Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 13, 2006 / 20 Elul, 5766

Before and after 9/11

By Kathleen Parker

Kathleen Parker
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Flipping through channels on Sept. 11 was like rummaging through a box of old photographs. You see things you hadn't noticed before and ordinary images seem suddenly extraordinary.


Of all the recaps, memorials and tributes, the one I found most riveting was the real-time replay of NBC's "Today'' show from five years ago.


We often wish we could return to the past with the knowledge and wisdom we've gained in the interim. Monday we got that chance. Minute-by-minute, we were able to re-experience 9/11, this time knowing what we know.


It was chilling not only because of the obvious horror, but because of our utter inability to fathom what was happening. That lost innocence we keep hearing about was manifest as reporters delivered scraps of news and Katie Couric and Matt Lauer narrated.


Snapshot: After the first plane has hit the North Tower at 8:46 a.m., they wonder whether there might be air traffic problems. At 9:03 a.m., the second plane hits the South Tower and the word "deliberate'' finds its way into the conversation.


Couric asks, "What are the odds of two planes hitting ... ?'' Still unknowing at 9:59, Tom Brokaw notes the extensive damage to the World Trade Center and innocently remarks, "Those buildings will probably have to be brought down.''


What was impossible to imagine then is starkly clear now. What is also clear is that no one should have been surprised by 9/11, least of all our leaders. Our enemies had declared themselves and demonstrated their intentions — repeatedly — yet we seemed locked in blind denial.


We didn't need a five-hour docudrama to remind us of the horror of 9/11, but ABC's "The Path to 9/11'' provided a useful chronology of events, beginning with the 1993 bombing of the World Trade Center and continuing with other attacks on American interests.


When terrorists blow up a car here or an embassy there over a period of years, these events can seem random and disconnected. This is probably owing to our American sense of insta-time. While we're on motordrive, our enemies are content with a much slower shutter speed. Century time.


Viewed through their lens, those scattered events don't seem random at all, but are pieces of a choreographed plan for the West's demise.


Notwithstanding justifiable complaints from Clinton administration officials that the ABC production misrepresented people and events, the drama served well as a capsulated rendering of American indecision and inaction in the face of a known foe.


We did know Osama bin Laden's purposes; we did fail to stop him. That much is undeniable and irrevocable.


Another bit of footage I revisited during the 9/11 cycle was the video of President Bush sitting in that Florida classroom. Watching it again five years later, Bush looks boyish and uncomfortable, as though someone had put too much starch in his clothes.


He was not reading "My Pet Goat,'' as was so often reported. Worse, he was listening to a classroom of 16 second-graders reading "My Pet Goat'' aloud to the torturously numbing, metronomic thumping of someone rapping in time on a desk top.


Snapshot: Andrew Card steps into the frame to tell the president that a second plane has hit the other tower. The president seems briefly stunned, and then the children begin reading.


For five interminable minutes.


Bush's mind must be racing. Ours is. We know what he knows, and yet he sits. And sits. And sits.


Snapshot: Three days later, Bush is at Ground Zero rallying first responders. He lifts a megaphone to his mouth and utters those now-immortal words: "I can hear you (applause). The rest of the world hears you (applause). And the people who knocked these buildings down will hear all of us soon (applause).''


Then Bush drapes his arm over the shoulder of the fire chief standing next to him. For the first time I notice that Bush is basking. The amiable clown is suddenly transformed, from playing president to being president.


In that moment, we are all transformed. No longer innocent, no longer in denial, we're all grown up now.


In the past five years, we've learned a great deal about our enemies and ourselves. We are wiser and smarter now. It is a good thing, too, because our enemies are also wiser and smarter.


And they're on century time.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Kathleen Parker can be reached by clicking here.


Kathleen Parker Archives

© 2006, WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles