Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review December 19, 2012/ 6 Teves 5773

In the midst of all this madness can we shut-up for a few moments?

By Kathleen Parker

Kathleen Parker


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It is a conundrum of wordsmiths that sometimes events are so horrible that words escape us. Bereft of the tools of our trade, we are left with what is perhaps the only appropriate response to something as heart-stopping as the massacre of children: Silence.

If I could get away with it, I might leave the rest of this space vacant. Call it a day. For this seems the sanest response to the horror. Out of respect for the living and the dead, we simply keep quiet, at least for a while.

But America isn’t much comfortable with silence or vacancy. We are all about the talk. We love our talk radio and our talk TV. We thrive on talking points and talk therapy. Talking things through is a religious ritual in the post-Oprah world.

I understand the impulse, of course. Hostage to my own revulsion, I write about the very things I rail against. Like so many, I can’t seem to land anywhere else. The “fiscal cliff,” the new African American senator from South Carolina, new Cabinet picks — all are important but suddenly seem trivial.

And so we ramble and sputter and repeat ourselves, trying to find words that will make it possible to put this awful thing to rest.

Uneasily, we circle a too-familiar narrative. We’ve seen this movie before and know the characters well: The cops who speak in the terse, dispassionate language of the clinical investigator. The psychologists who burble banalities: Hug your children a little tighter and tell them you love them. The broadcast media who, forced to fill time and space by some edict from the ratings czars, babble inanities about tragedy, punctuated with corrections of misinformation uttered in previous time-filling excavations.

Meanwhile, the scavengers of doom convene — volunteer prophets, prayer leaders and profiteers declaiming the evils of guns or violent games — or finding some way to insert themselves into the drama. Strangest of these was the mother who got herself on TV by proclaiming on her blog: “I am Adam Lanza’s mother.”

Liza Long, who has blogged about her life as an often-despairing mother, explained that her 13-year-old son, “Michael,” is mentally ill and likely to become the next mass murderer.

Regardless of how daunting it must be to fear your son might be headed for serious trouble, Michael surely won’t be helped by seeing his mother telling the world about it. Nevertheless, Long was heralded by many as a heroine for finally launching the Long Overdue Honest Conversation about Mental Health in America. This, in the talking-est, confessing-est, sharing-est nation in the history of mankind.

Perhaps Long has reached a breaking point and is terrified, as she insists. But her foray into the public square, injecting her own child into the conversation as other parents are reeling from devastating loss, feels like stagecraft born of narcissism rather than maternal concern.

Of course Long wouldn’t have been more than a viral blip had the media not engaged her to — God help us — share her story. She was the “get” of the day — a blogospheric phenomenon that captured the zeitgeist. Why, everyone was tweeting about her!

In the midst of all this madness were the legions of parents who wisely turned off the television and tossed the newspapers, who averted their gazes and protected their children from the photographs of those other little ones. I’ve spoken to dozens of such parents who uniformly say, “It’s too much. I can’t bear it.”

Instead, they bundle up their children and place their faith in the abundance of goodness that usually surrounds them, sending them on their way. In time the talk will turn back to the cliff, the senator and the Cabinet, even as we resign ourselves to the inevitability of the next tragedy.

This is because we know that, though laws and policies can make small differences in the total tallies of the dead, the only thing that can displace evil is, as President Obama put it, love. Even this word sounds trite because we have trivialized it, substituting sentiment for meaning with our confections and paper cutouts.

Love is not just a valentine. It is a covenant with the greater good. It involves charity, compassion, empathy, self-sacrifice and, yes, listening. I don’t have any final words of wisdom, but do submit that the more yakking we do, the less likely we are to find the clarity we seek.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Kathleen Parker can be reached by clicking here.

Kathleen Parker Archives

<

© 2011, WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles