Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 10, 2013/ 2 Tammuz, 5773

Tweaking real life

By Kathleen Parker

Kathleen Parker


JewishWorldReview.com | NEW YORK

It was never quite clear what feminizing the workplace would mean when women en masse invaded corporate America a generation ago.

Most of us donned our Mao suits, bow ties and sensible shoes and did our best to blend in. The workplace didn’t become more feminine; women became more masculine.

Then along came “Sex and the City.” The new working girl was glam, femmed-out to the max in sheer tops, short skirts and stilettos. She was brash, tough (neurotic) and, above all, sexy. Where the previous generation of women had tried to camouflage their sexuality, the new generation flaunted every inch.

Much, and little, has changed over the decades.

Women are exceeding their male counterparts in education. One in four earns more than her husband. The office may not have a fern bar, but there’s likely to be a private space for breast pumping. Our fight for on-site child care has given way to a tsunami of Third World nannies.

To the point: Women are reaching equality as never before. Certainly many struggle to keep food on the table. But in the salons where luckier women discuss what women really want, they are reaching the traditional benchmarks of happiness — money and power — and guess what: They’re still not happy.

Before you roll your eyes and wake up poor, old, tired Dr. Freud, listen up. Women aren’t happy precisely because they tried to fit themselves neatly into the male template of what constitutes happiness. And, voila — please do sound the gongs — men and women are different.

Of course women want wealth and power, but not at the expense of the things that matter most — equilibrium, inner peace, wisdom, heart and a family that isn’t in constant chaos. These intangibles are largely ignored, alas, because the male-created workplace views them as froufrou “women’s” concerns.

What’s love got to do with the bottom line?

Everything, really. Research, which we prefer to common sense, supports that happy, well-adjusted, less-stressed-out people make more productive and efficient workers. Men also, by the way, because it turns out that men are human, too.

Those brilliant seers “They” always said that money doesn’t buy happiness. And though being rich and unhappy beats poor and unhappy every time, “They” were right. Women, who now constitute a critical mass in the workplace, have learned through exhaustion, divorce and disappointed children that trying to fit their lives into the male mold of success is like trying to squeeze into Cinderella’s shoe.

Two women who know something about power, money, success and shoes (there’s no point trying to talk about women as though shoes don’t matter) recognized this soul-void in women’s lives and did what women do. The indefatigable Arianna Huffington and Mika Brzezinski convened a conference — “The Third Metric” — to address that missing thing in our lives.

Huffington described it as that inner place of heart, soul and wisdom where few of us spend much time. We’re too busy. Creating space for quietude — unplugged rather than unhinged — requires strategic planning. This isn’t space for moon-gazing, but for the fallow time that engenders calm, which often precedes the storm of innovation and creativity.

Where do your best ideas come from? The chorus was instantaneous: “The shower.” Away from it all.

Between panel discussions, we practiced being quiet. We breathed. (I know, you had to be there.) We closed our eyes. We really did gong the gong. We opened our arms and said “wow.” Really. We ate healthy food, drank juice served by delicious men (not kidding), got hand massages and listened to a parade of accomplished women (and a smattering of men) talk about health, wellness and “tweaking” our lives. We heard from Candice Bergen, Katie Couric, Jill Abramson, Valerie Jarrett and Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), as well as comedians, writers, filmmakers and dozens of others whose work is helping mold a future generation that will be healthier and happier, if not wealthier.

There will be dissenters. Urging people to be go-givers instead of go-getters — easier to do when you are already a millionaire — may not appeal to the board of directors. And I confess, when John Mackey, co-founder of Whole Foods, spoke of promoting people who are emotionally evolved over the merely ambitious, I didn’t know whether to assume a lotus or fetal position.

But all things considered, a culture in which meaning is recognized as a goal equal to profit cannot make a worse world. Besides, when Mama is happy, everybody is happy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Kathleen Parker can be reached by clicking here.

Kathleen Parker Archives

© 2013, WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast