most obvious example of how the world has changed - the Russian invasion of Georgia came as the Olympics were being held in China. That would be the same China that was sealed against the West until Richard Nixon's visit "opened" it in 1972.


Now China is wowing the world with its rapid industrialization and spectacular growth. Yet because it is one of our most important bankers and trading partners, we cannot afford to offend it, even though it protects Iran and North Korea.


Our weakness ties our hands with others, too. Bookstores are filled with accounts of the staggering wealth produced by what Wall Street calls the BRIC economies: Brazil, Russia, India and China. "The rise of the rest," as author Fareed Zakaria calls it, has scrambled all the assumptions and rules that shaped the last Cold War. Even India felt strong enough to scuttle world trade talks.


If there is nostalgia for a Cold War, perhaps it's because we won that showdown so convincingly. Most of the old Soviet-controlled states are capitalist democracies or are on their way. A handful, such as Poland and Latvia, are members of NATO.


With Georgia and Ukraine hoping to join, Russia increasingly saw itself being surrounded by our allies. Its pushback was, in hindsight, utterly predictable, but Bush failed to connect the dots.


Fortunately, the wakeup call has been heard and the West is at least momentarily united in the alarming realization that Vladimir Putin is determined to reestablish Russia's global prominence, if not the Soviet Union itself.


We must worry about the next move of this would-be czar. But even more, we must worry about whether America can again summon the will and the skill to lead in such perilous times.


For if not us, who?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


© 2007 NY Daily News