Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 22, 2008 15 Shevat 5768

Washington's remedy for economic woes is trips to the mall

By Michael Goodwin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Uncle Sam wants you — to shop! It's official. The great minds of the United States of America, the world's lone superpower and an emerging economic basket case, have a plan to fix what ails our sagging economy.


In a nutshell, or maybe in a nuthouse, the best and the brightest have decided to give us a fistful of dollars, on one condition: That we spend them all lickety-split. No savings allowed.


If this sounds suspiciously like giving crack to a cocaine addict and hoping for a recovery, then you, too, must be alarmed at the shallowness of thinking about a very deep problem. And not just among the whiz kids in the White House.


The brain lock extends to the campaign trail, where those who want to sit in the Oval Office have produced carbon copies of the Retail Therapy prescription. Feeble is as feeble does.


Who can blame them? Sen. John McCain tried straight talk in Michigan and got the express boot out of the state when he said lost manufacturing jobs weren't coming back. They are coming back, insisted Mitt Romney, who was promptly rewarded for this fairy tale by winning the state's GOP primary. Lesson learned: Tell 'em what they want to hear, not the truth. McCain, no dummy, put out his own giveaway package days later.


These stimulus plans are the performance-enhancing drugs of politics. Just like steroids, they exact a terrible price over the long term.


So what if we have surging debts and deficits. So what if bankruptcies and foreclosures are up. So what if middle-class incomes are stagnant and unemployment is rising. So what if entitlement programs are threatening to swallow every dollar we print, and then some. So what if your house, if it is still your house, is worth half of what it was last year. And so what if your pension is vanishing as the bottom falls out of the stock market.


Just get off your duff, America, and buy something now. The problems won't go away, but you'll have a shiny new snow shovel or a new pair of shoes. And nothing makes a true American feel better than shopping, especially when the government is paying.


If Washington ponies up enough pennies, assuming it actually gets around to ponying up any at all, we can all do what President Bush did last week. He went to Arabia to visit our dollars. Or, more precisely, what our dollars have bought and built for the petrocrats who feed our addiction to oil. It wouldn't be fair to label them dope dealers because we're the dopes.


Raking in about $100 a barrel for their black gold, the Persian Gulf countries can't spend our money fast enough, especially when the value of what we have left to sell keeps falling. They're not just buying our banks and other assets — they're buying them at distressed prices.


The good old greenback ain't what it used to be.


Sen. Hillary Clinton captured the moment when she said Bush's plea to the Saudis to pump more oil so the price would fall was "pathetic." Leaving aside the inconvenient truth that her Bubba made the exact same plea eight years ago, when oil was a mere $30 a barrel, Clinton was right. Pathetic it is.


It's doubly pathetic to think the price of oil is the only problem. The long-range financial crisis is that we're becoming a hollowed out country standing on the shaky stilts of credit. When something goes wrong - the housing bubble bursts — we look for the quick and easy fix. Almost always it involves spending and borrowing. We borrow from our children, the Chinese, the Arabs, anybody who has a few spare gazillions they got by selling us something we used to make but now can't afford to buy.


Only the government can run a Ponzi scheme this way, but not even the government can get away with it forever.


The Dow Jones industrial average, which has shed 2,000 points since October, is signaling that the end is near.


The White House and the candidates all know this, but it would be bad for their business model if they dared speak the truth. But somebody must say it, so here goes: We, the good people of the good 'ol USA, are on the road to ruin.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Michael Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.


Archives


© 2007 NY Daily News