Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 26, 2008 / 25 Menachem-Av 5768

No wonder Obama moved his acceptance speech a mile and a half away

By Michael Barone


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | DENVER—Am I getting bigger or are the national conventions getting smaller? As I usually do, I paid a visit to the convention hall, the Pepsi Center, before the opening of the convention, mainly to get a look at the layout on the floor, to figure out where the back passages and stairs are, to see where the U.S. News seats are in the press gallery, and where the Fox News broadcast booth is.


My first impression, as I walked into the press gallery was: small hall. This is the eleventh Democratic National Convention I will have attended, and my recollections of the different halls are tending to merge, but still I was struck by how small the hall is. As you would expect, the Illinois and Delaware delegations have front center aisle seats. But half the delegations are not on the floor but on the spectator seats which rise sharply from the floor. I can remember at the 1992 Democratic National Convention climbing up the stairs to the Pennsylvania delegation with Bob Novak, among others, to interview Governor Bob Casey, who was not allowed to speak before the convention, apparently because of his strong opposition to abortion. This time the California delegation, most of whose delegates were elected to support Hillary Clinton, stretches far up toward the rafters. I suggested to longtime state Democratic party director Bob Mulholland that he might want to have some pills for altitude sickness.


My impression that the hall is small was confirmed by others. JWR contributor Cal Thomas felt the same way and Bob Beckel, co-author with him of the admirable Common Ground: How to Stop the Partisan War That Is Destroying America, said that the hall was about the same size as the Moscone Center where Walter Mondale, whose campaign Bob managed, was nominated in 1984. Thinking back to my first convention, the hall at the 1968 Democratic National Convention (in which I had seats in the gallery) seems about three times as large. Rick Kaplan of CBS News, who was writing speeches for Eugene McCarthy on the floor of the 1968 convention, agreed.


The Pepsi Center has almost no gallery seats; there seem to be skyboxes for big contributors, who will probably pay as little attention to what's happening on the floor as (in my experience, anyway) rich people in skyboxes pay to the games they're attending. The people who put together the convention presumably expected that the winning candidate would have swept the primaries and therefore would have chosen the large majority of the delegates. But it didn't work out that way. About 45 percent of the delegates were chosen by Hillary Clinton's campaign. Anecdotal evidence that I've picked up suggest that there are lot of Clinton delegates that are not reconciled to Barack Obama's nomination. That's one reason, I suggested to Joe Trippi (whom I first met when he was running Iowa for Mondale in 1983-84) and Jim Margolis (who has been the media producer for several Democratic presidential candidates), that the Obama campaign relocated his acceptance speech to the 72,000-seat Invesco Field. They didn't want to risk a lukewarm reception from nearly half the crowd in the Pepsi Center (it's hard to pack the galleries when there aren't any galleries). Trippi didn't disagree. Margolis, who is working on arrangements for the Obama campaign, said he was sure everything would go smoothly in the Pepsi Center. He may be right. We'll see.


As I was leaving the hall, music started beaming out of the sound system, loud enough that it was hard to converse on the floor. The first song was "Celebrate," a theme in the 1984 Mondale convention. The second was "Don't Stop Thinking About Tomorrow," which was the Clintons' theme song in 1992. I have a feeling we won't be hearing either in the convention's prime time sessions. They might play the latter song for the Clintons—but for the fact that it raises the question of whether Hillary is thinking about 2012 even as she supports Obama this year.


On the Invesco Stadium speech, weather.com's forecast for August 28 is "mostly sunny," with a 10 percent chance of precipitation. I'm told that the TV networks have been told that no umbrellas will be allowed into the stadium (just as umbrellas were confiscated in the 2004 Republican and Democratic National Conventions) and that if there's a thunderstorm the proceedings will be put on hold until the rain stops. A little nerve-wracking....

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

BARONE'S LATEST
The New Americans  

Now, more than ever, the melting pot must be used to keep America great. Barone attacks multiculturalism and anti-American apologists--but he also rejects proposals for building a wall to keep immigrants out, or rounding up millions of illegals to send back home. Rather, the melting pot must be allowed to work (as it has for centuries) to teach new Americans the values, history, and unique spirit of America so they, too, can enjoy the American dream.. Sales help fund JWR.

JWR contributor Michael Barone is a columnist at U.S. News & World Report. Comment by clicking here.




Michael Barone Archives

© 2006, US News & World Report

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles