Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 23, 2008 17 Nissan 5768

For proof the race is nonsensical, see the Dems' Iraq plans

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton have taken turns whining, with each saying at various times they found certain questions and issues unfair. After their showdown in Philadelphia, Obama complained about "gotcha games," saying ordinary Americans don't care about his relationship with the Rev. Jeremiah Wright. Clinton and her Bubba have complained about being ganged up on over drivers' licenses for illegal immigrants and about her tall tale of ducking sniper fire in Bosnia.


The candidates should count themselves lucky for such distractions. For if public focus were on the "real issues" they say they want to discuss, the incoherence of their positions on Iraq and Iran would be frighteningly clear.


Clinton and Obama have almost identical plans for withdrawing our troops from Iraq, putting both Democrats on a path that could hand Iraq to Iran on a silver platter and further destabilize the entire Mideast.


Their folly became obvious during the debate last week when they vowed they would stick to their timetables for withdrawal from Iraq of about 18 months, regardless of the facts on the ground or the advice of military commanders.


"The President sets the mission," Obama said. "The general and our troops carry out that mission."


Clinton, asked if she was saying she knows better than the generals, something she has accused Bush of, answered "no" and added: "The bottom line for me is: We don't know what will happen as we withdraw. We do know what will happen if we stay mired in Iraq."


She's right that we can't know everything that will happen if we withdraw. Predictions by others of a full-blown civil war may prove incorrect, but it is almost impossible to believe violence would decrease if we depart.


And what would Iran do if we withdraw? Had the question been asked, the candidates' incoherence would have been revealed. After being dovish on Iraq, Obama and Clinton suddenly turned hawkish on Iran. In their vision, never the twain shall meet.


Both said they would not permit Iran to develop nukes and threatened to respond militarily if Iran attacked Israel, with Clinton promising "massive retaliation." Obama pledged also to engage Iran on its "funding terrorist organizations like Hamas and Hezbollah."


Yet neither mentioned Iraq in the context of Iran, as though the two countries were not neighbors. For many reasons, including their long border and the fact that they are the only two major Muslim countries with Shiite majorities, our policies must be coordinated, if not viewed as one.


For example, you don't have to be a Mideast expert to realize that Iran would see our retreat from Iraq as a sign of weakness and would be emboldened to fill the vacuum. Or that our leaving would free Iran to launch more terror attacks, through Hamas and Hezbollah, against Israel.


Already, Moqtada al-Sadr, the Iraqi Shiite cleric whose Mahdi army is responsible for attacks on Americans as well as Iraqis, has been in Iran for nearly a year. And our military has clear evidence that roadside bombs used to kill Americans were made in Iran.


Even the Shiite prime minister of Iraq, Nouri al-Maliki, has established close relations with Iran's madman president, Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, with Ahmadinejad getting a red-carpet welcome in Baghdad.


The growing Iranian influence has alarmed our Sunni Arab allies in Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and the United Arab Emirates. While most despised Saddam Hussein, they saw him as a useful bulwark against Iran.


It is a fact that we and our coalition partners replaced him in that role.


Obama and Clinton know as much, yet they conveniently ignore the consequences of a withdrawal from Iraq. It's not a luxury they would have in the Oval Office. If they get there, they'd be happy to talk about Jeremiah Wright or Bosnia sniper fire.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


© 2007 NY Daily News