Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 26, 2007 / 8 Iyar, 5767

Boris Yeltsin, R.I.P.

By Michael Barone


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Boris Yeltsinhas died in Moscow at age 76. I'm not going to give an assessment of his whole career. For that, you might want to read this nuanced appreciation by Anne Applebaum in the Washington Post and this more critical account by David Satter in the Wall Street Journal.

Both are brilliant writers who have spent much time in Russia and have written excellent books about it: Applebaum's definitive Gulag and Satter's Age of Delirium and Darkness at Dawn.

I have been to Russia only three times, on Jamestown Foundation trips to cover the elections of June 1996 and April 2000 and in October 1989, at the suggestion of U.S. News Editor Roger Rosenblatt, to study the emerging democratic politics. Russians had just elected members of a Supreme Soviet that spring, and the new legislature was meeting in the Kremlin. I stayed at the horrifying Rossiya Hotel, a modern monstrosity just off Red Square, and took my Kremlin press pass in the morning to show the guard, and then started taking a few pictures. Other reporters were aghast: This was a place they had never been allowed to enter until a few months before. But the rules had changed.

Jeff Trimble, U.S. News's excellent Moscow correspondent, who liked to use his fluent Russian by getting into arguments with Soviet apparatchiks, was now chatting with the head of the KGB on the steps outside the building where the Supreme Soviet met. I saw Andrei Sakharov walk into the cafeteria in the basement to get a sandwich. Jeff was incredibly gracious and hospitable to me, even though he had lots to cover and lots of copy to grind out, and so was his wife, Gretchen, who was also fluent in Russian thanks to a program at her Quaker high school intended to encourage personal interaction between Americans and Russians.

I would attend Supreme Soviet meetings and watch in the gallery as various people spoke. Sometimes I would have a translator, sometimes I would get some sense of what was going on from a Russophone neighbor, sometimes I would just watch and do the best I could. I heard Sakharov booed by apparatchiks; the reformers had all the energy but the Soviets still had the numbers. I heard a man who I thought might someday be president of Russia, Anatoly Sobchak, a reformer from what was then still called Leningrad.

Sobchak, a lawyer, spoke eloquently of the need for property rights. Alas, Sobchak's future was not so bright. He became the mayor of Leningrad in 1990 and in August 1991 like Boris Yeltsin opposed the attempted coup against Mikhail Gorbachev.

Later in the year, in accord with the results of a referendum, he re-renamed the city St. Petersburg. He wrote much of the 1993 Russian Constitution and was defeated for re-election in 1996. Charges of corruption followed. He died of a heart attack in February 2000, at age 62. What I didn't know in 1989 was that one of Sobchak's aides in St. Petersburg would be a former KGB officer named Vladimir Putin. Would Sobchak have been part of the Putin administration? Would he have been a democratic influence on what has turned out to be an authoritarian-minded president? We'll never know. It's a tantalizing might-have-been.

Back to the gallery of the Supreme Soviet in October 1989. One day there was a considerable buzz: Mikhail Gorbachev was coming to speak. The front rows were occupied by important people: Prime Minister Nikolai Ryzhkov, Foreign Minister Eduard Shevardnadze, the now out-of-office Boris Yeltsin. Yeltsin had been appointed head of the Moscow Communist Party in 1985, then removed in 1987; in 1989, he won a citywide seat in the Supreme Soviet with 90 percent of the vote. Gorbachev got up to speak in his mellow voice. In the course of his speech he mentioned Yeltsin. He said something about having fallen in the road. Yeltsin had recently been found in such a position after an accident; perhaps (OK, probably) he had been drinking.

Yeltsin's face turned red as Gorbachev was speaking. The members laughed loudly, and so did many–most, it seemed to me–in the press gallery. Yeltsin was being publicly humiliated in the most deliberate way. His political career was obviously a shambles.

Within two years and two months, as we now know, the positions were reversed. Gorbachev was seized by the coup plotters in August 1991; Yeltsin as president of the Russian Republic (he had been appointed in 1990 and chosen in an election he insisted on in June 1991) held out against them, climbing on a tank outside Moscow's White House. At the end of 1991, the Soviet Union was abolished and Gorbachev was out of office. Yeltsin remained the president of Russia until his resignation on the last day of 1999.

I feel privileged to have been able to be in Russia as it was moving toward democracy in October 1989 and again for the elections in 1996 and 2000. In 1996, the voters I interviewed (with a translator, of course) were mostly optimistic, although I encountered one retired KGB agent, dressed in steely gray with a steely gray face, who said that Stalin's only mistake was that he didn't kill enough people. The mood in 2000 was very different. Most of the voters I interviewed were going to vote for Putin, but not with much hope that things would get better. It was as if they were saying, I hope the next czar will be a good czar. Boris Yeltsin in many ways proved to be an inadequate leader. But he was also a brave man who did much for his country.

As I watched him on television in August 1991, standing on the tank and defying the coup plotters, it seemed to me that one man was standing between freedom and dictatorship in a country of more than 200 million people. And I remembered how I had watched him being humiliated only 22 months before.

May he rest in peace.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

BARONE'S LATEST
The New Americans  

Now, more than ever, the melting pot must be used to keep America great. Barone attacks multiculturalism and anti-American apologists--but he also rejects proposals for building a wall to keep immigrants out, or rounding up millions of illegals to send back home. Rather, the melting pot must be allowed to work (as it has for centuries) to teach new Americans the values, history, and unique spirit of America so they, too, can enjoy the American dream.. Sales help fund JWR.

JWR contributor Michael Barone is a columnist at U.S. News & World Report. Comment by clicking here.




Michael Barone Archives

© 2006, US News & World Report

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles