Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 23, 2007 / 4 Shevat 5767

Show me

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Here is a wise warning against get-rich-quick schemes: "If something seems too good to be true, it probably is." So don't give a fast-talking stranger your money when he promises to double it.


That's exactly how we ought to approach some recent happy talk from Iraq. With extreme caution.


The suspiciously good news comes in headlines that say the Iraqi government is cracking down on the murderous Shiite militias. And, pinky swear, they're not just holding them for 20 minutes, then turning them loose to kill and torture again. They're actually keeping them locked up for weeks!


Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki said 400 members of the bloody Mahdi Army had been arrested "within the last few days," The New York Times reported. It said another official put the arrest total at 420 and stated they had been detained in 56 operations since October.


Well, which is it — 400 or 420, the last few days or since October? Good questions. Neither is probably true.


The speed with which the Bushies swallowed the claim made me doubly doubtful. The Republican National Committee touted the article in a mass e-mailing that seemed to say, "See, our plan is working."


I'm not buying it - not yet anyway. This sudden Iraqi determination to do the bare minimum doesn't pass the smell test. It strikes me as a slimy public relations effort to convince America that we ought to support President Bush's unpopular plan to send even more troops and money.


Methinks we're being diddled and that Maliki is playing us like a fiddle. With an able assist from the White House, which still thinks, at this late date, the American people will buy the thin gruel of vague promises.


Consider that for almost a year, we've been promised that Maliki would crush the Shiite militias, including those run by supporter Moqtada al-Sadr. He never did, and even stopped our troops from doing it. Now suddenly he can act when American disgust with the war is threatening to end his gravy train.


That Maliki starts to move only when Bush pressures him suggests Maliki could have cracked down all along. But that's an idea the White House has firmly rejected. Bush said we needed to send more troops to give Maliki "breathing room" and Secretary of State Rice told the Senate the problem for Maliki was one of "capacity," not will.


But the capacity didn't suddenly change in a week. His troops are no better trained now than they were when Rice downplayed their ability. What has changed was his will.


The Times quoted someone it called "a senior American military officer" as saying "there was definitely a change in attitudes" by the Iraqi government.


Curiouser and curiouser is what Alice said in Wonderland. And it's a perfect way to view this sudden burst of can-do attitude from our so-called allies.


There's the rub — allies. Maliki, more and more, looks like the wrong guy for the job. We're supposed to get all misty-eyed over his leading a new democracy, but his history suggests he's quite comfortable in sectarian slaughterhouses. When he fled Iraq in 1979, he didn't run to Europe or the U.S. He set up shop in Iran until 1990, when he went to another bastion of democracy, Syria. He returned to Iraq when we overthrew Saddam, and we engineered his rise to the top.


That may have been one of our many mistakes in Iraq. But it's no excuse for getting conned again. Especially when there's an easy test for the truth.


Let's applaud Maliki for his militia arrests, and tell him to keep doing it. And keep doing it. When Baghdad starts to look more like a city than a battlefield, we'll know we have a serious partner. Until then, let's keep our money in our pocket and our additional troops at home.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


© 2006 NY Daily News Distributed by Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services